Springbok coach Heyneke Meyer on Wednesday defended himself against allegations that he been too conservative during his up-and-down first few months in charge of the national team.

He also confessed to having made “a lot of mistakes; I’ll take that on the chin” and said that he was “not a guy who knows everything”.

At a media briefing at the Boks’ Waterfront hotel here, ahead of the three-Test tour of Ireland, Scotland and England, Meyer said candidly that he took great pride in his post and had spoken to many coaches and players in his endeavour to improve the team’s fortunes.

“First you have to put the basics in place, and (it is difficult) when you haven’t always had the same team.

“The one criticism I sometimes feel is unjust is that we kick too much. But in all six Test matches we played in the (Castle Rugby) Championship we kicked less than our opponents.

“When we scored what I thought were five reasonably good tries against Australia (in the thumping 31-8 victory at Loftus) and missed three, everybody said it was a bad Australian side … then they go out and draw against New Zealand and New Zealand don’t score a try.

“Suddenly I don’t hear that the All Blacks are conservative and they don’t play great rugby.

“But I don’t want to compare myself with other teams. Obviously you have to grow as a coach and a team and obviously you want to play better rugby and score more tries.

“Sometimes I feel that we’ve been together for nine Test matches … I know it may sound a lot but you get in three days of (preparation) before the Test and have two sessions. So we want to grow.

“I’m very positive, as I’ve been in this position a number of times. I know where we’re going and we’ve blooded a number of youngsters which I’m very happy with … that they’ll be at the (next) World Cup.”

He said that some these players would still only be around 24 by then, yet have played 35 Tests.

“Then suddenly you’ve got a team, and a lot of depth. But again, I’m never satisfied and have high standards – I want to win every single game.

“And you know, we have been in positions to (do that) … we could probably have won 90 percent of those (surrendered) games if our kicking was better.

“(Never mind) conservative or expansive rugby – you do have to kick your goals and that is one thing we need to rectify.”
Meyer said he was keen to complete the northern hemisphere tour unbeaten.

“It’s been a long time since we did that abroad, and it won’t be easy. I’m also keen to examine some of the overseas-based players we’ve pulled in, especially forwards, who are still young enough to potentially play the (2015) World Cup.

“I need to see which players are tough enough to win tournaments away from home and in very different conditions.”
By Rob Houwing

83 Responses to Heyneke: I take errors on chin

Yes Coach i hear you, i also understands you did not have the chance to play with the players You brought up at the Bulls, but dammit you sound just like the previous coaches. Talk talk, talk but still poor results. Come on man gt to your winning ways, the hatchets are sharpened.

Springbok coach Heyneke Meyer has dangled a carrot for Patrick Lambie on the forthcoming tour of Ireland, Scotland and England by saying this is his chance to play his way into his plans as one of the country’s leading flyhalves.

Meyer says that he wants to go forward with two flyhalves from next year, and says that Lambie will get a chance on this three-test tour to nail down a place as one of those pivots as he builds towards the 2015 World Cup in England.

That should please the many Lambie supporters who have been upset that Meyer hasn’t made much use of their man other than as a bench player so far during his tenure as the national mentor.

Up to now Lambie has been used exclusively at fullback, and mainly from the bench, with Zane Kirchner being Meyer’s preferred No 15.

But with Meyer now confirming that Jaco Taute will be used in his preferred position in the last line of defence rather than as an outside centre, it appears that Meyer is backing Lambie as a flyhalf now that the Sharks star has sent out a reminder of his ability to play the position in the latter stages of the recently completed Currie Cup season.

Most significantly, he believes that Lambie has made the improvements that he was asked to make.

“I have always been upfront with Pat on where he stands and what he is required to do to be part of the starting team,” said Meyer at a press conference in Cape Town on Wednesday.

“For me it is very important at test level that your flyhalf be a good tactical kicker. We saw in the last rounds of the Currie Cup how crucial that is.

“I wasn’t impressed with Pat’s tactical kicking before and I asked him to work on that aspect. He showed me in the Currie Cup that he has done the necessary work and I have been very impressed.”

While not coming out and saying that Lambie would be a part of his starting team when the tour kicks off against Ireland at Aviva Stadium in Dublin on Saturday week, Meyer did say he would be getting his chance to stake a claim at flyhalf.

Free Stater Goosen, because of the billing he was given as a youngster and the fact that Meyer has often spoken of his immense potential for 2015, must be favoured to be one of the two flyhalves Meyer will be backing next year.

So this tour is essentially a kind of high-noon shoot-out between Lambie, Steyn and Jantjies for the other position.

Meyer confirmed that he had settled on the 32nd player to tour but could not say who because details were still being discussed with his club. Locks Bakkies Botha (Toulon) and Marco Wentzel (London Wasps) are on standby. Meyer extolled Wentzel’s lineout value (he has been the Premiership’s most successful lineout receiver), while adding that he still held Botha in high regard. ‘I’d love to have Bakkies involved because I think he has two or three years left in him at Test level,’ he said. ‘But he isn’t going to start ahead of Eben and he isn’t a bench player.’

4 @ superBul:
    Well it is unfair giving one young player a full guarantee no matter what you will be my flyhalf and the others only get one shot at it? Huh? So some can get many chances while others have only one and get dropped, is that fair? No most definitely not.

Goosen was okay for Boks not oustanding, but I fully understand that as he is young and needs more time there. Would Meyer have given Lambie or Jantjies that time if they were not that great? I doubt it. Why is Morne still there? Why should he be given 2 years from the last coach and this one, more chances when he has been out of from since 2 years back? I don’t listen to what Meyer has to say, because tomorrow he says something totally different, or does it different to what he has said he would. He said he would use Keegan for the Aussie tests, as that is where he will be suited. He dropped him before he had a chance. He had only one chance and gone. Jaco had two chances at outside centre and both time dreadful. JdJ should have been given a chance, he was on the bench. Now Jaco is not the best fullback either, but he is going to be played there before the player right now that is playing the best there does not even get selected. Why is Ludik not selected? He has been outstanding at fb. So you see Super, I don’t trust what Meyer says or does. One chance of one and plenty for others, don’t sit well with me.

5 @ superBul:
    Eben can play 5 lock. Bakkies from what I heard is playing some fantastic rugby. I would go with Bakkies, we know exactly what we have in him. A brilliant lock that won’t let you down.

What about the youngster here back home PSDT? Think he will be a great lock. I did read that Meyer rates him highly. So we have to see how PSDT goes next year at Sharks. He is great in the lineouts as well.

Is’nt it refreshing to have a down-to-earth coach, who says what he means and means what he says… not afraid to admit that mistakes are made, not afraid to make plans to improve!

8 @ grootblousmile:
    Gbs, time will tell if he means what he says. Somethings he said this year he never stuck to them.

It is but the problem is that he seems to be a crises type coach that chops and changes as per a 1 match showing and does not seem to learn from those mistakes?

Look i am not anto Hm Rudi, but i would like to see him think more in his planning as some choices are just mind boggling, and i am not only talking about player selections.

It is just like he is being forced into certain selection etc by someone an d has to just be happy, i know i am prolly wwrong, but 2 and 2 just dont seem to add up.

9 @ Puma:
    Did you really expect Keegan Daniel back after the loosie combo of Louw, Alberts and Vermeulen started to click and did so well?

The Springbok side is a fluid situation… and one needs to change as and how the actual situation develops.

11 @ grootblousmile:
    Vermeulen has not even been selected and for that matter Flo. None of them played in Mendoza when Meyer said that to Keegan. So yes, expected him to tour in Oz. He was dropped before we went to Oz and Meyer took Flo and Vermeulen instead, before they even played.

I am not a big Vermeulen fan, he is a good 8 but not a GREAT 8. I want us to have a 8 like Read for All Blacks. Flo yes, he has played well, I will keep him there.

I think Coetzee could be a excellent 8. Still has to play there for Sharks though, so right now it would be Kanko for me after his brilliant showing in Super Rugby. I like a 8 to have speed and Vermeulen don’t have much of that. Keegan is good for the bench, brings the x-factor for sure. Meyer will never choice him again it seems. That is a pity he only got one chance and dropped. Keegan will show all how well he plays again in Super Rugby. Not saying he must, start but a great player to have on the bench.

12 @ Puma:
    The loosies now, as is, has the right balance… I’d leave them in tact, exactly like they are.

11 @ grootblousmile:
    Another thing Meyer said to Brendon Nel on Super Sport, was the reason he never selected Lambie at fh was because he had never seen him play there. So you have to question that, as Lambie played fh for Sharks last year and in the CC of 2010. Anyhow let us see how this goes this time. I think with Lambie and Goosen we are totally covered at fh. I rate Lambie above them all really. One thing you need is your flyhalf MUST be calm headed. The best fhs in the world were all calm headed. Lambie has that. Goosen for me is more a Cooper type player and Jantjies as good as he is does crumble under pressure. Need to see him with Stormers next year, I think he will grow there and they will sort out his defence as well. But no-one can teach to a cool head under pressure, only some have it.

@ superBul:If those comments regarding Lambie were said by the Ostrich, then I think even less of him. To make Lambie the scapegoat is simply not on. We’re simply not that gullible.

13 @ grootblousmile:
    Just go and look at Read again. We need a player like him as 8th man. I don’t think Vermeunlen is the answer he is too slow, especially that we have Alberts at 7. If we had Juan Smith at 7 different story.

Anyhow I just hope the my Sharks players don’t pick up any injury on this tour. Especially Beast and Jannie. We don’t have the same class of cover for them at Sharks. I feel this season is just too long.

15 @ Just For Kicks:
    Your prerogative to think how you want to…

You guys were baying for Lambie to get a chance at flyhalf and not just bench-sit as backup fullback… well it seems you might get your wish come true.

Heyneke compliments Lambie and you guys are still up in arms… I give up on you okes!

15 @ Just For Kicks:
    Exactly my feeling.

No problem Rudi, if he has decided thats the right trio? fine, but it’s like he cant make up his mind and keeps making changes.

Now we both know that for a team to gel they need to play together on a regular basis.

My problem is he seems to react to the press all the time and that may be a good thing, but it also is a weakness.

I am not sure if there is a problem between him and Bakkies as Bakkies is right now said the be the inform lock in the HC?

And i would rather see Bakkies there before now before the oke he is selecting or A Bresler etc.

My problem with HM is this? IS he able to vary his styles of play?? he has been out of coaching for a long time and it seems he is stuck in the old ways, not that that was a problem at the time?? he had the players to play that style, today he does not.

I for example am scared he will stuff up someone like Lambies career as he might try to get Lambie to play the old style? Lambie is not that kind of player.

Maybe he is better off using Morne and just sticking to him, but right now the Boks look headless, but to also be fait there are a huge amount of injuries to top players, Bissy point in case.

I reckon if we had Bissy the Sharks prolly would have won the CC, as he also fires up the Sharks team, they needed a kick up the ass 😆 thing is Bissy does the same for the Bok team

Hey no giving up now, we just getting started 😆

Jokes aside Rudi, lets just hope he gets the mix right and we can move forward, I am sure thats what all of us want, Bok victories….

17 @ grootblousmile:
    LOL. I know man, but read it again. He has give Goosen his blessing that he will be FH. NO matter how much time he takes or mistakes he makes, that is his flyhalf. He will only give Lambie one chance on this tour to prove himself. Come on why must one have all the chances in the world, does not perform brilliant and it is okay? Just watch if Lambie misses one kick at goal, or if he kicks it out on the full, he will be dropped sommer like yesterday. NOT fair at all. Give him a fair chance, he has been our in-form flyhalf since 2010 and still sitting on the bench waiting his turn. Seems as if Janjties will also only get one chance. Seems like Meyer wants Goosen and Morne. Morne dammit man, has had 2 years of chances already. Not fair on the youngsters that have been waiting and waiting then another player jumps the queue.

I wonder if Meyer will dare give JdJ a chance to start at outside centre? As we saw Jaco had two chances and was rubbish there both times. Who have we got as centres on this tour? Only JdJ and JdV it seems but Jaco might play outside centre again. JdJ is in the squad and has been, he deserves a chance to start too.

20 @ Sharks_forever:
    Some key injuries is keeping the side back as well… Bissie, JP Pietersen was injured the whole Rugby Champs, Beast had to come back… now Habana is injured.

Fransie Steyn is injured, lots of experience was lost due to retirements after last year…

It’s a slow building process and this End Of Year Tour should be interesting!

17 @ grootblousmile:
    One thing is good on this site boet, is we can have our OWN opinions on things with Meyer and not get sworn at. We don’t all agree on somethings and it is fine, but we allowed to have our say without getting sworn at. We debate things here like adults with a bit of banter thrown in of course…..hehehehe. Respect for that.

21 @ Puma:
    We’ll just have to see what happens…

True Rudi, so for me all those factors have played a role.

23 @ Puma:
    This site is built on respect!

19 @ Sharks_forever:
    Agree, don’t want Lambie to be brainwashed into this kicking game. He is a play maker and enjoys to play what is infront of him. Lambie is not a kicking fh and that will most certainly mess his mind up for Sharks.

So it could be a good thing he just stays on the bench, because he was the only one really to come back and play top class for Sharks. Had not forgotten our style at all.

Agree again, if we had Bissie think we would have won the CC. He is a huge loss. I saw Deysel, Keegan and Andre Strauss yesterday. Was going to the bank and walked past them. They were at Craigs coffee shop.

Time will tell boet,

26 @ grootblousmile:
    I know and that is why I enjoy it here. Cool site with cool people…..HHAHAHAHA. Look we all do not always agree, actually we often don’t agree on a lot, but we don’t come out fist fighting like they do on the other side. We can debate about things without having to resort to that stuff. We can all have our own opinions and I enjoy that. You can say something here and not get your head taken off. Plenty won’t agree and say their bit but that is fine the way it should be.

17 @ grootblousmile:The problem is simply that you will only see Ostrich through rose tinted spectacles. He had NO intention of playing Lambie at f/h. He wanted him as f/b. Now he is saying that he may use him at f/h as he has done all that is required of him. He has done nothing different – except get some game time with his union. He is playing no better or worse than before Ostrich benched him. Therefore what is his benchmark and justification to say that he is now a f/h????? The man talks out of his pipe hole. Of course we want to see him at f/h. Ostrich is now bowing to the pressure, and finding excuses to get him back into the correct position. He has the spine of a jellied eel. Manning up, my foot.

Total 64 users including 0 member, 64 guests, 0 bot online