South African Super Rugby Franchises
Bulls

Stormers

Cheetahs

The Sharks

Southern Kings - button

Click on any of the pictures to go to that franchise

RWC: Georgia winger cops a heavy 5 week ban!

Georgia winger Lekso Gugava was on Monday suspended for five weeks after being found guilty of making a ‘dangerous tip tackle’ in his team’s final World Cup pool game against Argentina.

Gugava was cited by Independent Citing Commissioner Achille Reali from broadcast footage of the match, won by the Pumas 25-7 in Palmerston North on Sunday.

The suspension takes effect immediately and Gugava is free to resume playing on November 8

19 comments to RWC: Georgia winger cops a heavy 5 week ban!

1. grootblousmile
    October 3rd, 2011 at 10:15 SAST

Mmmmm, I did not see the tackle….

… but let me say this, Paul Williams was RED CARDED for a blatant punch on Heinrich Brussow and the Citing Commissioner let him off scott-free… and this oke gets 5 weeks?

Where’s the consistency and the justice?

2. GoBokkeAndIreland
    October 3rd, 2011 at 10:47 SAST

Any word on the dirty, eye-gouging Italian?

3. grootblousmile
    October 3rd, 2011 at 10:48 SAST

2 @ GoBokkeAndIreland:
    Have’nt seen anything on that yet, but yes, that was super kak!

4. Tripples
    October 3rd, 2011 at 10:53 SAST

awful!!! I could not believe he got away with it!!! especially after it was broadcast on the bigscreen at the stadium as well as all over the world!!!!!

5. The_Young_Turk
    October 3rd, 2011 at 10:53 SAST

They just follow the latest directives. If the directives say “crack down on tip tackles”, that’s what they do. If the directives say “crack down on kissing your granny”, expect a 6 week suspension!

6. The_Young_Turk
    October 3rd, 2011 at 10:56 SAST

Am I following you Tripples? or are you following me? Or do we both just have too much spare time on our hands? Happy-Grin

7. GoBokkeAndIreland
    October 3rd, 2011 at 10:56 SAST

You can only imagine how mal I was going – already had a few pints by then! It was disgusting. Hope he gets a long ban from ALL rugby.

8. Tripples
    October 3rd, 2011 at 10:57 SAST

hahahaha I am sooooooooo not interested in working at the mo’ and enjoy talking sh1t much more

9. Tripples
    October 3rd, 2011 at 10:58 SAST

@ Ooh yes, I so agree……sunamabits!!!!!

10. Tripples
    October 3rd, 2011 at 10:59 SAST

#9 was for #7

Wink

11. The_Young_Turk
    October 3rd, 2011 at 10:59 SAST

@ Tripples:
    So tru, the same here. Pleasure

12. Tripples
    October 3rd, 2011 at 11:02 SAST

ok gotta go…..just been handed a rather laaaaarge friggin job, damn!!!!

13. GoBokkeAndIreland
    October 3rd, 2011 at 11:03 SAST

@ Tripples:
    Seemed to be the worst week of the WC as regards dirty play, citings etc?

14. grootblousmile
    October 3rd, 2011 at 11:04 SAST

11 @ The_Young_Turk:
    Commisserations that your Itai’s fell out of RWC.

Did you have a lekker pomp… I mean kuier at “friends” yesterday?

15. grootblousmile
    October 3rd, 2011 at 11:08 SAST

13 @ GoBokkeAndIreland:
    Yip, was a deadly week!

16. GoBokkeAndIreland
    October 3rd, 2011 at 11:14 SAST

Seems to have been the teams scrambling to make it into the next round, or, without anything left to play for.

17. grootblousmile
    October 3rd, 2011 at 11:17 SAST

16 @ GoBokkeAndIreland:
    At the end of the day, the TOP 8 IRB Ranked countries made it through, no surprises.

Just glad the early morning games are now out of the way… no more getting up at 02:00 or 04:00!

Missed a lot of sleep…. hahaha

18. GoBokkeAndIreland
    October 3rd, 2011 at 11:20 SAST

Hahaha – yeah, agree – I did feel a bit bad drinking at that time of the morning.

19. The_Young_Turk
    October 3rd, 2011 at 12:08 SAST

Was moerse disappointed in the Itais hey. But at least the delightful company, food and location made up for it.