Pumas (13) 23 / Cheetahs (7) 29 (Final Score)

The Ford Pumas and the Toyota Free State Cheetahs did battle in Witbank at 19:10 SA Time.

The Toyota Free State Cheetahs trailed for most of the match, with the Ford Pumas rising to the occasion. In the final minutes the Cheetahs scored 2 tries to eventually win by 6 points, earning their bonus point in the process.

Pumas:

• Penalties – Carl Bezuidenhout (3)
  • Tries – Dewald Pretorius (1), Jaco Bouwer (1)
  • Conversions – Carl Bezuidenhout (2)

• Penalties – Sias Ebersohn (1)
  • Tries – Philip van der Walt (1), Marcel van der Merwe (1), Sias Ebersohn (1), Andries Strauss (1)
  • Conversions – Sias Ebersohn (3)

Pumas: 15 MJ Mentz, 14 Wilhelm Loock, 13 JW Jonker, 12 Dewald Pretorius, 11 Johan Jackson, 10 Carl Bezuidenhout, 9 Shaun Venter, 8 Christo le Roux, 7 Jaco Bouwer, 6 Corné Steenkamp (captain), 5 Eduan van der Walt, 4 JP Mostert, 3 Ashley Buys, 2 Pellow van der Westhuizen, 1 Dawie Steyn.
Replacements: 16 Brett Nel, 17 Michael de Neuilly-Rice, 18 RW Kember, 19 Nico Mostert, 20 Hendrik van der Nest, 21 Coenie van Wyk, 22 Siviwe Magaba.

Cheetahs: 15 Hennie Daniller, 14 Ryno Benjamin, 13 Robert Ebersohn, 12 Philip Snyman, 11 Cameron Jacobs, 10 Sias Ebersohn, 9 Piet van Zyl, 8 Ashley Johnson, 7 Philip van der Walt, 6 Pieter Labuschagne, 5 Izak van der Westhuizen, 4 Francois Uys, 3 WP Nel, 2 Adriaan Strauss (captain), 1 Marcel van der Merwe.
Replacements: 16 Hercu Liebenberg, 17 Trevor Nyakane, 18 Wilhelm Steenkamp, 19 Boom Prinsloo, 20 Tewis de Bruyn, 21 Riaan Smit, 22 Andries Strauss.

Referee: Sindile Mayende
Assistant referees: Christie du Preez, Phillip Bosch
TMO: Gerrie Coetzee

103 Responses to Currie Cup: Ford Pumas vs Toyota Free State Cheetahs – Live Game Article

Try Andries Strauss… bonus point

Bonus point try for the staat.

Hard luck Pumas. Not quite enough petrol in the tank, and may not even get a bonus point.

Final Score: Toyota Free State Cheetahs 29 / 23 Ford Pumas

AAAAGH fark the farkin yellow killed the Pumas off, hell this ended a great contest, the Cheetahs were outplayed untill this bloody fool decided to pull his CARD. Why do refs feel they MUST show a yellow to be the MAN?

Surely i picked the State but in all honesty the smaller teams always get the stick, whether it is CC or WC , just ask a Samoan.

Currie Cup play offs still wide open.

A little birdie has told me that Katrkilis is not 100% fit for tomorrows game but that the WP brains trust insisted he must play!

Lions need a win to try and secure a home semi. Let’s hope the youngster breaks down. Hehehehe.

I picked the Lions for a win on Bru… but when I do they always lose…. flok!

… Just as if they want to make my Bru kak on purpose…

Now for the vanishing act on RT, once the game is over , shoosh all gone.

Hope we can get some to stay after the Sunday Boks game, wishful thinking???

The World Cup games for the weekend are already scheduled…. see you in the morning!

Goodnight all. I’m going to hit the sack. Another long day awaits this member of the working class tomorrow, and with the Rugby as well, I need the rest.

Cheers all.

Go the Oirish and English. Smash those Taffy bastids and garlic eating Frogs!

OK let me greet, i am dead tired after a hard day

Flok, ek is bly ek is nie die enigste ene wat moer hard werk nie…. dit laat my sommer grootblousmile….

Looks like this was a close game pity the Pumas didn’t win. I read its make or break Saturday for us Bulls today, don’t know if will have a chance to get on here later so will say early on GO BULLS!

Total 53 users including 0 member, 53 guests, 0 bot online