JUSTIN ONTONG’S outstanding form for the Nashua Mobile Cape Cobras in both the SuperSport Series and the domestic 1-Day Cup has earned him a recall to the Proteas’ Castle Lager squad for both the ODI and T20 series against New Zealand.

Cricket South Africa (CSA) on Wednesday named the squads for all three formats for next month’s tour of New Zealand that consists of three Test matches, three ODIs and three T20 International matches.

Significant features include the selection of Ontong for both limited overs formats, the pairing of another Cobras’ player, Richard Levi, as Hashim Amla’s opening partner in the T20 squad, and the selection of yet another Cobra, JP Duminy, as the extra batsman for the Test side ahead of Ashwell Prince.

Levi was chosen for the T20 squad against Australia but did not get any game time.

Ontong’s last international selection was for the ICC World Twenty20 in England in 2009 although he did not get any game time. He averaged 72 in this season’s 1-Day Cup and currently has an average of 76 in the SuperSport Series.

Marchant de Lange of the Nashua Titans, a Test match ‘find’ against Sri Lanka, is again included in the Test squad and will get the chance to show his worth for the first time at T20 International level.

Two stalwarts, Jacques Kallis and Dale Steyn, will be rested for the T20 series but will play in the other two formats.

“Ontong fully deserves this latest call-up,” commented CSA selection convener Andrew Hudson. “He has shown outstanding domestic form this season and I believe he has developed into a more mature cricketer. His finishing ability was a key factor in the Cobras’ success in winning the 1-Day Cup.

“He is the complete limited overs package, being a fine batsman who will strengthen our fielding disciplines and also give us another bowling option.

“We have decided to try out some exciting new options in the T20 squad such as Levi, Ontong and De Lange. There are only 11 matches left in this format before we travel to Sri Lanka for the ICC World Twenty20 and this is really the last chance to explore the talent we have at our disposal.

“Having AB de Villiers fit again for T20 action also gives us a lot more flexibility and better balance.”

Rory Kleinveldt and Dean Elgar, who were both selected for the Sunfoil ODI series against Sri Lanka, could not be considered because of injury.

Proteas’ Castle Lager Test squad: Graeme Smith (Nashua Mobile Cape Cobras, capt), AB de Villiers (Nashua Titans, vice-capt), Hashim Amla (Sunfoil Dolphins), Mark Boucher (Nashua Mobile Cape Cobras), Marchant de Lange (Nashua Titans), JP Duminy (Nashua Mobile Cape Cobras), Imran Tahir (Sunfoil Dolphins), Jacques Kallis (Nashua Mobile Cape Cobras), Morne Morkel (Nashua Titans), Alviro Petersen (bizhub Highveld Lions), Robin Peterson (Nashua Mobile Cape Cobras), Vernon Philander (Nashua Mobile Cape Cobras), Jacques Rudolph (Nashua Titans), Dale Steyn (Nashua Mobile Cape Cobras), Lonwabo Tsotsobe (Chevrolet Warriors).

Proteas’ Castle Lager ODI squad: AB de Villiers (Nashua Titans, capt), Hashim Amla (Sunfoil Dolphins, vice-capt), Johan Botha (Chevrolet Warriors), JP Duminy (Nashua Mobile Cape Cobras), Faf du Plessis (Nashua Titans), Jacques Kallis (Nashua Mobile Cape Cobras), Albie Morkel (Nashua Titans), Morne Morkel (Nashua Titans), Justin Ontong (Nashua Mobile Cape Cobras), Wayne Parnell (Chevrolet Warriors), Robin Peterson (Nashua Mobile Cape Cobras), Graeme Smith (Nashua Mobile Cape Cobras), Dale Steyn (Nashua Mobile Cape Cobras), Lonwabo Tsotsobe (Chevrolet Warriors).

Proteas’ T20 squad: AB de Villiers (Nashua Titans, capt), Hashim Amla (Sunfoil Dolphins, vice-capt), Johan Botha (Chevrolet Warriors), Marchant de Lange (Nashua Titans), JP Duminy (Nashua Mobile Cape Cobras), Colin Ingram (Chevrolet Warriors), Richard Levi (Nashua Mobile Cape Cobras), Albie Morkel (Nashua Titans), Morne Morkel (Nashua Titans), Justin Ontong (Nashua Mobile Cape Cobras), Wayne Parnell (Chevrolet Warriors), Robin Peterson (Nashua Mobile Cape Cobras), Rusty Theron (Chevrolet Warriors), Lonwabo Tsotsobe (Chevrolet Warriors).

26 Responses to Proteas Squad for T20’s, ODI’s and Test’s in New Zealand announced

IS there be anyone left in SA that can play cricket? – If so, please report to the CSA urgently. Currently age isn’t of concern. Your skills desperately required!

Well I hope that we go and slaughter the NZers!!

I know AB is still a bit all over the place with his captaincy but i really like what I saw in the series against Sri Lanka.

He is just such a fighter and that has been something that has been lacking in the Proteas. almost since the days Hansie was captain. we need that killer instinct.

@ Tripples:We should easily slaughter them! I hear that young Van Wyk may be chosen as NZ wicket keeper (although he is not so young any more, he just looks it!)

I see that Biff has been left out of the T20 squad completely, Levi come in. Some really positive moves happening here. Looks like they are really building for the future, with a good mix of young and old. My only criticism is, I would like to have seen another w/k in the test squad – for the future

Yep, we have so many cricketers in other international teams!!! just look at the souties 🙂

Eish I feel some sleep deprivation coming on….. the times are not going to be nice for us Saffa’s

SA Team Fixtures New Zealand (SA TIME)

February
    17 T20 Westpac Stadium Wellington 08h00
    19 T20 Eden Park, Auckland 08h00
    22 T20 Seddon Park, Hamilton 08h00
    25 ODI Westpac Stadium, Wellington 03h00
    29 ODI McLean Park, Napier 03h00

March
    3 ODI Eden Park, Auckland 03h00
    7 Test University Oval, Dunedin 23h30
    15 Test Seddon Park, Hamilton 23h30
    23 Test Basin Reserve, Wellington 23h30

Fokkie Krieket… dis amper rugbytyd…. hehehe

@ Tripples:You’re right, a serious lack of sleep coming up – and in the middle of harvest, eish.

6 @ Tripples:
    O jinne, ek sien kak kom… en hierdie is nie modderwatertjies nie.

Handbriekie gaan my nie donner nie, sy gaan my met ‘n bazzooka skiet, my aandetes vir die honde voer, “Gunste en Gawetjies” weerhou vir maande, my laat skottelgoed was (wel sy gaan probeer), weier om met my te praat….. en dan gaan sy wat oor is van my uit die huis uitsluit!

GBS al wat my man gedoen het was om my neer te sit en krieket verduidelik het…..dit was toe ons die eerste keer weer in die wereld beker kon deelneem. ek het glad nie van krieket gehou nie maar toe hy dit eers vir my verduidelik het was ek hooked!!!!! dit was ook in NZ of Aus gewees, kan nie onthou nie, ek was so erg dat ek in die nagte opgesit het om te kyk terwyl hy lekker le en slaap hahaha

10 @ Tripples:
    Ja, dit was in Aussie daai tyd.

Ongelukkig is my vrou nie sportmal nie, maar gelukkig is sy darem mal oor my, so sy hou maar uit met my rugby, krieket, gholf en dies meer.

Sy neem darem saam met my deel aan rusbankstoei!

Have been wondering about why Richard Levi wasn’t in one squad against Sri Lanka and didnt get round to asking you guys who may have seen more of him why he wasn’t in the team, so its good to see him in the T20 squad sounds like he is tailor made for 20 overs cricket – hard hitting fast scoring opening batsman.

Is Graeme Smith out yet?

Almost pleasantly surprised to see Johan Botha in the ODI & T20 squads… he was snubbed in the Sri Lanka Series.

13 @ Loosehead:
    Yip, out of the T20 squad….

15@ grootblousmile:
    There you go, my theory has been proved.

Also of note is the emission of Prince from the Test Side, as well as Ingram from the one day side

16 @ Loosehead:
    Your theory?

The Theory of Relative Biffendippity?

17 @ Just For Kicks:
    Glad Prince did not make it!

12@ Bullscot:Interesting about Levi. He has a one day batting ave of 53 for the last year (9 matches), and a T20 ave of 43. (Ontong is 73 and 11 respectively). He has a strike rate of 123 in the one day arena and 147 in T20’s. He scored 1 x 100 and 2 x 50’s in last years series, and most interestingly scored 21 x 6’s in 9 matches in the odi’s (40 x 4’s).

So quite what is is that has seen him left out I am not sure – apart from Smith, of course.

I do think that based on the T20 series in NZ, we will see him promoted to the ODI squad for the next series.

Those stats from this season look quite good, have never seen Levi play so didn’t know much about him but been keeping an eye on his stats for the last couple of seasons and noted that he was doing well with a high strike rate and thought he should have made his international debut a while ago, the number of boundaries you list is most impressive!

3@ Just For Kicks:
    Thats an interesting observation about Kruger v Wyk, just this past Sunday saw that he was in the New Zealand XI that was playing Zimbabwe and was quite surprised as I didn’t realize he was in NZ and must have been there for long enough to qualify. He played up here a while ago as one of the clubs overseas pros, think it was for Mannofield not sure if it was only there or whether he turned out for Dyce as well, anyway saw one of the local boys I was playing cricket with back then wearing the pale blue Titans shirt and wondered where he got it, turned out he told me his sister was dating Kruger and he gave him the shirt. Talking about v Wyks and ‘keepers what has happened to Morne, a while ago it looked like he would do well for SA but don’t think he was given enough chance in the team? His stats for the 1 day cup look quite good.

Just seen England bowled out in their second innings for 72 Rehman 5 wickets and Ajmal 3 wickets. England just can’t play spin, awful, for the supposed no.1 team in the world

Ian Botham “England were taken to the cleaners!”

Sorry, Rehman took 6 for 25

Cricket? So Graeme Smith is out already?

Total 33 users including 0 member, 33 guests, 0 bot online