Springboks (9) 14 / (8) 14 England (Final Score)

South Africa and England did battle in the 3rd Test of their series at Nelson Mandela Bay Stadium, Port Elizabeth, South Africa at 17:05 SA Time.

• Penalties – Morné Steyn (3)
  • Tries – JP Pietersen (1)

England:

• Penalties – Toby Flood (1), Owen Farrell (2)
  • Tries – Danny Care (1)

South Africa: 15 Gio Aplon, 14 JP Pietersen, 13 Jean de Villiers, 12 Wynand Olivier, 11 Bryan Habana, 10 Morné Steyn, 9 François Hougaard, 8 Pierre Spies, 7 Jacques Potgieter, 6 Marcell Coetzee, 5 Juandré Kruger, 4 Eben Etzebeth, 3 Jannie du Plessis, 2 Bismarck du Plessis, 1 Tendai Mtawarira.
Replacements: 16 Adriaan Strauss, 17 Werner Kruger, 18 Flip van der Merwe, 19 Ryan Kankowski, 20 Ruan Pienaar, 21 Elton Jantjies, 22 Bjorn Basson.

England: 15 Alex Goode, 14 Chris Ashton, 13 Jonathan Joseph, 12 Manusamoa Tuilagi, 11 Ben Foden, 10 Toby Flood, 9 Danny Care, 8 Thomas Waldrom, 7 James Haskell, 6 Tom Johnson, 5 Geoff Parling, 4 Tom Palmer, 3 Dan Cole, 2 Dylan Hartley (captain), 1 Joe Marler.
Replacements: 16 Lee Mears, 17 Paul Doran Jones, 18 Mouritz Botha, 19 Phil Dowson, 20 Lee Dickson, 21 Owen Farrell, 22 Brad Barritt.

Date: Saturday 23 June
Kick-off:  17:05 SA Time (15:05 GMT)
Venue: Nelson Mandela Bay Stadium, Port Elizabeth
Expected weather: It seems that the rain may well hold off in the afternoon which will reach a high of 21°C, dropping to 13°C. Windy at times, but then it is PE.
Assistant referees: Nigel Owens (Wales), John Lacey (Ireland)
TMO: Giulio De Santis (Italy)

269 Responses to Internationals: South Africa vs England – Live Game Article

@ Puma,
    Juan has taken a complete break from rugby, and hopes to be back in 2013. He was bitterly dissappointed, at the slow recovery. I hope he can be back, but he is also getting on in years. Pity Stander is leaving, he has been strong too.

Other options apart from Alberts, is Vermeulen. His mom told me in Friday, that he is due back next month.

Well, not a win… but also not a loss

Oh no seems like this was a good one to miss, a draw is such a downer, thought the England players that didn’t play would have been missed more than the Boks ones and that in the end the Boks would pull away with a good win. Congratulations England.

HM het nou darem ‘n paar super 15 wedstryde om as ‘proewe’ te gebruik om te sien wie moet in en uit sy groep.

OK, this was the Winter Tours then, back to Super Rugby next weekend

Sometimes Bobby Skinstad really gets to me. He was asked about the descision Jean made going for corners and not taking the points. Eventually he says we missed getting the try and getting another penalty closer to the poles and blames Morne for missing? Heck come on Skinstad the question WAS JEAN RIGHT IN GOING FOR CORNERS IN THE FIRST INSTANCE AND NOT FOR POLES AND TAKING THE 3 POINTS? Jinne some commentators or dof or do a body swerve to avoid the question being answered. Jean was WRONG to go for corner and should have taken the 3 points whether Morne was kicking 100% or 50%. Always take the 3 points if we can get them.

235@ grootblousmile:
    Problem is though GBS is that it seems Morne’s kicking has not been that great through this year’s Super 15 so far, so whats happening with Vloks influence? No I think its external factors thats affecting his play and also the fact that he has been overplayed for the last 3 years at least, in my opinion. When last did Morne have a break and you have to admire that he seldom seems to be injured which is why he is still the man in die saal.

241@ Cheetah4eva:
    Well Juan was always one of my favourite Boks. One of our very best. He is missed. Only player to step up is Alberts. So just hope that Alberts is injury free come the RC.

The Rout of the weekend was the All Blacks against Ireland… but for me the game of the weekend was the Junior Bokkies winning the World Cup in a stunning match!

Yes, Super rugby is back, must say, the blog was quieter in comparison to the game threads of Super 15

Anyhow it just shows how much we expect from our Boks. We so disappointed that we drew with England. Most other countries would be pleased. So I am pleased that we are not taking this lightly. We will get better. Selections will cost us. We have to be sharp with selections. Also need plan B always.

251@ Puma:
    Hi Puma I think England can make lots of changes that will strengthen them, they even played without their captain today so we should be like most other countries and I think it was right to expect the Boks to win comfortably

Mallet praat sense, ons is te predictable, moet aanval afwissel.

252@ Bullscot:
    Sorry meant to be we should NOT be like most other countries

WO never had a bad game, but we also missed Fransie.

Anyhow we move on. Try and win the RC and also the eoyt. Must select the right players all of the time. Replacements has to be like for like.

Lambie should now finally be given a chance to start at fh. Meyer has to look who is our best come RC.

Okay that is me out of here. Cheers all. Anyhow we never lost but I certainly am not celebrating either. WE should have beaten the English if we got our kicks over.

Good night. Catch up tomorrow.

248@ Puma,
    Juan showed by his absence how immense he has been for the Boks. Alberts came good just in time. Lets hope the Super 15 doesn’t cause more injuries prior to the RC.
    Coenie did well, and can certainly add value again, but he might only be back for the EOYT’s. The locks did well in the tests, so Bekker might not be Shoo in. Will be interesting to see if Brussow will be brought in to counter Pocock and Mc Caw?
    Intersting times ahead. Vermeuken is sure to put pressure on Spies, but he can also play 7.

247 @ Bullscot:
    Back to basics for Morné’s kicking game… he must just do what he did last year, wear those type of boots… and possibly you are right, maybe he needs a bit of recuperative rest.

Forget the silly notion of getting married and all that tripe, he’s had that girl for a while, certainly last year too.

Let’s be brutally honest, Lambie’s kicking to posts sometimes goes to pots as well, he’s got a dodgy kicking technique, Goosen is still very green and has now struggled with injuries on both AC Joints, both shoulders.

Maybe the right thing is to have 2 great kickers in the side at the same time, to supply that backup to Morné’s boot at the moment…. Morné & Lambie, or Morné & Joe Pietersen.

Elton Jantjies is not an option, his defence is woeful PLUS he sometimes goes off the boil with the boot too.

256 @ Cheetah4eva:
    Juan Smith’s time is done and dusted…. Alberts and the new upcoming generation has passed him, and he’s an injury liability going forward

252@ Bullscot:
    Yes think we all expected the Boks to win, but we never. We too were without Alberts and Fransie. You have to remember how much Alberts gets us over the gainline. Also Fransie. It takes about 3 players to get both of them down, that takes a few players out of position and leaves gaps for us too. WE missed them plenty tonight.

Our bench was not great either, though Ruan was better than Hougie and Kanko was far better than we all thought, he was quite good.

So from here on we still have SuperRugby to play and have to hope no injuries from here on. WE also will get S. Burger back come RC time.

Lambie should start at fh too. Give him a chance he has been knocking on that door for a long, long time now.

Anyhow that is all for another time. We won the series and well done to our Boks. WE never let England beat us but a draw is still no good for me. I need our Boks to win to feel happy about our game.

Okay now that is me out of here.

Catch up during the week. WE are the only SANZAR country not to have won today???????? Though think England are playing way, way better than Ireland and even Wales.

257@ grootblousmile:
    I’m always in favour of having two good kickers in your team GBS, in case one has an off day. Am not thinking about him marrying or stuff like that, but there have been other ructions outside of rugby for him and also other distractions like couldn’t believe the week the Bulls got back from tour and had to build for the Stormers game it was written that he had a golf day or something like that!, maybe I’m being harsh and what they do on their days off is their own business just like it should be for most other jobs.

@ Gbs,
    I know, I just want him to have the benefit of going out on a high. Things sure don’t look good for him. Two montgs ago I would have scoffed at the thought, but Alberts came back stronger. He is a tad to predictable at times. A fully fit Juan, is an awesome player, but I agree, unfortunately, age, and injury have taken their toll.

Folks, I’m outa here….

… and remember one thing, NOBODY is irreplaceable… except me of course….

256@ Cheetah4eva:
    Juan will always be one of my favourite Boks. Coenie was superb when he came on in the first test. So hoping he is ready for the RC. BUT neck injuries take a long, long time to heal. I know I have a bulging disc like Coenie. So one has to be really careful with it. Need to manage it.

Alberts for now that Juan is not playing is our best 7 without a doubt. So hope he is ready for the RC.

Okay that is me now definitely out of here. Cheers bud, catch up tomorrow or during the week.

Anyway, I am out of here too. Can’t wait for the last rounds of the Super 15! Interesting times ahead indeed. Cheers all.

257: ek het tot hierdie wedstryd gehoop Morne sal dit omdraai, maar dinge is nie lekker met sy skopvoet nie, hoop hy kan in die res van die S15 regkom. Dalk moet hy ‘n toets op die bank begin en dan sien ons of dit hom regruk. Dink Morne sal die eerste een wees om te erken hy is nou glad nie op vorm nie.

265 @ bdb:
    Morné se aanvallende spel en sy verdedigende spel is beter as ooit… hy val die voordeellyn mooi aan, maak vital tackles en mis nie tackles nie, versprei netjies… dis net sy korrel pale toe en so paar tweaks aan sy taktiese skoppe wat lol…. hy is TE GOED om weg te gooi, hy sal regkom.

Die reeks 2-0 gewen, in die sakkie. Geluk HM en die Bokke.

Nou is dit weer: Bulle !

Superman

Gegroet tot volgende week.

266: stem, sal hom altyd in die groep hê, nie weggooi nie. Daarom moet daar nog ‘n skopper in die beginspan wees, of soos ek genoem het, laat hy eenkeer van die bank speel, dan sien ons hoe gaan dit.

Lekker slaap.

267 @ bdb:
    Cheers SupermanBiDiBiDi

Total 15 users including 0 member, 15 guests, 0 bot online