I have been pondering the possibility of the Springboks being able to win this world cup, and after having seen the amount of criticism they have received (which is par for the course) I started to falter in my belief.

I prefer to read opinions on my team from sources outside of South Africa simply because your own press tends to be biased and do not provide an objective view on sports. So stuff.co.nz, the New Zealand Herald and The Australian are my preferred reading material.It does take a lot of guts to listen to some of the overly biased pundits on these websites because as our pundits are biased towards us, these guys are even worse. There is little diplomacy or tact in the way they can criticise another team and they manage to rile their supporters into quite a frenzy at times.

This was clearly evident after the Samoa test where many comments were rather nasty towards South Africa.

Anyway through all this electronic information, every now and again you read something that makes you think.

I got a totally different perspective from reading this comment on the New Zealand herald.

Ybgur Noinu (Dunedin)
03:48 PM Tuesday, 4 Oct 2011
As Peter de Villiers explained, the Springboks were aware of the over robust play of the Samoans and decided to kick possession back at the Samoans after half time, so that the Springboks were no longer targets of the head high tackles. It was a ploy to keep the injury rate down.

Any one with brains can see that this is exactly what the Springboks did. They were in no danger of losing the match because if they wished they could have gone back into the tight mauls, kept possesion, forced penalties and scrums got the three pointers if their lead were threatened. They did just enough to win – in fact they did not even need to win anyway.

The Samoans played like desperados and were given possession purposely by the Boks, but could only score one try – off a knock-on. An actual try by the Boks was not given because of lack of evidence. Stop knocking the Springboks – their discipline had been good so far and they have played some real power rugby, which they can turn on in an instance. No one wants to admit it, but they are actually the team to beat.
This started to make me think that perhaps there are quite a number of pundits and posters alike that have missed a trick from the south Africans

What if:
Pieter de Villiers and his cohorts have used the pool matches as their preparation for the knock out rounds. As we all know the controversial Rustenburg saga has precluded the first choice players from playing some of the away matches of the Tri Nations.

What are the most important factors form a springbok point of view for retaining their trophy?

Defence:
Well they have been severely tested by Samoa and Wales in that department having made in excess of 300 tackles in those two matches.

Attack:
With both Wales and Samoa having very well organised defensive systems and being rather strong in the physical stakes, they had to execute well on attack to win these two matches, making 3 clean breaks, 12 defenders beaten and 15 offloads with the little possession they had. In my opinion it shows how clinical they were in finishing off the few opportunities they had.

In contrast to Wales and Samoa it seems they used the two test matches against Fiji and Namibia to hone their attacking skills making 11 clean breaks, 55 defenders beaten and 35 offloads. Granted neither Fiji or Namibia was really up to the task, but it could still be seen as a full contact practice run at worst.

Discipline:
They have shown to be the most disciplined team in the pool rounds of all the top teams and strangely were more penalised in attack than in defence, which tells me they handled the pressure in a very disciplined manner.

Goal kicking:
Morne Steyn has thus far been one of the stand out kickers during the tournament.

Matchday 22:
I think it is pretty clear who are the best 22 in the springboks squad, but for a few selection issues with John Smit and Bismarck du Plessis, Danie Rossouw and Bakkies Botha, and perhaps Francois hougaard and Fourie du Preez.

Impact subs:
South Africa have been able to test their bench during this time and I would be quite confident to say that in Bismarck du Plessis, Francois Hougaard, Willem Alberts and Beast Mtwarira we most likely have the best impact from the bench of all the teams.

So as much as I listen to the critics from all over the world, it is just maybe a case of everyone outside the camp missing a trick of what has been transpiring inside the springbok squad over the past few weeks.

Either that, or I am just blowing smoke up my own back side.

24 Responses to RWC: Springboks, have the pundits missed a trick?

How could a man called “biltongbek” ever speak shyte. A bek that appreciates biltong has to know what it’s talking about.

good to see you appreciate biltong, now seeing that this is my 47th birthday today who’s buying?

Daai bek kort jam saam met die biltong! Lekker artikel BB!!!

This makes perfect sense to me. before the match I was dreaming about the Bks moering Samoa 100 – zip and when my dreams didn’t materialise, I was disappointed. However on closer reflection I realise that the boks had a different goal. That was to get through the match with as little damage as possible. From the kick-off I had noticed that the Boks were not as fired up as I was expecting, but that was my, the armchair fan’s expectation and not their objective. Whipping Samoa would have gained the Boks nothing.
    What this makes me realise is that the Boks have come a long way in the maturity and discipline stakes. Maybe it’s got something to do with all those experienced players in the team, hey.

The only bad thing about positive articles like this, is that it gets one’s hopes up and then if things go pear shaped, one is shit disappointed.

Hapy, Happy Biltonge!

Flok, ons is ewe oud…. ek wen jou met so amper ‘n maand!

Geez you guys are outoppies. No wonder you don’t understand me when i speak Wink

8 @ The_Young_Turk:
    Oud maar nog nie koud nie!

We old toppies are here to teach the young guns just exactly how to do things in life!

Ha Ha, just kidding bru. i’m actually a few months older than you, he hee!

That is a very interesting comment in the article. But then will the Bokke be able to play for the full 80 minutes in the play offs?

NZ Herald….”the Boks are the team to beat”….thats all very nice, but they are just trying to deflect pressure from their own boys….24 years and the clock is ticking….we will see after the fat lady is finished!

Great article BB. One of the best I’ve read in a while. You’ve got me thinking with this one that’s for sure.

O yes. Happy birthday mate. I’ve got two years one you but I know understand why the stuff you write make sense to me. Also impressive Enlish language skills you’ve got for a bloke born and raised during the height of the Apartheid years.

The Springbok team announcement will now be made at 8pm tonight (live on SuperSport Blitz).

I would just like to categorically state that the vintage of 1964 is the best vintage ever hahahaha being that I am also one although BB and GBS are waaaaay older than I am as my bday is in December!!!! Happy belated birthday Biltongbek!!!!

Happy-Birthday

McLook wrote:

O yes. Happy birthday mate. I’ve got two years one you but I know understand why the stuff you write make sense to me. Also impressive Enlish language skills you’ve got for a bloke born and raised during the height of the Apartheid years.

[Translate]

Thanks mate, kind words.

Well I growed up wif lots of english tail frends and have been speeking it for a tall time now.

My favirite past time is taking my double walking hail gun and killing pigins dead.

Oh and thanks for all the presents, beer and cake, it was delicious. Angry

toemaar BB darrem kan jy rustig voel in die wete dat jy van die beste oesjaar is hahaha 1964!!!!

Got to disagree with you guys. ’63 was a better vintage

1963-Ford-Cortina-Estate

nope, don’t agree.

I second the ’64 vintage as the best. It is known and proven categorically by all scientists on earth.

@ biltongbek:

That is just a whole lot of awesomeness hahahaha

Total 57 users including 0 member, 57 guests, 0 bot online