It was exciting and a close contest and I was as happy as most Aussies with the Reds victory mostly because it moved me up to the top 4% overall on Superbru.

Generally speaking though, I thought it was a rather poor exhibition of how to play finals rugby – by both teams. Not poor rugby but poor finals tactics. Let me explain at hand of the following observations I’ve made while watching the game.

The game changed due to tactical kicking

The first three quarters of the match was essentially movement from side line to side line with none of the teams really winning the breakdown contest. So they kept playing the ball behind the advantage line. So much for running rugby!! Sorry but that was rather boring and pretty stupid tactics to be honest. There were a number of turnovers during this part of the game mostly the Reds being able to get the ball back very quickly every time they lost it.

The Reds kept on spinning the ball wide, moving from touch line to touch line, and only got back into the game when Genia started box kicking…. rather poorly I must say, mostly due to the pressure exerted on him but so much for box kick being outdated!

The Reds only got into the match once they started with tactical kicks. At one stage in the second part of the first half and for most of the second half the Reds kicked more than they ran with the ball. The diagonal cross kick, the box kick, the up and under and the stab through grubbers were on.

Daniel Carter can’t dictate a match

This game was there for the taking but as so many times before Carter just couldn’t take the game by the scruff of the neck and run the show. Bulls’ rugby would have won this game for sure. Put the ball in the corner and play in the opponent’s 22.

The tactical kicking was poor

Both sides opted for the tactical kick when they couldn’t get ascendancy at the breakdowns and that turned the match for the Reds, like I said before, but the kicking was mostly poor. The tactical kicks and line kicking were either to deep, to low or off target. In spite of that it was only by bringing kicking into the game that the match started to take a direction on the scoreboard and in terms of putting teams in position to actually score tries.

All the tries came from kicks

Well sort off, anyway. Carter’s try was the result of a clever grubber by him and both the Reds tries came from poor tactical kicks. The Reds won metres upon metres of field positioning and placed the Crusaders under pressure on a number of occasions with grubbers next to the side line (the Reds blindside flanker, Scott Higginbotham used it very effectively).

The Reds (Aussie) set piece is not bad

The Reds was impressive in the scrum considering that they are supposed to be hopeless in that department. They handled the Crusader scrum a lot better than the Stormers.

The lineout play was generally poor

The Crusaders in particular struggled in the lineout. There were a number of skew throws but they also lost the ball at critical times in the line-out.

A team with a flyhalf or No 9 that can dictate and with a good lineout would have won this match.

Richie McCaw was outplayed

McCaw was outplayed at the breakdown and is clearly not match fit.

This game gave me hope for South Africa and just confirmed for me what most of us have been saying all along. Finals and semi-final matches -in elimination type tournaments- require conservative pressure rugby with a strong set piece (scrum and lineout) and halfbacks who can dictate.

If South Africa can only manage to hold their own in the scrums, we should be fine because we’ve already got the line-out strenght and the halfbacks to win us a semi-final and a final during the World Cup.

I like running rugby as much as the next person but drifting accross the field from touchline to touchline in an attempt to make rugby ‘exciting’, ‘adventurous’ and a ‘spectacle’ is just dumb. This for me is what was missing in this game and if Carter had the ability to read the game better and take full control, the Crusaders could’ve won this match.

Lastly, I am not saying the Reds should have changed their style of rugby and go conservative, after they’ve played an expansive game the whole year. Fact is they had to change their tactics during the game in order to get on top in this game and had the skill and instincts to do what was required and to make a game of it. Lets be honest, they never looked like they were going to score – slinging the ball from sideline to sideline – in the first 30 minutes of the game. Once they started to use the tactical kicking option the defensive lines changed and this created the openings they needed to punch holes and score tries with their exciting backs.

26 Responses to Some thoughts on the Super Rugby final

Hello Mc Look thanks for the match summary, didn’t watch or follow it on the net live just logged later to see the result and the first thing looked for was the number of tries scored, only 3 – so much for the new running spectacular the game has turned into according to some as result of the new laws. Agree when it comes to finals the only rugby that matters is winning rugby and to me rugby is mostly about playing the game well into your opponents half and then the rest follows, yeah maybe you do get the odd move that comes off from running the ball from deep within your half but not much when you’re playing a good team. And thats another question I’d like to ask do you not think the kind of game that panned out was because the teams were quite evenly matched with similar strengths and playing styles and so one was not able to completely dominate? Also how well was the off side line controlled by the ref if not well could this not have cut down space and contributed to the cross field drifting? One of the points you raise is poor lineouts and the issue of the thrower at the lineout messing up, why does this happen in a professional era is it a very difficult thing to do to just throw the ball in correctly at the lineoout? Finally did the Crusaders look like a tired outfit after all their travels?

McLook i fully agree with your article. I was busy writting something similar after a old friend of me said on Facebook, that this is the best Final in 10 years. I totally disagreed, like you said this was a loose game not fitting for a final. The option taking was poor , ref made mistakes…

Bullscot wrote:

the kind of game that panned out was because the teams were quite evenly matched

True, the big matchup between Carter and Cooper was also equal, both did one or two great things but niether controlled the game like McLook said.
    Genia was the guy who outplayed his direct opponent, i can recall 3 incidents where his swift action gave his team the scoring chance.

The Reds used their chances better.

Bullscot wrote:

do you not think the kind of game that panned out was because the teams were quite evenly matched with similar strengths and playing styles and so one was not able to completely dominate? Also how well was the off side line controlled by the ref if not well could this not have cut down space and contributed to the cross field drifting?

Yes that was more or less it I thought. Very similar styles and flat defensive lines and both team contesting fiercely at the tackle area. Both teams played the same game and it required one team to do something different and the team who were best able to adjust it’s game tactics was the Reds in the person of Genia.

The Reds never looked like scoring when they were moving the ball down the line mostly due to the aggressive midfield defense of Fruan and SBW. However when Genia stared to box kick the flat defensive line of the Crusaders had to adjust and that created the openings. The Reds then started to play the game behind the Crusaders defensive line and that created pressure and some poor tactical kicks which culminated in tries.

Bullscot wrote:

how well was the off side line controlled by the ref if not well could this not have cut down space and contributed to the cross field drifting?

The defensive lines were flat, aggressive and the Cruasaders used players that rushed-up at Cooper and at the outside backs and at Reds forwards who stood off with the aim to take the ball up.

The Reds on the other hand used a tactic of three defenders working in sinc. Two would tackle the ball carrier one blocking/going for the tackle the next one hitting in on the ball to dislodge it with a third tackler close by to either pick-up the ball or to be in a upright position to contest for the ball in case the first two defenders go to ground. This tactic worked on SBW as he had real difficulty breeching the defensive line and offload.

The result of this was that neither team were able to create fast recycled front foot ball. Cooper and Carter started to play the game behind the advantage line and this limited the space outside as well.

McLook or anyone for that matter what do you think of the Refs call to not awarding the try the Reds scored?

@ superBul@6:Interesting call that one. It looked like the Reds players knocked the ball forward and the ball then bounced of a Crusader back into his hands. It that is indeed what happened then of course the ref made the right call.

There was of course also the Brad Thorne ‘try’ the TV ref didn’t allow. Thorne acted very confident but my immedaite reaction was -even before I saw the replay- was that he was bluffing/acting it up.

McLook wrote:

he was bluffing/acting it up.

i loved the footage when they were called to scrum, he showed in that he knew it is the right call, or else he will be a brilliant poker player.

The thing with the disallowed try is, where were the ref? From what i have seen looking slow(super) motion it went sideways onto a Crusader and was re-gathered. I rule it not forward, but it is marginal. The type of decision that will always go into SBW,s favor because he is so “brilliant”

Someone elses thoughts of the game
    “The Crusaders unsettled the hosts at the breakdowns and scrums, and referee Bryce Lawrence was keen to let the game flow and reward the dominant side. While the Crusaders managed to effect many turnovers, they battled to finish. Some resolute defending by the home side as well as the Crusaders’ tendency to force the pass resulted in many a butchered opportunity”

“a poor clearance kick gifted the Reds a big chance in the 50th minute. Genia shifted the ball onto Cooper who in turn found Digby Ioane, and with the Crusaders’ defence staggered and disorganised, the Reds’ wing sliced through”

They created further chances through their powerful scrumming, but were too loose at the attacking breakdowns and their support runners coughed up too much possession. Their lineout play was shocking, as hooker Corey Flynn struggled to feed the ball straight

I think this shows your article point Mc the Crusaders did suffer from the travel bug, denying it wont help. They were 20% off pace.

Rangerman said
    hard luck saders, reechee looked a little shell shocked, reminded me of 2007. the question is did it remind HIM of 2007?

for kiwis sakes, you better hope not. not this year.

i felt for the saders having had to travel the world and with the events of this year in Chch and to loyal saders fans like chch, i extend my commiserations.

i did try to support them but i simply could not unfortunately.

the illegal tactics, cynical play and willingness to milk penalties, trip the opposition, turn the ruck into a free for all, shoulder charge etc etc were just too much for me and have been for years.

sure, you get away with what you can and kudos to them but i just find it a bit hard to swallow when it is so calculated and against the spirit of the game.

again, well done reds!

There was a 12.7% decrease in overall TV viewership in South Africa for 2011 Super Rugby compared to 2010 tournament (via Sunday Times).

11@ superBul:
    I have watched less Super rugby than before. There was just too much rugby.

Wonder wonder. Die Saders het die jaar nou al ORAL getoer. Hulle het ook twee meer games gespeel as enige SA span. En die jaar is NOG nie verby nie. Daar is 12 Saders in die AB squad. Paar van hulle het meeste games gespeel en het oral gereis (Franks, Sam Whitelock, Andy Ellis, Guilford, Williams).
    G.Henry gaan ook nie vir ‘n moer die spelers rus vir die 3N nie.

Die groot vraag is. Hoe on target gaan die AB’s se beserings en fiksheid wees teen die uitklop fase van die WB, met die enorme eis op hul liggame deur die jaar?
    Gaan Makouw en Carpenter, Nonu, Toeava en C.Smit hul form terug he teen dan?

In fact, ek dink dit sal nogal d**s, mar baie slim wees as die Bok management vir manne soos Kruger, Greyling en Flip vd Merwe se om net uit te gaan en die ouens in NZ seer te maak (wettiglik, natuurlik). Maak hulle SAG SAG SAG, en kyk of hulle dit nog kan hou vir 2 maande.

Wonder wonder…

Personally I think it was one of the better finals in years.

Both teams played the way that has worked for them all season so why change it for a final?

That’s what saffa teams do – pull a laager and hope we can feed off the opposition mistakes.

Bothe teams went for it and in the end a piece of individuality from Genia proved to be the difference.

Great game, well done Reds.

I also thought it was a wonderful final…

The Reds play like only they can… difficult to judge what they would do next, and a running game has been part of their story… whether lateral accross the field or not… till they find that magic break, then it’s off to the try line…. like we saw with the Ioane & Genia tries.

I have to agree though that Carter could somehow not dominate the game like a classic flyhalf should have done in a final. But then again, he was masterful in the game against the Stormers.

Credit to the Reds for not allowing Carter to dominate.

It was one of the fastest paced games I have seen in a long time and the fittness levels of both sides were awesome.

In tight games in the RWC I still believe McLook is right and that the Bokke need to be able to rely on a flyhalf who can indeed play into the corners, to the advantage of our lineout strenghts… seems Snorrie has made his mind up though that Morné Steyn, who is best suited to this type of rugby won’t be the starting flyhalf, in stead opting for Kamekaze Butch James…

If this is indeed so, then it re-affirms my belief that we WILL lose in the semi against the All Blacks.

Before then our biggest hurdles will be Wales and in the Quarters most probably Ireland, who despite kak choices, we should beat to end up 1st in our Group and going past the quarters.

It could take a few nights before Andy Ellis can rest easy after the Brisbane botch-up.

Even the gregarious halfback struggled for words as he attempted to explain how the Crusaders flopped so badly during their 18-13 loss to the Queensland Reds in last Saturday night’s Super Rugby final.

Like their fans, the Crusaders were staggered that they could make so many errors in a match they so desperately wanted to win. Having navigated countless obstacles following the February earthquake, they appeared near invincible as they brushed aside the grind of the constant travel and charged into the final.

But when it mattered they came up short and Ellis battled to recall when they had played as badly this year.

“That was it, we were pretty average. Almost every time we carried it into contact we lost it. It was not as if they were contesting that hard. We dropped it, turned it over – it was average.”

“Despite having so many All Blacks in their side – there were 12 in the starting lineup – and a large number of the side having previously played in, and won Super finals, the Crusaders operated like a team that was overawed by the occasion”

The Crusaders produced one of their worst performances of the season as they fumbled their way to a high error-count with their handling, questionable decisions on attack, average ball presentation at the breakdown and a struggling lineout.

A few fumbles when confronted with the sort of disciplined defence that was thrown-up by the Reds is to be expected, but the Crusaders repeatedly coughed up the ball and, painfully, Richie McCaw and Dan Carter were among the worst offenders.

RICHARD KNOWLER – – The Press

@ Pam Anderson@14:Agree is was a ‘nice’ match to watch. My two main points is 1. Kicking made the difference and 2. Both teams played tactically games that’s not really suited for a final.

I am not saying it was poor rugby or bad rugby. The skill levels were fantastic and there was no lack of commitment. What was lacking was astuteness and ability to read the situation adjustability. In the end Genia sort of got it and his tactical change of pace swung the game in the Reds favour.

Brad Thorne’s try was a close call. What the Crusaders needed was two or three more opportunities for Thorne to storm at the line (lineoust close to the Reds goalline). Carter was dissapointing for me in this regard; he just didn’t step-up and put the Crusadres in a position from which they could score.

@ McLook:
    Thats sounds like interesting defence tactics from the Reds which obviously worked a treat in keeping the dangerous inside Crusader back quiet, wonder if other teams analysts will have taken this on board and will try to replicate this when they play the All Blacks. But it sounds like tactics which have to be executed perfectly otherwise leave big holes for the attacking side to aim at and I guess its because of the Reds team cohesion and confidence in each that they were able to do it so well.

15@ grootblousmile:
    I agree Wales should be no problem but Ireland could be a stern test, feel they have a great set of loose forwards at the moment and huge experience at dictating games at flyhalf and centre so on their day may be a closer game that you think gbs, but certainly one that would give the Boks a good workout if we were to go on and face NZ in the semi final, how sure are you NZ will be in the semi final 😉

Queensland had a tickertape parade through the city this morning and were given the keys to the city….Quade said he didnt need any keys!!!

@ Wallabie.:
    Nice one Wallabie.

What happened to that little episode of his? Swept under the carpet like Messrs Waugh & Warne’s “weather reports”?

@ Wallabie.:
    Must have been a great sight, like the Bulls had. The whole state will be on cloud 9 (is that the right number :LOL: or what) for a while. Enjoy it you deserve it.

Hey Scrumdown

What I heard was that Quades long time mate had owed him some money which Quade had been asking for its return for sometime. I think it was more about principle than anything else. Because quade knew him and had stayed with him at some point he took it upon himself after being frustrated to claim this money back by taking some of the guys items. His ‘mate’ knowing quades celebrity status called the police and said someone broke into his place and stole stuff. It all got linked back to Quade. Quade fronted the police before all got out of hand and gave them details.

Given his status and by theory he did break an enter they had to charge him. I think it managed to get settled out of court. Quade got had for trying to get his money back but the other guys had to pay.

It turns out the dude said to Quade you have lots of money so the loan was for free.

This is what I heard.

25@ Wallabie.:
    Now if that info’ had been made public it could have stopped a lot of “fairy tales” that have done the rounds dragging the young man’s name through the mud!

Now I wonder what’ll happen if I went to claim household goods in lieu of monies owed from all my past “mates”.

Sh1t, far too many. I’ll be a serial cat burglar before I get halfway.

Total 22 users including 0 member, 22 guests, 0 bot online