Springboks 36 / 27 England (Final score)

South Africa and England did battle in the Second Test at Coca-Cola Park, Johannesburg at 17:05 SA Time.

This was the live match discussion Article.

The match was broadcast LIVE on SuperSport 1, SHD & M-Net on TV in SA.

An effervescent Springbok side built up enough of a lead with 3 first half tries to keep the English winless in the series, which SA have now secured.

Man Of The match: JP Pietersen

The English can take heart from a spirited comeback that got them within 4 points of the Boks with less than 10 minutes to play. Their forwards particularly took the game to the Bokke in the second stanza who seemed to be somewhat disrupted by the substitution, both forced and tactical.

• Penalties – 3 (Morne Steyn)
  • Drop Goals – 1 (Morne Steyn)
  • Tries – 4 (Willem Alberts) (Bismark du Plessis) (Francois Houghaard) (JP Pietersen)
  • Conversions – 2 (Morne Steyn)

England:

• Penalties – 2 (Toby Flood)
  • Tries – 3 (Toby Flood) (Ben Youngs-2)
  • Conversions – 3 (Toby Flood)

South Africa: 15 Pat Lambie, 14 JP Pietersen, 13 Jean de Villiers (captain), 12 Frans Steyn, 11 Bryan Habana, 10 Morné Steyn, 9 François Hougaard, 8 Pierre Spies, 7 Willem Alberts, 6 Marcell Coetzee, 5 Juandré Kruger, 4 Eben Etzebeth, 3 Jannie du Plessis, 2 Bismarck du Plessis, 1 Tendai Mtawarira.
Replacements: 16 Adriaan Strauss, 17 Werner Kruger, 18 Flip van der Merwe, 19 Keegan Daniel, 20 Ruan Pienaar, 21 Wynand Olivier, 22 Bjorn Basson.

England: 15 Ben Foden, 14 Chris Ashton, 13 Jonathan Joseph, 12 Manusamoa Tuilagi, 11 David Strettle, 10 Toby Flood, 9 Ben Youngs, 8 Ben Morgan, 7 Chris Robshaw (captain), 6 Tom Johnson, 5 Geoff Parling, 4 Mouritz Botha, 3 Dan Cole, 2 Dylan Hartley, 1 Joe Marler.
Replacements: 16 Lee Mears, 17 Alex Corbisiero, 18 Tom Palmer, 19 Thomas Waldrom, 20 Lee Dickson, 21 Owen Farrell, 22 Alex Goode.

Date: Saturday 16 June
Kick-off: 17:05 SA Time (15:05 GMT)
Venue: Coca Cola Park (Ellis Park), Johannesburg
Expected weather conditions: Sunny with a high of 12°C, dropping to 2°C – a crisp Highveld winter’s day.
Referee: Alain Rolland (Ireland)
Assistant referees: Steve Walsh (Australia), Simon McDowell (Ireland)
TMO: Iain Ramage (Scotland)

279 Responses to Internationals: South Africa vs England – Live Game Article

1 8 9 10

Ladies and Gents, Got to go and feed my daughter.

Sh1t, just heard the game in PE is sold out. Was thinking of going down for the weekend to watch, but guess I’ll have to watch at home while the wife and family are on holiday there.

Enjoy father’s Day everyone.

Thanks for the company.

I’m off too. Ciao a tutti and thanks for the chat too.

269: dink nie hy rattle nie, hy is die kalmste speler op die rugbyveld in die wereld, soos die NZ kommentators al baie gesê het. Sy algemene spel is vir my goed, sy radar is nie lekker as hy pale toe skop nie.

Nag kerels, lekker slaap.

Oukies…dit maak darem net n man se naweek as jy die rugby wen……hoop julle braaivleis vure brand hoog…..die brandewyn en whiskey vloei sterk….en die vrou se slaai smaak lekker 🙂
    Lekker naweek vir al julle siele down south…braai weer hier in die UK 🙂

Well done Bokke.

Great first half, 2nd half we struggled a bit. Think with the injuries and players coming off it broke momentum. Also Morne HAS to get those kicks over or it will be tickets for him. Doubt Meyer will put up with our goal kicker missing 5 kicks. We miss just one against the ABs it will cost us. Or the Wallabies.

We let 13 points go begging with not getting the kicks over. Pity Lambie went off injured otherwise think he would have taken over the goal kicking.

Next week if we don’t have Alberts we could be in huge trouble. Fransie not playing next week either as he is getting married that day. Also if we lose Kruger that too would be a huge loss and possibly we might lose Lambie to injury too. Really hope the injury list is not as bad as it seems. Have to wait for Monday to see who is out injured.

Anyhow, that is us 9 wins on the trot against England. 3 zip to the sh teams as well.

Argentina 23/20 France, good win for Argentina must have been a tense game with France leading by 1 point at half time.

276@ Puma:
    Hello Puma good summary there, if you consider how close the Aus and ABs games were then the 9 point margin was ok and as you say could have been more if all kicks were over, were the 5 kicks you mentioned missed all Morne Steyns or does it include Frans Steyns long range effort? Never saw the game and know Morne was so good in past were the kicks very hard that missed or easy ones by his standard? Maybe Mr Meyer wanted to keep him kicking in the hope that he would get tough ones over and try boost his confidence kicking in the pressured test environment, BUT as you say after a few missed kicks should have turned to someone else even if Lambie was injured Frans Steyn was there or is the thinking he can only get the long straight ones? Surely they must make Frans kick more to posts then we have more options for when things go wrong on the day for the main kicker. Also when Pienaar came on he could have taken over as kicker been kicking very well for Ulster. How many points did Englandg lose from missed kicks? Lastly at time of your posting it was actually 3 out of 4 for southern hemisphere teams remember Scotland beat Fiji Approve Argentina made it 4 out of 5 for the south.

USA 36/20 Georgia, sounds like USA were good value for their win taking charge right from the start.

1 8 9 10

Total 67 users including 0 member, 67 guests, 0 bot online