Australia and the South African Proteas did battle in the 1st Test of the Series in Australia at Brisbane Cricket Ground, Woolloongabba, Brisbane.

The game took place in the middle of the night for South Africans, so live updates was not be given accross the board, but updates were done in the mornings.

On a belter pitch, South Africa posted a good First Innings total of 450, followed by Australia with a massive 565 / 5 declared, before putting South Africa in on the final day to see if Australia could bowl South Africa out cheaply. The South African batsmen hung on and forced a draw, scoring 166 / 5 in 68 overs.

South Africa: 450 All Out & 166 / 5 (68 overs)

Australia: 565 / 5 Declared (138 overs)

Match drawn

• South Africa in Australia Test Series – 1st Test
  • Test no. 2056 | 2012/13 season
  • Played at Brisbane Cricket Ground, Woolloongabba, Brisbane
  • 9,10,11,12,13 November 2012 (5-day match)
South Africa 1st innings R B 4s 6s SR
GC Smith* lbw b Pattinson 10 27 0 0 37.03
AN Petersen c Hussey b Lyon 64 127 7 0 50.39
HM Amla lbw b Siddle 104 244 7 1 42.62
JH Kallis c Quiney b Pattinson 147 274 14 1 53.64
AB de Villiers† c Warner b Pattinson 40 84 5 0 47.61
JA Rudolph c Quiney b Lyon 31 69 3 0 44.92
VD Philander c Clarke b Siddle 11 27 0 1 40.74
DW Steyn c †Wade b Hilfenhaus 15 42 2 0 35.71
RK Kleinveldt not out 17 18 0 2 94.44
M Morkel c Siddle b Hilfenhaus 0 6 0 0 0.00
JP Duminy absent hurt
Extras (b 1, lb 1, w 3, nb 6) 11
Total (all out; 151.4 overs) 450 (2.96 runs per over)
Fall of wickets 1-29 (Smith, 10.1 ov), 2-119 (Petersen, 38.4 ov), 3-284 (Amla, 93.3 ov), 4-374 (Kallis, 123.6 ov), 5-377 (de Villiers, 125.5 ov), 6-403 (Philander, 137.6 ov), 7-426 (Rudolph, 144.3 ov), 8-446 (Steyn, 149.6 ov), 9-450 (Morkel, 151.4 ov)
Bowling O M R W Econ
BW Hilfenhaus 32.4 9 73 2 2.23 (1w)
JL Pattinson 34 6 93 3 2.73 (3nb, 2w)
PM Siddle 36 6 111 2 3.08 (3nb)
NM Lyon 37 4 136 2 3.67
MEK Hussey 4 0 21 0 5.25
RJ Quiney 7 3 10 0 1.42
MJ Clarke 1 0 4 0 4.00
Australia 1st innings R B 4s 6s SR
EJM Cowan run out (Steyn) 136 257 17 0 52.91
DA Warner c Kallis b Steyn 4 15 0 0 26.66
RJ Quiney c Steyn b Morkel 9 12 1 0 75.00
RT Ponting c Kallis b Morkel 0 5 0 0 0.00
MJ Clarke* not out 259 398 26 0 65.07
MEK Hussey c sub (F du Plessis) b Morkel 100 129 13 0 77.51
MS Wade† not out 19 35 3 0 54.28
Extras (lb 14, w 1, nb 23) 38
Total (5 wickets dec; 138 overs) 565 (4.09 runs per over)
Did not bat NM Lyon, PM Siddle, JL Pattinson, BW Hilfenhaus
Fall of wickets 1-13 (Warner, 4.4 ov), 2-30 (Quiney, 7.4 ov), 3-40 (Ponting, 9.3 ov), 4-299 (Cowan, 84.4 ov), 5-527 (Hussey, 130.1 ov)
Bowling O M R W Econ
DW Steyn 30 3 129 1 4.30 (1nb)
VD Philander 30 3 103 0 3.43 (8nb)
M Morkel 31 6 127 3 4.09 (2nb)
RK Kleinveldt 21 1 97 0 4.61 (12nb, 1w)
JH Kallis 12 3 30 0 2.50
GC Smith 9 0 36 0 4.00
HM Amla 2 0 9 0 4.50
AN Petersen 3 0 20 0 6.66
South Africa 2nd innings R B 4s 6s SR
AN Petersen c †Wade b Pattinson 5 8 0 0 62.50
GC Smith* c Quiney b Pattinson 23 67 3 0 34.32
HM Amla c Hussey b Siddle 38 82 3 1 46.34
JH Kallis c Clarke b Lyon 49 91 5 1 53.84
AB de Villiers† not out 29 114 4 0 25.43
JA Rudolph lbw b Lyon 11 36 0 0 30.55
VD Philander not out 1 14 0 0 7.14
Extras (b 2, w 4, nb 4) 10
Total (5 wickets; 68 overs) 166 (2.44 runs per over)
Did not bat JP Duminy, M Morkel, DW Steyn, RK Kleinveldt
Fall of wickets 1-6 (Petersen, 1.3 ov), 2-55 (Smith, 20.5 ov), 3-102 (Amla, 32.5 ov), 4-129 (Kallis, 48.5 ov), 5-165 (Rudolph, 62.6 ov)
Bowling O M R W Econ
BW Hilfenhaus 15 3 26 0 1.73 (1w)
JL Pattinson 19 3 58 2 3.05 (2nb, 3w)
PM Siddle 17 4 36 1 2.11 (2nb)
NM Lyon 13 5 41 2 3.15
RJ Quiney 4 3 3 0 0.75
Match details
Toss South Africa, who chose to bat
Series 3-match series level 0-0
Test debuts RJ Quiney (Australia); RK Kleinveldt (South Africa)
Player of the match MJ Clarke (Australia)
Umpires Asad Rauf (Pakistan) and BF Bowden (New Zealand)
TV umpire RA Kettleborough (England)
Match referee RS Madugalle (Sri Lanka)
Reserve umpire PR Reiffel
Close of play
– day 1 – South Africa 1st innings 255/2 (HM Amla 90*, JH Kallis 84*, 82 ov)
– day 2 – no play
– day 3 – Australia 1st innings 111/3 (EJM Cowan 49*, MJ Clarke 34*, 26 ov)
– day 4 – Australia 1st innings 487/4 (MJ Clarke 218*, MEK Hussey 86*, 121 ov)
Match notes
  • Day 1
  • Day 2
  • Day 3
  • Day 4
  • Day 5
  • Australia: 500 runs in 122.6 overs (760 balls), Extras 34
  • 5th Wicket: 200 runs in 233 balls (MJ Clarke 112, MEK Hussey 87, Ex 4)
  • Over 129.3: Review by South Africa (Bowling), Umpire – BF Bowden, Batsman – MEK Hussey (Struck down)
  • MEK Hussey: 100 off 128 balls (13 x 4)
  • MJ Clarke: 250 off 391 balls (26 x 4)
  • Australia: 550 runs in 135.6 overs (839 balls), Extras 38
  • Drinks: Australia – 565/5 in 138.0 overs (MJ Clarke 259, MS Wade 19)
  • Innings Break: Australia – 565/5 in 138.0 overs (MJ Clarke 259, MS Wade 19)
  • Lunch: South Africa – 31/1 in 13.0 overs (GC Smith 17, HM Amla 7)
  • Over 16.1: Review by Australia (Bowling), Umpire – Asad Rauf, Batsman – HM Amla (Struck down)
  • South Africa: 50 runs in 18.3 overs (114 balls), Extras 3
  • Over 21.4: Review by Australia (Bowling), Umpire – BF Bowden, Batsman – JH Kallis (Struck down)
  • Drinks: South Africa – 65/2 in 25.0 overs (HM Amla 28, JH Kallis 4)
  • South Africa: 100 runs in 31.6 overs (196 balls), Extras 6
  • Tea: South Africa – 114/3 in 38.0 overs (JH Kallis 40, AB de Villiers 1)
  • South Africa: 150 runs in 53.3 overs (325 balls), Extras 8
  • Over 62.6: Review by South Africa (Batting), Umpire – Asad Rauf, Batsman – JA Rudolph (Struck down)
  • Drinks: South Africa – 165/5 in 64.0 overs (AB de Villiers 29, VD Philander 0)

166 Responses to Cricket: 1st Test – Australia vs South Africa (Friday 9 November to Tuesday 13 November 2012)

1 2 3 6

I made SuperBul captain of this Article, with co-Author rights to Kickers and myself, so Superbees… vat hom pappie!

Here’s hoping will wake in the morning to see SA have had a good day against Aus, GO PROTEAS!

I trust that Smith is already out.

Nice to see Amla and Kallis playing their usual controlled innings.

Lets hope that we can get through the new ball and end the day on 2 down. Probably around 300 on the board, well on track to launch into a big score tomorrow.

But this is cricket and to use the cliche’, anything can happen.

Bad light has suspended play at the Gabba After Clarke tries to take the new ball in the 82nd over, but hats off to King Kallis and Prince #, for a concerted knock. Both have dug in, and after the early wicket of Smith (10) and the well played consolidating innings of Pieterson (64), these two have gone on to see the day out with SA now 255/2.

It looks a batting paradise, and with Australia’s very ordinary batting line up, Michael Clarke, who was convinced Smith would bowl first, was apparently a bit taken aback with having to bowl. Feel Smith definitely got the better of his opponent in that tussle, and it looks as if the Aussie’s have struggled ever since.

I doubt they will come on again today, so lets hops the boys go on to make a huuuuuuge score in the morning, and bat the sheep admirers right out of the game.

SA 255/2 – bad light suspends play

5 @ Just For Kicks:
    Had to have a chuckle at Clarke there after he tried to take the new ball and play gets suspended due to bad light….LOL. Clarke never looked happy at all.

Now hope we bat smart against the new ball tomorrow. We see that through with these two batsmen we very well could win this first test. Just hoping no rain as that is forecast for tomorrow.

255/2 is a brilliant start for us. Just need to stay focused facing the new ball tomorrow.

Eishhhh, looks like SuperBees did not even see he was Captain… and slept all night.

7 @ Puma:
    Hey, you wanted this thread up in the middle of the night…. where were you?

8 @ grootblousmile:
    Slept in…. Happy-Grin

Was up at 5am though and no-one on line here…. 😛

Wanted to watch from around 3pm slept in…lol.

Where is SuperBul? Normally he and I watch all the crici together.

All the best to Tony Greig for his op next week. A huge battle he faces with lung cancer. Just fight it Tony and stay strong boet.

Will miss his commentary this series for sure.

Just read that Duminy has injured his ankle. That could be a big blow to this test. Without him we lose a batsman and our only spin blower as we left out our specialist spin bowler Tahir. Hope he is okay.

This from Sports24

______________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Injured Duminy taken for tests
    2012-11-09 10:19

Brisbane – South African batsman and occasional bowler JP Duminy was injured in the warm-down after the first day of the first Test against Australia on Friday in a potentially major blow to the tourists after they dropped their specialist spinner.

Duminy, who was expected to support a four-pronged pace attack with his off spin, hurt his left ankle in a fall while running on the pitch and had to be helped off before being taken to hospital for a scan.

The South Africans, who finished an otherwise excellent day at the Gabba on 255 for two, left leg spinner Imran Tahir out of the team for the test and instead handed a debut to seamer Rory Kleinveldt.

Batsman Alviro Petersen conceded that Duminy’s bowling had been a factor in dropping Tahir and going with Kleinveldt.

“We felt that Rory was going to offer us some more on that wicket, it wasn’t as hard as we thought,” he told reporters.

“We felt that Australia has got so many left-handers that JP could play a big role for us with the ball, if needed. And that was the reason why we have probably gone with Rory.”

Duminy, who played a major role in South Africa’s first ever series win in Australia four years ago, was scheduled to bat at number seven.

“Hopefully he’ll be fine,” Petersen added.

I watched the highlights… and the Blomme are looking good.

Now we must see off the NEW BALL tonight and build a massive innings, doubt with this pitch there will be 2 full innings from both sides, so we need to post a heavy total, then dismiss them cheap and force the follow-on!

Pitch looks like a belter… hope our pace attack can cut the life blood out of them!

Not good news about Duminy. Out of the tour.

This from Sports24

______________________________________________________________________________________________________________

JP Duminy out of Oz tour
    2012-11-09 14:07

Brisbane – Proteas batsman JP Duminy will take no further part in the Test series against Australia after rupturing his left Achilles’ tendon on Friday.

GALLERY: Proteas v Australia – 1st Test

The injury occurred during a fitness training drill after the opening day at the Gabba with MRI scans confirming the injury.

Team Manager, Dr Mohammed Moosajee said: “At first assessment JP said he heard a loud clicking sound and it felt like he had been hit by an object. The diagnosis of an Achilles’ tendon rupture was confirmed by the MRI scan this evening and he will undergo surgery to re-attach the tendon on Saturday morning.

“Injuries of this nature are caused by a sudden contraction against the direction of movement by the calf muscle as was the case during his sprint.

“We will only be able to gauge further down the line on an expected recovery date, but injuries of this nature have been known to take up to at least six months before the player can resume playing cricket.

“He is obviously disappointed, but JP, being JP, is trying his best to stay positive, he says everything happens for a reason.”

Duminy will not feature in the rest of the match, with 12th man Francois du Plessis assuming the fielding duties. He will return back to South Africa as soon as possible with a replacement to be named in due course.

Damn this is not good news. Now we without a batsman and bowler. Hectic actually. Oz will be feeling a lot better now after reading this. Now no spin bowler at all. Look I know Duminy only comes in for a short spell of bowling, but he is quite good, always seems to take a wicket or two as well. Now we on the back foot. Amla and Kallis will have to bat as long as possible, remember they face the new ball in the morning as well. Gonna be tough, but they two of our best batsmen. They should do it, but if one falls while that ball is still new, we could see a collapse and with a batsman short it wont help. So we need them there for a long time in the morning.

Duminy was superb the last time we were in Oz. Will always remember him and Steyn winning us that test in Melbourne. Duminy batted superb there and Steyn was fantastic batting with him. Thought we would be all out and Oz would have about 300 or so when I woke up early that morning, only to see Duminy and Steyn still standing there batting. Was awesome feeling. Duminy too batted well in Perth that series as well. He is a loss here for sure.

14 @ Puma:
    Hi Puma you’re dead right this is bad news for the Proteas, as you say this puts us with one batsmen less and his part time spinning role is now not an option either. Achilles tendon injuries can be so painful and take a looong time to heal. The annoying thing is it didn’t even happen during a crucial part of the match but afterwards in practice – maybe they didn’t warm up and stretch properly before but I guess accidents happen and maybe this one was just that.

Don’t know much about this Adelaide pitch, whether it just hasn’t favoured spinners in the past or not but still was surprised to see they left out Imran Tahir, unless he had to pull out at last minute due to injury himself. I guess from the score so far that there is not much help in the pitch for the bowlers and so they are going to have to work hard for their wickets, this is where you want a spinner who can bowl a lot of overs in a row and allow you to rotate your quicks. With Australia batting 2nd a spinner may have done a lot of the damage in their second innings, I see 1 of the 2 wickets to fall so far has gone to a spinner and thats only day 1. Oh well with Dumminy now injured they are going to have to turn to the leg spin of Jaques Rudolph, but again am not sure how much bowling he has done at any level lately. Graeme Smith used to be a good backup spinning option but since his injury don’t think they can use him anymore.

13 & 14 @ Puma:
    15 @ Bullscot:
    Now it is even more imperative that we bat long in the 1st innings… and rack up a great score… before they get to bat.

17 @ grootblousmile:
    Yes thats right GBS we need to try and bat Aus out of the game in this first innings so its very important for the two at the wicket to both go on and make BIG scores, also its time for AB to contribute a big test score again. The tail looks a bit long but on the England tour Philander put together some decent scores so hopefully he can go on this match (if needed) and the rest of the tour to establish himself as a genuine allrounder in the team.
    Time to go get rest before the night cheers vir eers Zzzzzz

With 5 okes out we will still give the shepherds a snotklap. I have never seen such an ordinary Aussie team since I have been following cricket. I really feel for JP, but we will still walk it.

19 @ Just For Kicks:
    Pitch looks too tame though… so without the opportunity to mix the attack up between pace and a bit of good spin, they could bat long too.

Our pace bowlers would have to step up and our fielding needs to be extra sharp…

… but first a BIGGGGG total for us, so I agree with Bully that Amla & Kallis must go on to make huge scores… and AB de Villiers needs to fire properly too with the bat.

15 @ Bullscot:
    Yip this could be trouble for us in this test. Only first day gone and if we go the 5 days we will need the extra bowler even if Duminy was a part time bowler, he would have bowled quite a few overs. It is his batting that might cost us as well if any of Kallis or Amla go early we could be in trouble.

Think it was crazy to have left out a genuine spinner, especially when Tahir was part of the team that destroyed England. Now we have no spinner at all. One less batsman and bowler. Big loss here, shame it happeneded especially in the warm down.

21 @ Puma:
    meant – happened

It must be about time the rules in cricket should change. When a player has to leave injured it should be allowed that the player coming in should be allowed to bowl and bat, not just field. We now have to play the rest of the test basicly with 10 ment as we are without a bowler and batsman.

jeez another typo…. 🙄

meant – men

Good very early morning, no play yet on Day 2 in Adelaide because of rain.

21 @ Puma:
    The odd thing about them not playing Tahir Puma is that he did play in the warm up match…

Sorry thats me being a plonker, the game is being played in BRISBANE not Adelaide, don’t know why I thought it was Adelaide, why didn’t u okes correct me Daze Sorry thats me being a plonker, the game is being played in BRISBANE not Adelaide, don’t know why I thought it was Adelaide, why didn’t u okes correct me Daze

Eishhhh, looks like SuperBees did not even see he was Captain… and slept all night.

Eish , eish , eish what else can go wrong.
    Out whole day Wednesday trip to Nelspruit in the good old days took less than 1.5 hours, now with hundreds of trucks between Phalborwa mines and Maputu harbor combined with rain, it took me 2.75 hours to get home
    Worst of all i picked up a stomach flu bug or whatever and nothing helps, 3 day of and its not over yet and to add insult to injury
    at 2:00 Thursday morning the rain and lightning took us apart, Eskom says they need expertise from JHB to find the problem, no power,
    Telkom was hit by lightning to a few poles lie in tatters and the optic links are shattered.
    even the Cell phones are periodically down.
    Indeed a mess

Candlelight
    Take away food (lucky i cant eat so we save there, still not a nice time AND
    guess what my wifes company is having a year end function at Aventura Swadini, and i missed the first night, hope i will make it this afternoon.

What a long sad story and excuse, i feel so deprived missed all the action of yesterdays Cricket.

Brydon Coverdale on Twitter: “Unless I’m mistaken it’s nearly 14 years since a full day of Test cricket has been washed out in Australia. Boxing Day ’98. May happen today,” and “And the last time a whole day of Test cricket was washed out at the Gabba was in 1983.”

We’re moving ever close to a washout today.

4.00 pm It’s taken ages for the inevitable to happen. The umpires have said there will be no play today. This rubbish day is at an end and thankfully the forecast for the next three is promising.

Play will begin 30 minutes earlier on day three, with the added intrigue of a shortened Test.

1 2 3 6

Total 31 users including 0 member, 31 guests, 0 bot online