I certainly hope you all have your rugby shoes ready for tomorrow, Saturday 25 August 2012!

There are 5 marvelous games on, starting with the Test between the All Blacks vs Wallabies at 09:35 SA Time.

Following this game, there is a break, where you can quickly do an early braai or give some quality attention to the other “house animals”.

The first Currie Cup game of the day (1 of 3) starts at 15:00, being the game between Griquas vs Free State Cheetahs. At 17:05 we have the game between the Golden Lions and WP and at 19:00 (not 19:10 as advocated by some web sites) we have the game between the Blue Bulls vs The Sharks.

In between these games, there might just be enough time to play with the dogs or to re-charge the drinks or get a quick “quickie”… but beware, you will have to be careful or you might miss some rugby!

In my case and in normal circumstances, I would have gone to Loftus Versfeld for the Blue Bulls vs Sharks game, but that would mean that I would miss watching the Golden Lions vs WP game but more importantly the Test between the Pumas and Springboks, which follows the Blue Bulls vs Sharks game at 21:10.

So I don’t know about you but tomorrow I’m making the exception and I’m NOT going to Loftus!

I’ll be sitting right here in my home office, in front of the TV and with my fingers on the pulse for you guys at Rugby-Talk… and enjoying all 5 games.

See you in the morning… right?

Regards,

grootblousmile
(Webmonster)

PS! Note to self…. sort out my biltong stash, my “refreshments” situation and my Kameeltjies TODAY already!!

17 Responses to Saturday Rugby Bonanza

Cricket ODI between England and SA is about to start…

Game has been reduced to 24 overs per side, due to the rain delays in Cardiff.

… another over each lost… game will start at 16:10… apparently.

Damn, I’m glad I don’t live in Rain-Island….

Rondeballetjie game has started…. 2 overs gone, England 2 / 0

Looks like England is still in 5-Day mode… runs just not coming… yet

Just keep these batsmen in, they’re not scoring… hehehe

4 / 0 after 3 overs

OK, I take it back… get COOK!

Damn, 11 runs off Tsotsie in the 4th over…

6 off Morkel’s 1st ball in the 5th over.. eish

… then a 3…

… but we must remember, this is really T20 type Cricket, due to the reduced overs.

Grrrr, another 6

Nee man!

Suddely England are 32 / 0 after 5 overs….

Raining again… players off again…

Arghhh, just abandon this game… this is not cricket!

ODI match abandoned at 3:45 UK Time.

I think it’s better this way… just too much rain and too many interruptions

Former Springbok great Joost van der Westhuizen handed out the Springboks’ jerseys on Friday at an emotional ceremony at the team’s hotel in Mendoza, where they play Argentina on Saturday in the second Test of The Castle Rugby Championship.

Van der Westhuizen, who played in 89 Springbok Tests and scored 56 tries in 111 matches for South Africa, delivered a strong message to Heyneke Meyer, Jean de Villiers and the Springboks.

“It’s a great honour for me to be here today,” he said.

“I’m glad that I have the opportunity to talk to you as you are building what I believe will become a great team in future.

“But in my life there is no tomorrow and that is why I urge you to be great tomorrow against Argentina, as you represent your country, your family and yourselves.

“Go out there and be the best player you can be on the field and the best person you can be off the field.”

Springbok captain Jean de Villiers thanked Van der Westhuizen for the message and told the story of the only time he ever played with the great Bok scrumhalf, in a Rugby World Cup warm-up game in Springs in 2003.

“When we were busy with the warm-up before the match, I almost had to pinch myself when Joost passed me the ball Ä this great guy whose tackle on Jonah Lomu in the World Cup in 1995 I will never forget,” said De Villiers.

“Joost, you’ve been an inspiration to us and we wish you well with your battle 1/8with motor neuron disease 3/8. We know you as a fighter and we will always appreciate what you did for Springbok rugby.” – Sapa

The Joost situation is very emotional.

Delighted that he has found himself….Devastated that it took a disease that is going to shorten his life to do it.

“The greatest scrummie ever”….not so sure about that, FDP has a look in on that title. Hougie has the makings.

What is remarkable is that Justine Marshall is helping Joost with his charity work fighting motor neuron disease….a number of other well known players around the world have put their hands up too. If you listen to Joosts interview with Daryn Scott….it is very humbling. Those Boks will be ready to run through brick walls for Joost today….lets hope they remember to run around them….except for Willem of course, I don’t think he enjoys his day unless he has trampled several wannabe tacklers….but the Argies held him in check last week. Also tough guys.

Now on another matter….wonder how the Blue Balls…..I mean Bulls are going to feel late afternoon. The Sharks look lus this year and theya re at their peak. Which is also a pity cause the Curry Cup is not won in August….”hmmm..now who said that?”

Total 28 users including 0 member, 28 guests, 0 bot online