The latest Springbok soap opera has sparked a whole lot of conflict between the pundits of New Zealand and Australia against the South Africans.

At the centre of the storm is Springbok coach, Peter de Villiers.

He has, rested the ‘injured” core group of players that will defend the Rugby Wold Cup crown, chosen a weakened squad to compete in the away leg of the Tri-Nations, he has lied about what is going on in Rustenburg.

Any person, who is not as pig headed as our beloved coach, would be heading for the hills at this point in time.

My question is: Why is Peter de Villiers taking all the criticism about this?

His job is to defend the Rugby World Cup crown, and if resting the overplayed Boks is what it takes, then it is what he should be doing. It his job that is on the line here.

The blame for this mess should squarely be placed on Oregan Hoskins and the leadership at SA Rugby.

First of all, they appointed Peter de Villiers as the Springbok coach. He had zero experience at top level rugby [granted nor did Jake White].

In his initial job interviews he spoke about running rugby and playing what you see in front of you. He claimed that he could pick a team of previously disadvantaged players that would be able to compete against the best in the world.

Just look at the style of rugby that his Springboks are playing right now, boring 10 man rugby. What happened to his “vision”?

It is Hoskins and his team who agreed to the ridiculous Super Rugby format, comprising 15 sides, as well as the extended version of the Tri-Nations and the extra games on the End Of Year Tour. The fact that so many of our top players are either injured or simply exhausted is not Peter de Villiers’ fault, it is because SARU has been bullied by the Australians and influenced by extra games hopefully turning into extra money.

What Peter however is indeed responsible for is the sub-standard coaching and weak leadership that has resulted in the poor style of rugby being played and South African rugby becoming the laughing stock of the world.

He has been less than honest about the whole Os du Rand thing, has gone behind his [totally overrated assistants] backs to try and get them replaced and lied about the R&R in Rustenburg.

But he never appointed himself to this position.

Our anger should be directed at Hoskins and SA Rugby for firstly appointing him as coach and secondly for agreeing to expanding the Tri-Nations [remember that next year Argentina joins, so expect MORE rugby] and the Super 14 into the new 15-side Super Rugby competition.

59 Responses to My point of view on the latest rugby mess

29@ grootblousmile:
    And you told me you don’t frequent such places!

10@ biltongbek:
    So maklik soos val uit ‘n boom… sonder om vas te hou, geblinddoek, met vaseline aan jou hande en aan die takke, in die reen, terwyl die wind waai, in die middel van die nag, terwyl iemand jou heeltyd stamp, terwyl die boom kwaai geskud word…. so iets…. hehehe

[Translate]

Wel nou het jy my net hoogtevrees gegee, en bleddie bang gemaak vir vaseline.

Food and Beverage Manager – biltongbek (one does need some biltong on tour)

[Translate]

Ek sal heeldag dronk wees met biltong stukkies op my Springbok Blazer.

31@ Scrumdown:
    Hey, I did not arrange the venue…. blame sammajoor 4man.

It’s actually only a restaurant and pub, no funny stuff… the waitresses were wearing short shorts and tight tops though… paar mooi kinders wat bedien daar….

Ashley wrote:

gbs @ 18
    and as media manager, i’d approach the situation in nz as follows:
    2. wtf is it with all you guys “coming to africa” say SOUTH SOUTH SOUTH, f*ckers!!

[Translate]

Yes, I feel the same way.

I sometimes feel like telling them, “AFRICA is the DARK CONTINENT in the middle of the BIG map.

SOUTH AFRICA is the little part at the BOTTOM catching all the $hit.

@ biltongbek:
    The Aussies always refer to SA as “the Republic”. I just don’t understand the dumb fukcers.

They talk continually about becoming a Republic, but never have enough b@lls to do it, and if a member of the Royal family ever “go walkabout”, the former penal colonists dote on their every word.

Closet Royalists the lot of them.

Bloody Agents!!!!

29@ grootblousmile:
    You should have invited Robert McBride. He’d have gotten you home safely no matter what the time was!

I think there could be some of them in the closet for a whole other reason!

37@ biltongbek:
    Agents of a different persuasion?

That would be my dream job actually!!

Great that you met up with 4man, I expect you guys had a great evening, how is he enjoying his trip?

‘Hooters’….

That is the very tacky place where blokes gawpe at women!!

I must have a serious word with 4man!! He is old enough to know better!! 😉

36@ Scrumdown:
    I had a few sHOOTERS… hehehe

I drove back and somewhere near Primrose, I landed on the upramp in stead of continuing on the N12 Highway… turned right accross the Highway… found a secluded spot to have a good pee against a tree, turned around and the onramp to the N12 was blocked…. ended up driving through the kakkest back roads, through Industrial parts of Kempies, before eventually connecting to the R21 near Boksburg and had an uneventful rest of the journey back.

Fark, I wish they would get finished with freegin fixing the N12, it is such a kak road now….

39@ Blue Bird:
    He is enjoying the trip… we had good fun.

Scrumdown wrote:

37@ biltongbek:
    Agents of a different persuasion?

[Translate]

Yep, batting for the orre team.

40@ Blue Bird:
    None of us gawped… promise!

We might have kokkenotched (a quizzical side glance) a bit… but never gawked or gawped…

Eish!!!!!

I have to go now… to Primrose…. to go get BonzaiGBS’s car…. it’s fixed and apparently lekkkkkkerrrrrrrrrrr now.

Hope I can find the off- and on-ramps better while it is still daylight…

41@ grootblousmile:
    Hey, don’t slag off Primrose and Kempies. Good blue collar areas those. Donners Vuil though. The N12 is nothing if not a farkup at the moment.

Didn’t you stop in at Gold Card Club in Primrose while you were in the area?

47@ Scrumdown:
    Where and what is the Gold Card Club?

Hey, I have to be off….

Tjorts

Gooooooooooooi Mieliesssssssssssss

Julle kan more aand bietjie lekker rugby kyk , jul geliefde Earl Rose speel dan vir Griekwas teen die Pumas

48@ grootblousmile:
    Gentleman’s club. But I have it on good authority that you don’t frequent such places!

A “Gold Card” comes in handy.

49@ superBul:
    Moenie te hard praat.

Net nou speel hy ‘n hond uit ‘n bos uit, dan sluit ou Div hom by die Wereld Beker groep in!

Archibishop Tutu – Peter de Villiers & Freshly Ground – skit

Be warned – you will die laughing!

@ grootblousmile:18 – Team Doctor? hehehehe.

@ grootblousmile:18 – If I was team doctor. Muller and Brussow would not have been on tour….lol. Never believe in taking injured players on tour. Not ever.

Now see Muller is back home and never got to play and Brussow has not had any game time either, should have been home here and with the training group of Boks. Would never take any with even a niggle on tour.

Glad to hear I made the coaching team, assistant water carrier gives me huge scope for causing sh!t, not that I ever would of course. The only mate gawking was the one from Rustenburg who is womanless at the moment. A most pleasant evening and quite entertaining at the end when Marc wanted to take out the Nigerian bouncer, who decided discretion was the better part of valour and left the area. But as in the past I dissuaded him from overextending his enthusiasm. all caused by certain people smoking inside when they shouldnt have 😉

Jurie “It is a unique thing to me that people are worried about this at all,” he claimed. “I mean, I run a multimillion-rand corporation where my biggest assets are my players. They are injured and I need to do something to get them ready for the World Cup.”

“I don’t understand the conspiracy, I don’t understand the confusion. Guys, this is a simple thing. If I don’t have them rehabilitated for the World Cup, I need to come to New Zealand for a job, which is the last thing I want to do.”

De Villiers chipped in with a giggle: “And I won’t come with you.”

“With the Sharks you could say that [we have been more expansive than other South African teams]. We enjoy to play more than we kick and we aren’t afraid to have a go from our tryline. It really worked well for us in the Currie Cup last year.”

BUT it is questionable whether Lambie and his outsides will receive much ball at Westpac Stadium for several reasons.

South Africa will field a forward pack with just 12 caps between six players, when hooker John Smit (103) and No8 Danie Rossouw are taken out of the equation, and may struggle for possession.

And with first five-eighth Morne Steyn sure to kick away a decent share of what ball he gets, Lambie and co may not get the ball they would like.

Steyn is likely to be the man to lead South Africa’s World Cup tilt, running the ship outside halfback Fourie du Preez as he has for much of the past two years with his ruthlessly accurate punting and goal kicking. However, after a flat season for the Bulls the 27-year-old is coming under pressure for his inability to attack the defensive line.

His effectiveness dimmed somewhat for the Bulls this season as the kick and chase game became predictable, and he could not dig a young side out of a hole against the Wallabies in Sydney last week.

In Lambie, South Africa have an exciting alternative for the future, even if he is at fullback for now.

– The Dominion Post

Dr.Puma…Will you send JDV in for his remedial massage now please!! 🙂

58@ Blue Bird:
    In the real world he’s actually not Dr Puma… he’s Dr NoKnees.

Maybe I should have made Puma Travel Coordinator, seeing as he is such a World Traveller….

Total 88 users including 0 member, 88 guests, 0 bot online