Springbok coach Heyneke Meyer on Wednesday defended himself against allegations that he been too conservative during his up-and-down first few months in charge of the national team.

He also confessed to having made “a lot of mistakes; I’ll take that on the chin” and said that he was “not a guy who knows everything”.

At a media briefing at the Boks’ Waterfront hotel here, ahead of the three-Test tour of Ireland, Scotland and England, Meyer said candidly that he took great pride in his post and had spoken to many coaches and players in his endeavour to improve the team’s fortunes.

“First you have to put the basics in place, and (it is difficult) when you haven’t always had the same team.

“The one criticism I sometimes feel is unjust is that we kick too much. But in all six Test matches we played in the (Castle Rugby) Championship we kicked less than our opponents.

“When we scored what I thought were five reasonably good tries against Australia (in the thumping 31-8 victory at Loftus) and missed three, everybody said it was a bad Australian side … then they go out and draw against New Zealand and New Zealand don’t score a try.

“Suddenly I don’t hear that the All Blacks are conservative and they don’t play great rugby.

“But I don’t want to compare myself with other teams. Obviously you have to grow as a coach and a team and obviously you want to play better rugby and score more tries.

“Sometimes I feel that we’ve been together for nine Test matches … I know it may sound a lot but you get in three days of (preparation) before the Test and have two sessions. So we want to grow.

“I’m very positive, as I’ve been in this position a number of times. I know where we’re going and we’ve blooded a number of youngsters which I’m very happy with … that they’ll be at the (next) World Cup.”

He said that some these players would still only be around 24 by then, yet have played 35 Tests.

“Then suddenly you’ve got a team, and a lot of depth. But again, I’m never satisfied and have high standards – I want to win every single game.

“And you know, we have been in positions to (do that) … we could probably have won 90 percent of those (surrendered) games if our kicking was better.

“(Never mind) conservative or expansive rugby – you do have to kick your goals and that is one thing we need to rectify.”
Meyer said he was keen to complete the northern hemisphere tour unbeaten.

“It’s been a long time since we did that abroad, and it won’t be easy. I’m also keen to examine some of the overseas-based players we’ve pulled in, especially forwards, who are still young enough to potentially play the (2015) World Cup.

“I need to see which players are tough enough to win tournaments away from home and in very different conditions.”
By Rob Houwing

83 Responses to Heyneke: I take errors on chin

27 @ Puma:
    It seemed that Heyneke Meyer wanted Johan Goosen to play his own natural style, so I think he would want Lambie to play his natural style too…. just improve on his tactical kicking, which you would have to agree, was lacking.

Anyway, I’m not Heyneke Meyer’s chief Council and spokesman… I see where he makes mistakes, and I want him to embrace ball in hand rugby, fully!

30 @ Just For Kicks:
    You are the other extreme, nothing Heyneke Meyer does, satisfies you.

Seems you WANT him to fail!

30 @ Just For Kicks:
    I watched the 2010 currie cup final repeat on SuperSport on Friday. There Lambie’s tacticle kicking was excellent and that was two years back. So really not sure what Meyer was going on that Lambie’s tactical kicking. He was great with it then and still is. Maybe the up and unders who knows, as Pat never done many of those ever.

@ grootblousmile:You couldn’t be further from the truth. I never want anyone to fail.
    @ Puma:I too am astounded at the comments

34 @ Just For Kicks:
    Well, you sure fooled me then… and that still leaves the thing that Heyneke Meyer just CANNOT do anything right in your eyes. You have a built-in pet hate for the oke, well that’s how it comes accross.

Try explain THAT away!

Maybe I just don’t understand your animosity…

I would like Meyer to give Lambie a fair chance at fh and not put the pressure on him saying once chance to prove yourself. He has not said that to his favourite players. He has given them all many chances. Pat was very good in the wet conditions against the Bulls and he was very good in a losing side on Saturday too. He is a classy flyhalf gbs. Excellent bmt too.

Now I would like to see Ludik get a chance. Though Meyer has his favourite with Jaco. Then he must play Jaco at fb this tour and see what he has in him there. Also would like JdJ to get a chance to start at outside centre and see what we have in him there too. As you know there we have plenty that could play superb there. Jordaan, Mapoe so it is fair JdJ gets first chance on this tour, he has been waiting a long time for it too. I most certainly would give Rhule a go as well. Not 10min or in the rain in Scotland. If it is dry in Ireland give him a chance with 20min. Give Mvovo a chance again too with 20min. However, think Rhule is the real deal, he needs plenty game time at this level and will get in in Super Rugby next year, but heck he is a brilliant talent.

Also bring back Bakkies if we need another lock. He is world class and still has time on his side. Move Eben to 5 lock and play Bakkies at 4. Or give PSDT a go in the in coming tours next year at lock. He is going to be great there. Sharks of course need to play their part and play him at lock next year.

Pooms to be fair, Lambie it seems will now get his chance, goosen did play running rugby when with the Boks, problem is Goosen a thin little oke and prolly played the whole of the 2nd match (the time he was on the field) with an injury.Lets wait and see,

Arhggggggggg clicked on wrong link, lol that was for puma

36 @ Puma:
    I don’t think we need another lock… Etzebeth & Juandre should start, Flip van der Merwe on the bench… and then there is still Franco in the wider squad.

If needs be Willem Alberts can do duty as make-shift No 4 too.

I think the Bokke still lack another option at centre and maybe cover for openside flank…. but hey, that’s my opinion.

I have a sneaky suspicion that Heyneke will opt for a 5 / 2 bench on the heavier Northern Hemisphere Tour fields, where the Northern Hemisphere teams play very hard forwards packs.

… except maybe against Scotland, where we could see a traditional 4 / 3 split on the bench…

The 5 / 2 split might mean that Hougie starts on left wing, with an extra Flyhalf and another utility back on the bench.

39 @ grootblousmile:
    Well it was Meyer calling for Marco Wentzel to join the squad. Heck forgot who he was had to look on the internet to see who he was and where he played and how old. If that is the case, I am saying, then select Bakkies instead.

Not a great fan of Juandre, he is okay not great. Think PSDT will show next year what he is capable of. Hope Sharks play him at lock next year. Think we will in Super Rugby, as that is where we used him this year, the short time he played. We have enough cover with all the loosies we have.

37 @ Sharks_forever:
    Yes I know he played most of the 2nd match at Soccer City with a injury. It was the first starting game at Loftus, that I thought he was okay not brilliant like we saw him in Super Rugby. Injury prone though. Could be his build have no idea. I do rate him highly though,not from the Bok appearances but from playing great Super Rugby with Cheetahs. I still think Pat has the better bmt out of them all. Just give him assurance he can play there and not be dropped and we will see the best from him, like you see at Sharks.

I think from all players if they get one game to prove themself they will flop, most will as the nerves will be huge. Can’t put that on a player, that is totally unfair. Pat has been waiting his turn since 2010. So it is damn fair he is finally going to get a chance. Much like it was with Fransie that wanted to play inside centre and was pushed to fb mostly, then when injury came he showed why he should have that position for his own.

Rudi?? you mean a 5-3 split, as i have they will be using the extra prop law up north???

42 @ Sharks_forever:
    Oh goodie, yes, I forgot about that.

Is that now fixed for this tour?

Hell, we might even see a 6 / 2 split… 1 hooker, 2 props, a lock and one or 2 loosies…. hahaha

40 @ grootblousmile:
    Scotland was very good against us the last time round and beat us. We have to still go there with a 5/2 split I think.

I agree we are short on centre on this tour. We do have plenty cover here back at home. Jordaan, Whitehead, Serfontein, Brache (spelling) Ebersohn, though read he is with the blitzbokke right now.

yes seems so

42 @ Sharks_forever:
    Yes totally forgot about that. Actually like that, now we can have our 4 forwards on the bench with 3 backs. Like it a lot. Think it will be for next year Super Rugby as well.

43 @ grootblousmile:
    Forwards rule there hey! … hehehehe. Think it will be a 4/3 split. Like it a lot the new law. Makes so much sense.

5-3 split

45 @ Sharks_forever:
    Don’t forget your Sharks article. Don’t worry too much what gbs says….LOL….. 🙂 We have no rugby coming up this weekend and would be a good talking point. Even if squads are not announced yet, we more or less know the players that will get selected.

48 @ grootblousmile:
    Yes typo there. 5/3

@ Puma::lol: will do

50 @ Puma:
    Yip, just ignore me… hehehe

This is Mr Fix-it weekend for me…. need to fix a couple of things around the house.

When are you leaving for Scotland? I have a Scottish mate coming for a month towards end of Jan with his with his wife. Jeez these Scots love this place……hahaha.

53 @ grootblousmile:
    Happy-Grin Tounge-Out

Just gives us some rugby to talk about this week. No rugby being played this weekend. Think we all excited for our squads to be announced.

Approve abou time Happy-Grin

55 @ Puma:
    Man, at the moment there is still plenty of fresh news on circuit… rugby news will dry up in the 2nd part of December, that’s when we need to be creative to keep content going, and discussions lively.

Just look at the new Articles today alone, and you’ll see what I mean

Just For Kicks wrote:

@ superBul:If those comments regarding Lambie were said by the Ostrich, then I think even less of him. To make Lambie the scapegoat is simply not on. We’re simply not that gullible.

When HM was at the Bulls in full cry he had the right words all the time, he is a great motivator a registered “kopdokter” and o boy he could speak no wrong. But i wonder if he must get a “spokesperson” , i really dont like his ducking and diving ala PdeV style.
    He is a true ostrich as you call him, he plays with words to get all mesmerized. Maybe he should have came out like Jake and said “rate me after the WC”

52 @ Sharks_forever:
    Great look forward to it. Though gbs says keep it for December so we have something to speak about in the quite rugby months. He don’t know us we can talk up a storm about our Sharks everyday and it won’t matter if it is Decemeber or now….. LOL.. 🙂

59 @ Puma:
    I’m going to hold you to that pledge… hehehe

I’m like an elephant, I won’t forget!

Total 28 users including 0 member, 28 guests, 0 bot online