South African Rugby coach Peter de Villiers says that he will re-apply for the Springbok coaching position after his contract expires next month.

De Villiers created confusion after the Springboks were knocked out of the Rugby World Cup when he said that his time with the Springboks had come to an end.

However on arival back in South Africa he denied that he had resigned and said that the Rugby World Cup loss was the last fixture for the Springboks in his contract period.

“When I signed in 2008 I signed until the end of 2011, I always knew that, so it had to be the end of the road for me in terms of what I was contracted to do,” De Villiers told SuperSport

“To me there was no confusion, and I don’t see myself as fighting with anybody – I was contracted for four years, and the four years is now over. I always knew that would be the case. ”

“My attitude has always been that no-one has the right to be Bok coach, that it is a caretaker position. ”

“After December I am not Bok coach anymore. That is not a problem to me, that was always going to be the case.

“There were no more games for the Boks this year after the quarterfinal, so as far as the public were concerned, the World Cup quarterfinal was the end of my stint as Bok coach. That is what I was trying to say.”

Since then there has been much speculation over who should coach the Springboks but most of the top candidates have already ruled themself out of the running with the exception of Western Province and Stormers coach Allister Coetzee who is considered by most to be the favourite.

After leading the Springboks for four years De Villiers says that he still has the credentials to continue if the South African Rugby Union want him to.

“Not winning the World Cup makes me feel like there is unfinished business, that the story isn’t finished, ” he told SuperSport.

“So if they call for applications for the Springbok job I will definitely apply for it. Why not? ”

“I have enjoyed doing the job and it was a privilege for me to serve my country.”

“If I apply and my application is not accepted that is fine, I will accept what is good for South African rugby and move on. The next coach will have my full support.”

De Villiers said that his desire to continue as Springbok coach has been heightened as the Springboks exited the Rugby World Cup earlier than expected.

“I don’t want to make excuses. We got knocked out and as I said when we got back from overseas, a quarterfinal defeat wasn’t good enough and we failed the nation. ”

“But what was so frustrating was that we appeared to be peaking at the right time, and there was still room for further growth. I feel the story has been left unfinished,” he said.

“I made a lot of mistakes along the way, but you learn from those mistakes, and I believe that I have learned sufficiently that if I was to get a chance to do it again, I wouldn’t make those same mistakes again.

“When you first take the job there is so much that is new, there is so much you have to get used to in terms of international rugby and the Springbok culture.”

“I believe I have something to offer, but that would be up to Saru to decide.”

“I am just saying I am available and will apply for the job if applications are asked for. I love serving my country.”

18 Responses to Snor to re-apply for Bokke job

Wat moet mens sê as mens die tipe kak lees…

Fok (yip, not flok)… he just does’nt want to go quietly, does he….

As long as they give him a false reply address to send the application in to, I don’t mind too much. If SARU are clever, they will use the Boswell and Wilkie address, if he got the job there, neither he, nor anyone else would notice for at least 4 years. He could jump for the ring master, be ignored by the main act, and dance to the other clowns. The only chance of being fired would be through a cannon, and the only flames he would have to put out would be the ones in the candles at the end of the evening.

2 @ Just For Kicks:
    I can see you and me drowning, litterally, in a barrell of Edelvrot… the visions are very vivid!

The-Incredible-Hulk

We’ll need something stronger than that, I’d like to suggest Witblits, but that may be too politically incorrect!

4 @ Just For Kicks:
    I have a few bottles of Doringdraad Mampoer left…. it’s only 80% proof… hehehe

Hahaha, it took Graham Hernry 8 YEARS and a lenient REF to get to Godlike status……… Hahaha.
    10 times rather Divvie than that Fake AC, fark of FOK soos GBS se, net nie fokin dit nie. Div is at least entertaining.

GBBliksem(smile vervang) jis ou amper by 36 000 GO you good thing, moet se die site is nog GREAT. Keep it up.

7 @ superBul:
    Ja, moer amper by 36 000

Sal dit maar los vir more…

just saw the new kit designed by canterbury for the 7’s team!!!
    flokkit, ek het lanklaas so lekker gelag!! daai donner wat daai kit ontwerp het, is beslis op tik!!

bliksem, gou-gou weer na daai pic gaan loer en my weer des moers gelag!!
    btw,
    die een speler lyk of hy “cameltoe” wys
    en
    die 2de speler lyk of jy bly is om die cameltoe te sien!! Weary
    ai ai ai!!

@ Ashley:The only other person I know who wears his underpants on the outside is superman!

Like a turd that don’t want to flush. Turning, turning, turning in the flush just to pop-up again.

Ag man you guys! The Boks are meant to have idiots coach them. Its part of a very dark and deep conspiracy between the IRB and the rest of the world controlling SARU. Hoskins and co are all on the IRB payroll. Making sure we are never properly coached and managed! ;)With all the talent in our player pool, imagine how one-sided our tests would be. Look at 2007 WC when Eddie (not Jake) was coaching us. He was a rebel who then quietly slipped through the IRB’s fingers and then got banished to Japan. The IRB also made sure the Boks could not win the WC, by staging it in NZ (the only place where the kiwi’s can win it), appointing Divvie and paying Brycie. Making sure the 50 people in Aus watching rugby don’t lose interest in union, as would the rest of the world! Hahaha!

Div’ we all know that your skin is thicker than a honey badger’s, and that your brain is not quite as big as one’s either, even more so after the lobotomy, but PLEASE, do the honourable thing, and just forget about re-applying.

I don’t know who should be appointed, but I do know that there is nobody that just makes sense.

I say give the position to Jimmy Stonehouse.

If the newspapers down here are anything to go by, it seems that the SARU discussion about Snor at Fridays meeting was short and sweet – it went something like this……”No chance”.

Subject closed

jfk (or his ghost)

Have I been unconscious since November? Is today 1 April 2012? Have we all been conned by an April Fool’s joke?

The problem with the “Peter Principal” is that the individual in the story can’t see that he does not cut the mustard. I am sorry to see that all the other good coaches besides Alister have said they won’t be available. I….with a lot of thought going into this….have one thing to say only. If you aren’t happy with the results of the new coach, then keep your mouth’s shut also “shame on you”, if you have the talent and ability you should be making yourself available for the job. If politics interferes you are duty bound to all lovers of the sport to do your level best to see that nothing but the right stuff goes into the team. If you can’t convince SARU of the error of their ways, then so be it….but you will sleep easier as an old man one day knowing that you “made the effort”. Come on Heyneke, Mallett et al make the effort.

Total 34 users including 0 member, 34 guests, 0 bot online