Read this on News 24, think it is hysterical!!!!!

Wellington – New Zealand rugby referee Bryce Lawrence on Wednesday said he won’t officiate in South Africa if he fears for his safety after his performance at last month’s Rugby World Cup quarter-final between the Springboks and Australia.

Lawrence’s control of the October 9 quarter-final, won 11-9 by Australia to end South Africa’ reign as world champion, was strongly criticized by Springboks players, coaching staff and fans.

Retiring Springboks captain John Smit said “the one positive (of retirement) is that I won’t ever have to be reffed by him again” and a South African fan began a Facebook campaign entitled “Petition To Stop Bryce Lawrence Ever Reffing A Rugby Game Again.”

“I’m not totally concerned,” Lawrence told Radio Sport. “I know a lot of other people like the New Zealand Rugby Union and SANZAR do have some serious concerns.

“In all honesty I’m not going to go over there if there’s any personal threat or I have concerns about my safety because in the end it’s a job, I know that, and also it’s just a sport so I’m not going to put myself at risk.”

Lawrence said he had thought about his performance in the quarter-final every day since the match and accepts he made errors.

“My quarter-final performance created a lot of negative reaction in South Africa, pretty hostile, very personal, very harsh,” he said. “Also, on the flipside of that, I got a lot of really strong positive support from rugby people in New Zealand and around the world who probably know me a little bit more than the people in South Africa and were feeling for me during that time.

“… I was disappointed with some aspects in my own performance that day after refereeing four really pretty strong games in pool play. I’m not blaming anyone for the quarterfinal refereeing display apart from myself. I didn’t referee as well as I could.”

Lawrence said he recognised he would be punished for his performance.

“Look there has been some pretty clear consequences from my quarter-final display,” he said. “I’m not going to be refereeing Six Nations next year.

“They can say that means I’m rested but in reality I accept that one of the consequences of my performance is that I’m not going to be doing Six Nations.”

10 Responses to Lawrence ‘scared’ of Bok fans

Here are some of the comments on the article….so funny:

Michael – November 16, 2011 at 08:23 Report comment
    there is no way he’ll ever come to SA again, not even for a Super Rugby game. I’m sure some die-hard Bok fans will be waiting at the airport to jeer him!!!

Fred – November 16, 2011 at 08:44 Report comment
    I think what happened when Bryce Lawrence watched the video, is that he not only saw how biased his reffing was, but also that it was done so badly that it couldn’t even be blamed on bad reffing. I don’t blame him for being scared to come here, and the only thing I can’t understand is that he is still a ref. he should be fired, despite his dad’s influence.

Go – November 16, 2011 at 08:45 Report comment
    Cry us a river you chop. you should not be reffing anywhere in the world. Go look for sympathy somewhere else.

Jason – November 16, 2011 at 09:00 Report comment
    Learn to ref properly then you won’t have this problem twat!!!

frangelico – November 16, 2011 at 09:03 Report comment
    No wonder you are so loved in New Zealand,if you did your JOB fairly
    the outcome would have been different,they know it you know it we
    know it.You are a disgrace as a REFEREE.I hope that the powers that
    be will decline your services at proffesional level let you only referee
    school level rugby.As for your reluctance to officiate at any top notch
    matches in South Africa am quite sure many are waiting for you,but
    not for the reason you think palooka.They only want to have a pie
    throwing contest.

VusiMabaso – November 16, 2011 at 09:10 Report comment
    He better not come here Rene. I am gunning for him with my Zulu spear!!!!!

Chris – November 16, 2011 at 07:50 Report comment
    We don’t want to kill you fool, we just want to kill your career.
    3595 Reply to Chris | 4 comments (hide)

Dhirshan – November 16, 2011 at 07:58 Report comment
    nah, we wanna kill him . . . lol

Blue – November 16, 2011 at 08:59 Report comment
    how about just slapping him around a little? lol

Robert – November 16, 2011 at 09:28 Report comment
    @ Blue, I’d prefer ‘a lot’ !!!

Anthony – November 16, 2011 at 11:00 Report comment
    please come oh please come…….

Lionel – November 16, 2011 at 07:51 Report comment
    Come on Brycie…………Piet van Zyl is looking at coming out of retirement and he’s looking for a opponent….. and you know what…..you are just perfect!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    2454 Reply to Lionel

Burtfred – November 16, 2011 at 07:52 Report comment
    Mr Lawrence, you shouldn’t be reffing anything in future, let alone 6 nations games.
    “I got a lot of really strong positive support from rugby people in New Zealand” – well of course you did, you helped them not lose the cup they all wanted so badly.
    2398 Reply to Burtfred

BlouMasjien – November 16, 2011 at 07:54 Report comment
    “I got a lot of really strong positive support from rugby people in New Zealand ” Natuurlik sal hulle jou ondersteun, jy het NZ die beker help wen!
    1475 Reply to BlouMasjien

David – November 16, 2011 at 07:54 Report comment
    awe…. no worries Bryce you can always settle in Australia……. they must love you there….by the way you cost us the WORLD CUP you P@#$K. oh well I guess this is as close as we come to an apology…pretty empty !
    1231 Reply to David | 1 comment (hide)

David – November 16, 2011 at 11:40 Report comment
    Not only that. He cost us a place on the world rankings!!

Van – November 16, 2011 at 07:54 Report comment
    Teer en veer hom. It is only a game!
    620 Reply to Van

RockChick – November 16, 2011 at 07:57 Report comment
    Idiot… you have a “kom moer my” face irrespective of your bad refereeing…
    1053 Reply to RockChick

Christiaan – November 16, 2011 at 07:58 Report comment
    Wil sy gat vol ou skoene skop, bly waar jy is drol.
    720 Reply to Christiaan

Dhirshan – November 16, 2011 at 07:59 Report comment
    we were the only tem capable of downing nz in their own back yard and were robbed of the opportunity to test that theory. a nz/sa semi wouldv been epic and we wouldv probably edged them . . .
    964 Reply to Dhirshan | 2 comments (hide)

James – November 16, 2011 at 11:36 Report comment
    Could have, should have, would have…. suddenly the bokkies are a force to be reckoned with…. Results speak a lot louder than wishfull thinking and unfortunately the boks have been the whipping boys of the southern hemisphere for the last 2 years !!! No doubt you guys will be back with a vengeance, but really thinking that you were the best in 2011 is absolutely rubbish !!!

Grant – November 16, 2011 at 12:42 Report comment
    @James – if you knew anything about rugby (which you clearly do not), you would realise that World Cup rugby is a different game altogether. Shame…

Alan – November 16, 2011 at 08:00 Report comment
    C’mon Brycie – If Prof Noakes is correct about match fixing ….. you should be able to hire a lot of bodyguards. Seems like the 16th All Black player has turned All Yellow.
    991 Reply to Alan

Ian – November 16, 2011 at 08:01 Report comment
    Be afraid…..Be very afraid
    982 Reply to Ian | 1 comment (hide)

Robert – November 16, 2011 at 09:28 Report comment
    Yep !!!

Gungets – November 16, 2011 at 08:04 Report comment
    Bryce, Bryce, Bryce – if you don’t ref in South Africa again it is because you are too unfit and slow, and that you have no clue about critical facets of the game, such as the recesses of the front row. Be honest with yourself – you won’t be selected. Even the influence of your dad and his mate Paddy O’Brien is not going to make yuo a decent ref – so admit your shortcomings, go back to teaching. It is the right thing to do.
    1010 Reply to Gungets

gawie.nieuwoudt – November 16, 2011 at 08:09 Report comment
    You should be scared ! You are pathetic ! Get another Job! Like a cabdriver! As for sympathy from NZ Fans, I do’nt think so, I was there, they all think you are pathetic! In SA Malema will win a popularity contest handsdown against you!
    1091 Reply to gawie.nieuwoudt | 1 comment (hide)

khanyib1 – November 16, 2011 at 08:20 Report comment
    lol…good one gawie!

Jose – November 16, 2011 at 08:14 Report comment
    A coward on top of all you did . Admit not mistakes but on purpose . You obviously with others help made sure you would win the cup . I R B should resign for this .
    540 Reply to Jose

Theprodigy – November 16, 2011 at 08:18 Report comment
    we will boo him off the park…just like the NZers did to other teams during the WC, He won’t come here, that I guarantee you.
    380 Reply to Theprodigy

david.j.payle – November 16, 2011 at 08:20 Report comment
    No man Bryce!! I had a braai (ass whipping) & biltong (moerse klap) prepared for you and everything!! Come on son!!
    480 Reply to david.j.payle

marazor – November 16, 2011 at 08:21 Report comment
    “it’s just a sport” … that’s where you got it wrong…
    592 Reply to marazor | 1 comment (hide)

Michele – November 16, 2011 at 09:49 Report comment
    Indeed – huge money and national pride at stake. Rugby is a business, not just a sport.

gaeleen – November 16, 2011 at 08:21 Report comment
    well aimed tackle should take him out, substitute ref can take his place
    330 Reply to gaeleen

George – November 16, 2011 at 08:21 Report comment
    Shame Bryce, the Aussie cricket team were going to ask you to change sporting codes to officiate in the next test against the Proteas.
    462 Reply to George

Kosie – November 16, 2011 at 08:24 Report comment
    the worst of it is it wasn’t only that game,it was also the sharks vs sader game that you blew crap.you’re a biased peace of s#!t, come we are waiting for you….
    460 Reply to Kosie | 1 comment (hide)

Bryce should just harden the fluck up.

““Also, on the flipside of that, I got a lot of really strong positive support from rugby people in New Zealand and around the world”
    you mean paddy o’brien and the irb? no need to tell us that … we know!!

I would travel to any stadium in SA to see the reaction from the crowd if Brycie was the ref, it would be something to behold, I am sure, and something that I would find extremely entertaining. I am always up for a good laugh – imagining Oom Piet chasing him down the halfway line would be worth it’s weight in gold. We could declare a national holiday and call it Brycie Day, and coin a new phrase perfected by Oom Piet – the “Brycie Bounce”

5@ Just For Kicks:
    At least Booooolands would be full.

@ Loosehead:And just imagine all that gnashing of no front teeth!

bryce jou ou PISSIE

can you imagine him running around
    Cry-Out Cry
    on the field, and then……the fear sets in…..
    Afraid

What a poor reaction from a coward, he has more chance of being killed by an earthquake in New Zealand than he has of even being touched in South Africa. But getting jeered is another thing, he will forever be jeered by Bok fans everywhere. A clear case of the Peter Principal….the man is not big enough for the job.

Total 46 users including 0 member, 46 guests, 0 bot online