The Springboks’ woes are set to continue for the remainder of the year due to the severity of their shortcomings.

rugby365

The Boks’ stuttering form this season stems not from a singular weakness but rather an array of frailties in various facets. There is, therefore, no simple solution, hence the frustratingly slow rate at which the new-look Boks are progressing.

Ironically, it took the first loss in the Heyneke Meyer era at the weekend to illustrate that improvement is well being made, albeit it at a snail’s pace. The performance against the Wallabies was still a far cry from what is expected of a Springbok side, but it was a vast improvement on the shocking draw against Argentina.

Their tactical kicking, a key feature in their territory-driven game plan, was much-improved, as was their defensive effort. Although they leaked two tries, they increased their tackling accuracy from 72 percent in Mendoza to 88 percent in Perth.

It was the Wallabies’ ability to maintain possession, helped in no small part by Meyer’s reluctancy to play a specialist fetcher, that sucked in defenders and lead to the two five-pointers rather than any glaring glitch in their defensive structures.

There’s no doubt that additional changes to the side need to be made. A lack of an out-and-out opensider would be a recipe for disaster against the mighty All Blacks on Saturday, while Morne Steyn’s shaken confidence and suspect defence remains an on-going issue.

It’s important to understand, though, that whilst thrusting the likes of Francois Louw or Heinrich Brussow, who finds himself outside of the squad at present, or play-making prodigies Johan Goosen and Pat Lambie into the starting line-up would speed up the rebuilding process, it would not assure immediate success. Even with these talented prospects, the Boks would still struggle against their Antipodean rivals.

No amount of tinkering or time on the training field during the week will change the fact that the Boks are lambs to the slaughter what Saturday’s showdown in Dunedin is concerned. There simply is no quick fix. Experience is hard earned, and it’s only through experience that the Boks will grow as a unit.

It is imperative, however, that Meyer identifies the players he deems best suited to take South African rugby into the future and afford them a prolonged run in the starting XV in order to build some sort of foundation and continuity heading into 2013 and beyond.

Only the most die-hard of Springbok supporters would put money on a Bok victory this weekend. It would be a monumental upset. A clever tactical approach from the Boks, however, could make for a more competitive contest than many expect.

Although they won’t be aided by the whirlpool Wellington wind, the Boks will do well to follow – and improve – the Pumas’ blueprint, which doesn’t differ too much from the Boks’ current conservative game plan. Attitude, passion and aggressive yet disciplined defence are what served the Pumas well against the All Blacks. The inexperienced Bok pack, in particular, will need to take the fight to their hosts.

Targeting the talented but inexperienced Aaron Cruden ought to be the focal point of the Boks’ strategy this weekend. Cruden struggled to stamp his authority on the match in Wellington and Aaron Smith also suffered from the ripple effect caused by Dan Carter’s injury-enforced absence.

It was clear that Smith struggled without the composed Carter, who takes a lot of pressure off the young number nine. Expect the experienced Piri Weepu to start at scrumhalf and shoulder much of the responsibility from the base on Saturday to ease the pressure off Cruden.

If Ruan Pienaar, who should be given another run as starting scrumhalf, and the Bok back rowers can unsettle the All Black halfback pairing, they could make matters difficult for the world champions. If they are unable to do so and the potent All Black backline gets clean ball, it could be a blow out.

78 Responses to The Rugby Championship: No quick fix for the Bokke

‘No amount of tinkering or time on the training field during the week will change the fact that the Boks are lambs to the slaughter what Saturday’s showdown in Dunedin is concerned. There simply is no quick fix. Experience is hard earned, and it’s only through experience that the Boks will grow as a unit.’

Then change the game plan, and bring in new players to gain experience. Yes we will lose a few matches, but if you show the fans you are moving in the right direction, they will forgive you.

‘It is imperative, however, that Meyer identifies the players he deems best suited to take South African rugby into the future and afford them a prolonged run in the starting XV in order to build some sort of foundation and continuity heading into 2013 and beyond.’

So why Bakkies Botha, when he probably won’t even have a role to play.

Very mild criticism in my opinion. Reporters build a relationship with their subjects and to maintain access they are afraid to jeopardise the relationship by being too harsh. Calling Saturday’s match an improvement is a joke. Yes, technically it was better than Mendoza but that was so awful, it was easy to improve on that. Judge if there has been improvement from the first test, if there is a successful plan in place and if the correct players are being groomed and molded.

It is not that we lost, it is the style of play that lead to the loss that is the problem.

Is there a willingness or ability to change?

Morning my negative friends….

Apart from being hyper negative, how are you on this bright Spring morning?

PS! I am very negative about my SuperBru… hahaha

Morning my dear friend with your head up your ass. We watched the Springboks play and funnily enough, it caused our mood. I wonder why?

7 @ The_Young_Turk:
    Someone pee in you crispies this morning too?

Oh, and my head is not up my ass…. just looking at my ass, because of my Bru picks… hahaha

…. and it’s not a pretty sight!

ek dink ons sien nou eers wat se skade ou snorman regtig gedoen het,ons gaan nog kreun vir n ruk maar sodra goosen lambie coenie strauss bismark brussow ens begin eieraarskap van die bokspan aanvaar gaan die vonke begin spat,chaps saterdag was crappie gewees maar ek het in die laaste 10 min baie gesien wat my posetief maak

10 @ The_Young_Turk:
    Flok, I made you smile….

… I have’nt lost my touch at least to make my friends smile…

9 @ smallies:
    Dankie vir jou positiewe bydrae….

Ja man, dis darem nie net donker en somber nie, daar’s klompie spelers wat moet terugkeer, een of ander tyd.

Coenie Oosthuizen
    Bismarck du Plessis
    Heinrich Brussow
    JP Pietersen

Daai paar is sleutelspelers, plus natuurlik duidelike vervanging van Morné Steyn en alhoewel Crusty nie sleg gespeel het nie, sal Lambie heelwat beter vaar op heelagter as Crusty.

Wat my steeds pla is skrumskakel… Hougie is nie die antwoord nie, so ook klaarblyklik nie Ruan Pienaar nie… miskien moet Fourie du Preez maar beginne fiks word en voorberei, daai ou was ‘n massiewe yster in ons span.

Anybody have an opinion on Jean de Villiers’ captaincy and general play?

And who agrees with me that Ruan Pienaar had a terrible shocker of a game on Saturday… apart from Morné Steyn, Doc Jannie and to some extent Beast?

13 @ grootblousmile:
    Against England thought JdV captaincy was really good. When Sharks played Stormers in the semi I thought JdV captaincy was awful and I think his captaincy in this RC has not been great.

Have to admit Ruan had a shocker. Took too long looking about who to pass the ball too and by that time they were taking our ball from us. Not great to see that, because Ruan was very good coming on against England.

Maybe let Hougie play his natural game and not do those daft box kicks that he really can’t do might work. Otherwise Meyer should be using Vermaak.

13 @ grootblousmile:
    I think if Meyer is still around next year he will make Bissie captain. Not sure if JdV will still be around for next year. So far he is not playing well. Never had a good game at all on Saturday.

Our scrum was not great on Saturday either. If we don’t get it right this week against the ABs we will be in serious trouble. Now with Jannie and Cilliers that both might be out to injury we in trouble. Just hope Meyer does not bring W. Kruger in from the Bulls.

Up front we’re really missing the excellence of Bismarck du Plessis, Victor Matfield, Bakkies Botha, Danie Rossouw, Schalk Burger, Juan Smith.

Behind the scrums and rucks we’re hapless without Fourie du Preez, and quite a bit poorer without JP Pietersen.

Some of these losses can be adequately alleviated…. Juandré Kruger is OK and if only Lambie could start at fullback and Goosen starts to shine at flyhalf…. we only really need Brussow and a scrummie like Fourie du Preez back….. and with the needed tweaks in game plan, we should be right back up there again.

16 @ Puma:
    Yip, Werner Kruger is NOT the answer…. but neither is Verbrokkel Harris or WP Nel or any of the Sharks Currie Cup side props…

We are very thin at tighthead prop in SA!

Vermeulen should come fromt he bench this week. He as not great, not his fault as he has only just come back from a very long lay off with his knee.

May Loosies this weekend would be:

8. Marcel
    7. Alberts
    6. Flouw

Bring on Vermeulen at 7 to replace Alberts latter on. My feeling Marcel would be a great 8.

When we come back home then we need to bring in Brussow there is no question about that, since we lost Bissie we needed a fetcher.

Then back home replace Flouw with Brussow.

13 @ Grootblousmile:The best players must be chosen first, and then the Captain. Unfortunately JdV is not the best player, and he is playing out of position. He shouldn’t be there. Simple. I was happy with Ostriches choice of him in the England series, but back then he said that was exactly that, just that series. He wasn’t outstanding then, and should have been changed after the series.

I said before, and will say again, First and foremost, it must be the best players in that position starting the match. Is Ruan the best scrummie? He is a very versatile replacement, and can cover a number of positions. Therefore a very good bench player in my choice. Is Hougaard the best scrummie in SA? Is he the best wing in SA. If not, again, a versatile player who can come off the bench. In my opinion he isn’t the best in either position.

I think this is Ostriches biggest problem. He set out his stall early on by saying there are only 2 types of rugby, winning and losing. He has dug his own hole, and, just like Divvy, is playing “reactive rugby” rather than “proactive rugby” because he cannot afford to lose. Player selections smack of pure desperation at the moment, and are quite illogical in some instances.

17 @ grootblousmile:
    The thing is if we start with Goosen and Lambie they MUST be allowed to play their natural game and not this kick everything away style of game Meyer wants the players to play. Otherwise what is the use of having those two creative players on the field? Don’t want to ruin their confidence either by playing that style.

Bissie is the biggest loss this RC. Massive loss actually and so is JPP. Strauss is a good player just just not in the same class as Bissie ever.

18 @ grootblousmile:
    Not sure about th this weekend if we lose Jannie and Cilliers. Can never bring W. Kruger. If our scrum struggles against ABs we going to cop a real hiding.

Yes we are missing the likes of FdP, Victor Matfield, Bakkies Botha, Danie Rossouw, Schalk Burger, Juan Smith, but we have to come out from behind their shadow. This constant pandering to the past is doing us no good at all. These players are history, the sooner we accept this and move on, the better it will be for all of us. Blaming Divvy is just plain dumb in my book too. We all new the situation BEFORE the Ostrich took over, and should have started reacting accordingly.

20 @ Just For Kicks:
    Jean has a awful game on Saturday. There is JdJ there, but really doubt Meyer will take off his captain for JdJ. He should never have committed himself by making Jean his captain for the rest of the season. We have Strauss there as vice captain. Think he is a very good captain, but really not in the same class as Bissie as a player.

Not sure who should play scrummie now. Hougie was not great there and Ruan on Saturday had a shocker. Maybe give Vermaak a go because we need Hougie on the wing until JPP gets back. Mvovo never had a great game either, he is a better player especially when playing for the Sharks. We miss JPP big time.

21 @ Puma:
    Yip… my biggest problem is the persistence with kick and chase rugby. This has now happened since 2004, and is not new to Meyer, as a lot of folk want us to believe and who are calling for Meyer’s head.

It is so crystal clear to me that Ball-In-Hand rugby is the way forward, that it is not even funny.

Little Goosen had a good 10 minute cameo appearance and Lambie at fullback worked well too in the last 10 minutes…. so, cooked or undercooked, I would get them both in as starters, this Saturday already, with instruction to play ball-in-hand rugby, unless you HAVE TO alleviate pressure in your own 22….. and then the ball must be kicked well out with no chance of quick throw-in’s.

24 @ grootblousmile:
    If those two can play their natural game start them. I would. If we going with the bloody kick everything back up field then don’t play them. It is a waste. Rather leave the players there that are doing it. We have to keep ball in hand the way to go we do that then we have to start Goosen and Lambie. Then I would go with Hougie at scrummie, because if he don’t have to do that daft box kicks then think he will be fine there.

Agree we do have to kick sometimes, all teams do just not all of the time.

However we have to have our scrum working otherwise we not going to get much ball anyhow. Also our breakdowns are a mess. We have to sort it out, ABs will kill us there if we sloppy.

Anyhow going out to lunch now. Catch up later.

Most important is to get the ball out of the ruck quick and a speedy crisp pass. Think Vermaak can do that really. Underated player I feel.

Have to protect OUR ball at the breakdowns. So many things need to be sorted. Our scrums too not going well right now.

Okay now out of here going out for lunch.

Catch up later.

There is nothing wrong with the kicking game, but, it needs to be used intelligently, and executed to perfection. It should be used when there is a clear chance of using it to your own advantage. Unfortunately, the Boks are failing in all 3 of these departments, and that is why it looks so shocking. A 50/50 chance of getting the advantage back, when their is no clear gain in doing so is just plain dumb. Ruans kick from the base of the ruck when deep in his own half with absolutely nothing on was a clear example of this, and shows the he doesn’t have the vision or scrummie nous to be there.

26 @ Puma:
    Meaning = Think Vermaak’s passing is quicker than the rest. For now it seems.

Goosen won’t start, Ostrich has already stated that he is happy with Mornes play on Saturday. Can’t really see Lambie starting either. Crusty did nothing wrong on Saturday to justify pulling him off.

Agree with you, JFK. Ostrich is happy with Morne and it’s useless rearanging the deck chairs while the Titanic is headed for the iceberg. Ostrich is not prepared to change course. Some one needs to shove that walkie talkie where the sun don’t shine.

Total 28 users including 0 member, 28 guests, 0 bot online