Ask-Ads Left

Volksblad reports that GWK Griquas have finalised their contracts for the 2013 season. Though there aren’t any notable new signings, some loan players have been contracted.

The good performance by Griquas in the Currie Cup, has added valuable depth to the resources available to the Cheetahs for the 2013 Super 15 season, and quite a few should represent the Toyota Cheetahs Super 15 team.


The Griquas Team 2013:

Backs: Willie le Roux, Rudi Vogt, Rocco Jansen, Dusty Noble, Richard Lawson, Luzuko Vulindlu, Jannie Boshoff, Jean Stemmet, Walter Venter, PJ Vermeulen, JP Nel, Francois Brummer, Marnus Hugo, Jacques Coetzee, Enrico Acker.

Jannie Boshoff, Luzuko Vulindlu were the loan players offered contracts, whilst Marnitz Boshoff (Lions), Stefan Watermeyer (Pumas)  are the transfered players. Wilmaure Louw, and Matt Rosslee were not offered new contracts.


Forwards: Leon Karemaker, Burger Schoeman, Justin Downey, Marnus Schoeman, Jonathan Adendorf, Wesley Wilkins, Jaco Nepgen, Ligtoring Landman, Edwin Hewitt, Ryno Barnes, Matt Dobson, Simon Westraadt, Janro van Niekerk, Steph Roberts, Lourens Adriaanse.

Martin Muller (Cheetahs), Frikkie Spies (France), Ivan Espag (Pumas) are the players moving, whilst flank and ex 7’s bok  Chase Minnaar is retiring. Prop Eugene Butterworth was not offered a contract.

One Response to Griquas Contracted Players 2013

  • 1

    Player of Year finalists named, final voting opens
    October 17, 2012
    The ten finalists for the prestigious SARU Rugby Player of the Year 2012 have been finalised, following a new public consultation process in conjunction with the votes of rugby media.

    The rugby public nominated and voted for players on the Springboks’ Facebook page and will now have a decisive say in determining which of the ten top-rated players will be crowned on 1 November, when the SARU Rugby Player of the Year Awards Function is held in Cape Town.

    The public are urged to use this platform again and vote for the player they feel has achieved most in the 2012 South African rugby season. Voting closes on Wednesday, 24 October at noon.

    The ten finalists (in alphabetical order) are: Willem Alberts, Keegan Daniel, Bismarck du Plessis, Jannie du Plessis, Eben Etzebeth, Bryan Habana, Elton Jantjies, Siya Kolisi, Pat Lambie and JP Pietersen.

    Voting for other categories in the annual showpiece has now closed and SARU would like to thank the fans who participated in this venture. Public participation in the naming of winners in six categories was used for the first time this year.


Bam Advert