The South African Rugby Union (SARU) will approach a shortlist of preferred candidates in the process to appoint a Springbok coach, the Executive Council of SARU announced on Thursday.

SA Rugby

The shortlist will be prepared by the Executive Council (Exco) against identified criteria to fulfil the demanding requirements of the role.

“This is the most important decision we have to make as SARU and appointing the best man for the job is critical,” said Jurie Roux, chief executive officer of SARU. “The skills and qualities required by a Springbok coach are confined to only a small number of potential candidates.

“Once a shortlist of those available candidates has been identified, the Exco has the freedom to call on outside expertise for final selection. The appointment will then go for ratification by the General Council.”

Roux confirmed that Peter de Villiers would be on the shortlist as the incumbent Springbok coach. He said that the Exco hoped to confirm an appointment by early in the New Year.

14 Responses to P Divvy on Bok coach shortlist

Go Divvy.

Wys hulle.

Bokke Bo.

Ja Jurie… jy’s ook maar in ‘n Baberkompetisie gevang… net soos Snormonstertjie.

I see the bookies are touting Snor & White as candidates for the England job…. hehehe. Would it not be terribly funny if Snor, who can hardly speak English is appointed as England coach…. ek sweer ek lag my gat af as hy dit kry!

Wel, Snor weet f@kol van rugby af en hy was Bok afrigter. So om Engels te kan praat in Engeland beteken ook niks. Glo ook darem nie dat hy die job daar sal kry nie.

3 @ Rugbyprof:
    Janee, baie van daai Ingelse in Ingeland praat ook maar kak Ingels…

I just get a hollow feeling inside when I see a headline like this. Well….seeing that representation on the basis of ones skin colour is bound to be one of the “important criteria”…I demand that we get a full blood Zulu. I have had enough of the Zulu’s being discriminated against by the Xhosa’s who are the majority of members in the ruling party. I might just settle for a Zulu/Settler hybrid….as long as the Settler is from Natal!!! Shout Devil Conceited

Just booked my flight and car for the sevens in PE.

Should be a good weekend of Rugger and Beer, and probably a bit of wind and golf on Sunday before flying back.

6 @ Scrumdown:
    Lekker man… suppose I have to hurry up with the Accreditation thingy!

7@ grootblousmile:
    Either / Or.

Going anyway so it’s almost irrelevant, it would be nice to sit in semi-comfort for some of the time and also have access to the players and coaches though.

So, as my AO1 used to say, “roer jou g@t”!

Yay

Look, if we looked at overall stats, PDV, actually didn’t do too badly, with him being the 4th best coach since 1994 in terms of winning percentage (62.5%).

But, should we as a rugby supporting and loving nation accept this? I feel the Bokke winning percentage should be up there in the 80’s, and never going below 70%. Does PDV have the ability to better 62.5%?

10 @ Lion4ever:
    Compare his stats for the last 2 years to the rest of the International coaches, and suddenly he sinks to just over 50%… placing him along the likes of England, Scotland.. and those teams.

He inherited a World Champion side… and dragged us down to 4th place… below France.

I do not want him near the Bokke again, simple as that!

In fact here is P Divvy’s overall record.

Year Played Won Lost Winning Percentage
    2008… 13……. 9….. 4…… 69.2%
    2009… 12……. 8….. 4…… 66.7%
    2010… 14……. 8….. 6…… 57.1%
    2011…. 9…….. 5….. 4…… 55.5%

Overall winning percentage over 4 years – 62.5%
    Overall winning percentage for 1st 2 years – 68%
    Overall winning percentage for the last 2 years – 56.5%

Every year it went worse than the year before, a clear downward spiral, the last year comparing with Martin Johnson’s stats at England…

Remember, these stats include games against Italy, Namibia, Samoa, Fiji… take those natural wins away and what are you left with?

11@ grootblousmile:
    oi “…along the likes of Scotland..” you may just the ruin the friendship, now if you had said something along the lines of Scotland who have nowhere near the same player base and relatively speaking are very good, it may have been ok Disapproval Wink

Total 15 users including 0 member, 15 guests, 0 bot online