The Western Province duo of Rassie Erasmus and Allister Coetzee have declared themselves unavailable for the Springbok coaching job and have no interest in the position at this time.

Erasmus and Coetzee were widely regarded as the frontrunners to take over from Peter de Villiers and become a new coaching team at the helm of the South African side.

Erasmus has been with the team as the technical advisor during the World Cup, but has stated that he only intended to stay with the side for the duration of the tournament and will continue to work as Western Province’s Director of Rugby.

Coetzee – who had a four-year stint with the Boks as one of Jake White’s assistant coaches – has indicated that he has another year to run on his contract with Western Province, which he intends to honour. Therefore, he has made it known that he is unavailable for the job.

21 Responses to Rassie & Allister not interested in Bok job!

Fantastic news. That narrows down the field considerably. It also shows SARU what a poisoned chalice the job is at present unless they change their approach. Hope Meyer doesn’t withdraw too or if he does, SARU can go begging to Mallet as I’m sure they won’t appoint a foreign coach.

Just had a scary thought. What if Snorre is the only one interested in applying for the job!
    OMFG!!!!!

1 @ The_Young_Turk:
    Heyneke Meyer has already indicated he’s not available.

It becomes a question now exactly who IS available… and I’m afraid it leaves us with Snormonstertjie, Tricky Dickie Muir and Gary Glitter… and not much else.

You think SARU will get the message about the poisoned chalice…. I doubt they will.

Fark, I can see myself supporting the Bulls and Blue Bulls only in a while!

2 @ The_Young_Turk:
    Hold on to your hat…. your nightmare might come true!

Only this time he might not have enough experienced players to do the actual coaching….

Ons land se rugby is innie kakkas….

The LOOONG Off-season, would have been a blessing in disguise, for player recouperation…. but now we hear things like Mossie going straight into the Japanese season and then without rest into the Super Rugby Season.

And we do not have coaches of substance who wants to touch the Bokke job with a barge pole.

Remember, apart from a head coach, we need good assistant coaches at the Bokke too… hell if we cannot even find a decent head coach, who will we find as assistant coaches and support staff?

It is a shambles, I tell you.

On the other side of the globe the All Blacks are sitting with a World Crown and coaches begging for the position of assistant to the assistant water bottle carrier.

I’m a man of solutions, that is my every day life, that is what I do…. my mind simply says “Find a solution, make it work!”

So, what is the solution?
    What will make it work?

SARU needs to lay some very fresh ideas on the table, change the platform… adapt… conform… and BEG the Heyneke Meyer / Nick Mallett to apply… and agree to some serious terms as to how they will assist or boost the new coach’s chances and conditions to make it work.

There is no other work-around, the first changes needs to happen within SARU !

So Meyer is also not interested. Maybe this is just a negotiating tactic by these individuals. In other words they don’t want to apply for the job, they want SARU to be the one that approaches them so then they can set their conditions.
    Another possibility is that they appoint Snorre for just another year….

Eggzaggerly!

One of these days we will not say, have you heard the latest Van der Merwe joke, we will say have you heard the latest SARU joke.

The fact that nobody is interested in the SA Rugby head coach position is to me the clearest vote of no confidence in SARU, anybody can muster.

It is saying, SARU you are a bunch of numb-nuts… and I don’t associate with numb-nuts!

Who needs to fall… Hoskins, Johan Babertiet Prinsloo, Andy Marinos, that joke of a Legal man, Ferreira…. ag sommer die hele blerrie spul, secretaries, floor sweepers, messengers… the whole freeging President’s council !

Fire die fokken lot!

Then a man like Johan Rupert needs to step in, or Morne du Plessis… a business man… a strong individual, not a bloody puppet and a travelling circus!

SARU makes the Administration of the Lions under Manie Reyneke look like consumate pro’s!

The is no chance that the present administration will change, so they need to be fired. How can that happen?
    Do you know the names of anyone that has expressed interest in the Bok job?

It would be a dream if Morne Du Plessis would step in but these guys are happy where they are now and don’t want to have to put up with such Shyte. We will need someone who’s prepared to go balls to the wall and fight for our rugby. Go public and fight man. The public and here I include the people of colour want to see winners. They are ready now to put affirmative action behind them.

13 @ The_Young_Turk:
    Jeeeez, I’m so unhappy with SARU and the way they go about our National Interests!

Ek voel of ek hulle bekke kan OOP REK en op hulle harte kan ka-bollie!
    Of dat ek hulle arms kan afruk en hulle met die bloedkant deur die bek kan slaan!
    Of hulle koppe kan inslaan, sodat hulle soos tronkvoëls deur tralies deur hulle eie ribbekaste kan loer!

We deserve so much more as a Rugby Nation!

Wonder what they think about themselves in their ivory towers? Quite happy with themselves?

This means that Gatland can apply.

15 @ Loosehead:
    Gatland is staying with Wales till after RWC 2015

He’s definitely staying with Wales. boet. He’s even ruled out the ABs.

I feel your pain, brutha Crying

18 @ The_Young_Turk:
    I would be a nightmare at a SARU Press Conference at the moment.

First Question I would ask would be: Why are prospective coaches so skittish and what is SARU doing so radically wrong that nobody of substance is even remotely interested in the Springbok coaching position?

Second Question would be: What makes any of the elected SARU officials sleep at night, because it must be potent stuff?

Third Question would be: When can we expect a mass resignation by SARU executive members so that stronger and more capable officials who serve the National Interests can be elected?

…. and that is me just warming up for the difficult questions….

Don’t see anything wrong with those questions. It’s by time that the media regain their original role of holding the powerful to account and not just acting as their stenographers, mate.
    Can you tell me, is it the unions who vote for the SARU executive? And the present administration, are they there because of political pressure?

If it is the unions that voted for these tossers, why did they vote such a pathetic bunch into office?

Total 31 users including 0 member, 31 guests, 0 bot online