Herewith the Super Rugby team sheets for the 4 teams competing in the play-off round this weekend.

Super Rugby Teams – Play-off Week

Blues

Waratahs

24 June at 09:35

• Team: 15 Jared Payne, 14 Joe Rokocoko, 13 Benson Stanley, 12 Luke McAlister, 11 Lachie Munro, 10 Stephen Brett, 9 Alby Mathewson, 8 Peter Saili, 7 Luke Braid, 6 Jerome Kaino, 5 Ali Williams, 4 Anthony Boric, 3 John Afoa, 2 Keven Mealamu (C), 1 Charlie Faumuina.
  • Replacements: 16 Tom McCartney, 17 Tevita Mailau, 18 Chris Lowrey, 19 Daniel Braid, 20 Chris Smylie, 21 Winston Stanley, 22 Sherwin Stowers.
  • Team: 15 Lachie Turner, 14 Atieli Pakalani, 13 Ryan Cross, 12 Tom Carter, 11 Soseni Anesi, 10 Kurtley Beale, 9 Josh Holmes; 8 Dave Dennis, 7 Phil Waugh (C), 4 Dean Mumm, 5 Sitaleki Timani, 4 Kane Douglas, 3 Paddy Ryan, 2 John Ulugia, 1 Benn Robinson.
  • Replacements: 16 Elvis Taione, 17 Jeremy Tilse, 18 Pat O’Connor, 19 Chris Alcock, 20 Hugh Perrett, 21 Brendan McKibbin, 22 Bernard Foley.

Crusaders

Sharks

25 June at 09:35

• Team: 15 Tom Marshall, 14 Sean Maitland, 13 Robbie Fruean, 12 Sonny Bill Williams, 11 Zac Guildford, 10 Daniel Carter, 9 Andy Ellis, 8 Kieran Read (C), 7 Matt Todd, 6 George Whitelock, 5 Sam Whitelock, 4 Brad Thorn, 3 Owen Franks, 2 Corey Flynn, 1 Wyatt Crockett.
  • Replacements: 16 Quentin MacDonald, 17 Ben Franks, 18 Luke Romano, 19 Jonathan Poff, 20 Kahn Fotuali’i, 21 Matt Berquist, 22 Ryan Crotty/Brent Ward.
  • Team: 15 Patrick Lambie, 14 JP Pietersen, 13 Stefan Terblanche (C), 12 Meyer Bosman, 11 Lwazi Mvovo, 10 Frederic Michalak, 9 Charl McLeod, 8 Willem Alberts, 7 Jean Deysel, 6. Keegan Daniel, 5 Alistair Hargreaves, 4 Gerhard Mostert, 3 Jannie du Plessis, 2 Bismarck du Plessis, 1 Tendai Mtawarira.
  • Replacements: 16 John Smit, 17 Eugene van Staden, 18 Ross Skeate, 19 Ryan Kankowski, 20 Jacques Botes, 21 Adrian Jacobs, 22 Louis Ludik.

24 Responses to Super Rugby: Teams for 2 Play-off games

23 June 2011 (12:19) – The Sharks are presently in New Zealand and face minimal disruption to the squad for selection purposes as they prepare for Saturday’s Vodacom Super Rugby Qualifier against the seven-time champions, the Crusaders.
    All the talk this week has been on certain uncontrollables – the travel factor and weather – but The Sharks know that as long as they control what they can, this game represents the fantastic opportunity to claim a place in next week’s semi-finals, dependant on a similar effort to last week’s against the Bulls.

Coach John Plumtree admits that it’s a case of “Having to play to the conditions… It’s great going to New Zealand in February, March when the weather’s the best, but at this time of the year, the weather is not so good and apparently the weather is not great for this weekend, but you expect that.”

For The Sharks, not only a complete, 80 minute performance is going to be good enough against a side like the Crusaders who know how to win important games, but one based on a thorough team effort.

Lessons have been learned from their pool match when the Crusaders won 44-28, primarily that the Crusaders’ play-makers will need to be contained if there is to be any chance of avoiding a rerun. “A big part of what we got wrong at Twickenham was not stopping Dan Carter, Sonny Bill Williams and Robbie Fruean, with their ability to shift ball into space either by hand or by kicking, which is key to their game.

“The foundation of their game is built around their scrum, they’re a good scrummaging side so we need to scrum really well against them and if we can look after them defensively and look after their scrum, then anything can happen.”

The Sharks front row of Jannie and Bismarck du Plessis and Beast Mtawarira will have their work cut out for them contesting scrums against the opposition.

“They have a very short front row and they scrum low and while we have a pretty good front row ourselves, we will need to scrum a lot better than we did against the Bulls, that’s a big area for us.

“We have the forward pack that can compete and that’s going to be key if it’s wet and cold there. Frederic Michalak can control the game and we have Pat’s kicking game at the back as well, so as long as we defend really well and our setpiece functions and we make sure that territory is in our favour, you never know.”

Changes to The Sharks side that beat the Bulls last week have been kept to a minimum, with just one personnel swap to the starting XV, where Willem Alberts replaces Ryan Kankowski at eighthman.

There are two changes on the bench, Eugene van Staden and Jacques Botes coming in for Wiehahn Herbst and Marcell Coetzee respectively.

The Sharks

1. Tendai Mtawarira
    2. Bismarck du Plessis
    3. Jannie du Plessis
    4. Gerhard Mostert
    5. Alistair Hargreaves
    6. Keegan Daniel
    7. Jean Deysel
    8. Willem Alberts
    9. Charl McLeod
    10. Frederic Michalak
    11. Lwazi Mvovo
    12. Meyer Bosman
    13. Stefan Terblanche (Captain)
    14. JP Pietersen
    15. Patrick Lambie

Replacements
    16. John Smit
    17. Eugene van Staden
    18. Ross Skeate
    19. Ryan Kankowski
    20. Jacques Botes
    21. Adrian Jacobs
    22. Louis Ludik

i think for the wet conditions propably the best side they could put forward

It is indeed interesting to see who Plumtree clearly sees as his strongest squad.

Can the Springboks carry a captain who does not make his Franchise’s starting 15?

I don’t think they can but they surely WILL!

Where’s the Bulls team for the weekend? 🙂

GBS – have a read what Hargreaves has to say in his News24 column.

That is a very good Sharks loose trio.

4@ Pam Anderson:
    So, Hargreaves says John Smit had some calming and inspiring words to say before they ran on…. wow?

If that is to be his role, by all means let him do it at the World Cup, but for goodness sakes, let Bissie start the games as hooker, as happened on Saturday.

Here’s the crunch of the question – would it then not be wiser to use John Smit as an “Assistant coach” at the Bokke, or as “Team manager”?

Plumtree clearly thinks Bissie is his man to wear the No 2 jersey, last week and now this week – the crucial matches… does that not tell you the story of whom to pick for the important clashes and for the Bokke as well?

John Smit has served SA well….. incredibly well, is eloquent in expressing himself and is clearly someone not to lose in the bigger scheme of things…. but does that necessarily also involve playing and keeping the world’s best hooker from getting a starting berth?

I’d go so far as to say that John Smit will one day make a bloody good coach and man-manager. I like John Smit, a lot…. but that still does not mean to say I cannot see where he falls into place in the rightfull pecking order at the Sharks and overall in SA.

There is a time to come and a time to go…. and I say it’s time to employ him in a new role, a role he can fulfill with distinction, without doubt!

gbs @ 6
    1. well yes, one can read into the sharks selection that plumtree prefer bissie to john. as you’ve said, bissie has been in the starting line-up for the sharks’ last 2 crucial games (last week against the bulls and now again against the sharks)
    2. but does this mean that when jsmit start for either the sharks or the boks that he “would be keeping the world’s best hooker on the bench” as you’ve put it? no, i dont think so!! remember we had more or less the same discussion prior to the announcement of the bok captain for the wc? remember the form jsmit suddenly showed in the weeks leading up to the announcement? remember that not a word was said when the announcement was made eventually? why not? because no one could fault the decision nor the form john (at that stage) was in!!
    3. now i’ll be the first to concede … jsmit, when he was pulled off the field against the lions, at that moment (to me anyway) looked old and tired!!
    4. now, i think that plum missed a trick this season … the bulls had a policy where their hookers were rotated through-out the season … think both john and bissie wouldve benefitted from such a policy!!
    5. now, can this policy be used with successs at the wc? i believe so, with the exception that in the bigger games john would start with bissie getting at least a run for the last 30 minutes!!

Why do people rate BduP as the Worlds best hooker? I am not so convinced he will be a positive for us. Too many flaws(dirty tricks) and too many penalties.
    Chilies started well in the last game and he was just as active, took on the great Bismarck and did better in the first half hour. Go have a look on your PVRs, keep your eyes on him. Bismarck is not the secret to our success in my eyes.

Remember the many games at the start of JS captains run under Jake White, we said he was the countries 5th best then, but he still did not weaken the Bok team so much that you could blame him for losses. In fact most praised his cool head and good decision making.

In those days we had a far better Gary Botha and we survived , so why must we drop the experience of JS now. It will in any case be a day of the long knives if we lose somewhere in this WC. I wont change the captain at this late stage, we went through that before.

I’ve said my piece before and agree with Super, it would be madness to change the Bok Captain now. John Smit is cruising and the World Cup will be his swan song and if we do lose it won’t be because he didn’t perform at a world class level. I’ve said before things are not lekker at Natal at the moment, there is some disruption. If the guys make the same effort this weekend as they did last weekend, I personally will be very surprised. I’m quite happy for our world cup players not to be at their peak yet and with that in mind, some guys desperately need some rest and no contact. Tri Nations, we might see Smit play to bring him to peak, but mark my words our main players are all going to have “niggling injuries” and wont be available. The Kiwi’s and Aussies and Sanzar will be crying in their beer again and we should say to them go and get stuffed, close SANZAR down if you want to which they’ll never do, because the Boks and their fans are the main money spinners. We will rough the Crusaders up for WP, but on Superbru I have gone with my heart and picked the Sharks for a win.

Super…Gary Botha was severely cr*p at the last world cup, he got exposed as being too small. He improved when he went overseas (despite GBS’s opinion)

11@ 4man:
    Ja…. Gary Botha was crap in 2007…. so crap in fact that he only formed part of a Super 14 Title win AND a World Cup winning squad… eish, and all that as a little white oke who was’nt there for his captaincy… just his playing ability, chosen on merit!

Wait, that made him bloody good in 2007…. hehehehe

Blinkers, blinkers… blinkers

At least when I now tout a hooker for the World Cup in favour of another, who I believe is past his prime, they are both from the same Franchise – not my Franchise either, as a matter of fact…. so I’m not Franchise blind and petty, like some here….

Gary Botha’s overall play has gone down this year.. Chiliboy has surpassed him… but in 2007 Gary was a YSTER!

@ 4man:
    I talk a lot to you and what i admire from you is your willingness to listen to another opinion and sometimes change your mind. You are definitly not one track minded. At the moment i wont even rate GB as one of the top 8 in SA. He had his time. In fact the whole experience thing is pushed to the limits. Having players with 80+ Springbok caps means one thing to me , the selectors are not picking on form but try to hide their responsibilities by sticking to players because of their history. Maybe my words are picked wrongly but i think you understand my point. It is a easy way out, just stay with the player in the job.

13@ superBul:
    You see… my point exactly…

They have this belief that they should stick to what they inherited, too shit scared to try something and someone new… that includes the Bokke coaches, supporting staff and the supporters out there.

The examples abound…. Januarie, Habana, John Smit, Wynand Olivier, Adi Jacobs, Spies… all there on experience alone, not on current form!

name me the players who CONSTANTLY outplayed these old experienced players.

Januarie, Habana, John Smit, Wynand Olivier, Adi Jacobs, Spies

and i will only agree that they are finnished, pe, kapoet if you can prove to me that they cost their teams a game or 2.

Laat ek liewers in Afrikaans probeer.

Ek dink dat die beleid van die man in die stoel kan soms te ver gevoer word, maar in Wereld Bekkers wen jy met manne wat koelkop is , die verdediging is so hoog op die prioriteit lys dat bitter min individuele briljantheid ooit slaag. So speel maar jou manne wat reeds daardeur is , die manne wat as daar n drie teen jou gedruk word, nie paniekerig DADELIK wil terugslaan nie maar eerder die geduld het om hul eie spel patroon af te probeer afdwing.

There’s this blonde out for a walk. She comes to a river and sees another blonde on the opposite bank ‘Yoo-hoo!’ she shouts, ‘How can I get to the other side?’
    The second blonde looks up the river then down the river and shouts back, ‘You ARE on the other side.’

A girl was visiting her blonde friend, who had acquired two new dogs, and asked her what their names were. The blonde responded by saying that one was named Rolex and one was named Timex. Her friend said, ‘Whoever heard of someone naming dogs like that?’ ‘HELLLOOOOOOO……,’ answered the blonde. ‘They’re watch dogs’!

15@ superBul:
    I can give you UMPTEENTH examples…

Let’s start…

John Smit:

1. Remember the Test at Soccer City last year, when John Smit’s missed tackle on Nonu cost the Bokke the Test?

2. Why else would Plumtree start with Bissie in these important games, if Bissie is not better?

3. How often last year did we critisize John Smit for not being good enough at Loosehead, Tighthead or Hooker?

Bryan Habana:

1. Where eactly did both Australia and the All Blacks target the Bokke in 2010… yip, that’s right, on Habana’s wing…. and they succeeded with ease.

2. Habana has been off-form for 2 seasons now!

Ricky Januarie:

1. Nearly 3 weeks ago against the Bulls the Stormers lost the game…. in a game where Januarie fumbled the ball continiously.

2. How long has virtually EVERYBODY been calling for Januarie’s head…. 2 seasons… 3 seasons?

Wynand Olivier:

1. Remember his shocking handling early in this Super Rugby Season…. fumbles upon fumbles!

2. Wynand has improved again, late this season, but are you honestly suggesting he’s anywhere near the standard of Jean de Villiers & Juan de Jongh? He was sublime in 2010, but not good this year at all.

Adi Jacobs:

1. Adi does not even make the Sharks run-on side, against an average Sharks center pairing of Bosman & Terblanche… even Sharks supporters will admit that their centers cost them big time in this year’s Super Rugby series.

2. What makes Adi good? Does he defend exceptionally well? No! Is he close to the quality of Jean de Villiers, Juan de Jongh, Jaque Fourie, Robert Ebersohn, Doppies la Grange… and a few more? No!

Pierre Spies:

1. Come on, you would HAVE TO admit that Spies is not what he was, specially early this year… he was going sideways, knocking in contact, missing tackles.

2. Take into consideration the rise of Ashley Johnson, Willem Alberts, Duane Vermeulen… is Spies there or thereabouts? No!

Now the same can be said to All the crown princes. They all had poor games. No man the problem was identified years back, I said have 7 selectors , let them pick the BEST in SA and give them to the apointed COACH. If he is good he can mould them into a great team because they are all the best in their respective positions.

But what was said to me , this is Profesional Rugby the Coach must feel comfortable with the players he picks. So why do we argue, Peter like me see some good in all these players and he feels they will deliver the goods for HIM. Lojalty pays or does it.

Sadly this is what happened in all teams. Remember how everyone in NZ wanted Henry’s scalp? Well if he fails again …….

2. Take into consideration the rise of Ashley Johnson, Willem Alberts, Duane Vermeulen… is Spies there or thereabouts? No!

Ashley was not no 8 for the State was he? If so i would agree he is great this year, only in the last game he faded a bit. The others had their bad patches too, was also outplayed etc.

Spies was played wrong by FL, if he joins up with his Springbok partners and PdeV coaching you will see the old Spies. (if you guys recover from the shock, yes i said the Peter de Villiers coaching and game plan)

21@ superBul:
    There’s no way that you can defend Spies the way you do, without Blue goggles… and of course with Snorrie firmly your favourite man of all time…. no way you will fault ANY of his selections…

Snorrie is faultless… your golden Icon….

Ja ou grote, jy weet ek glo in Spies. Ek het stats op R-T op datum gehou wat bewys hy is n groot faktor in sy span. Die feite is daar, hy doen flippen baie “hard grafting”, maar dit is so dat hy foute maak en ek gaan nie n goeie speler soos hy afskryf daaroor nie. Hy is beslis soos JS nie n ou wat ons games gaan kos nie.

Peter Div is die SA coach, soos almal my destyds gese het toe ek n veldtog van geen respek vir JW gelei het aanvaar dit JW is coach, net so vra ek dat ons dit moet aanvaar , kom ons maak PdeV sterker deur hom te ondersteun. Moet nie dat hy heeltyd agter hom kyk wie volgende hom gaan byt nie. Gee hom n kans om sy ding te doen, dalk sal hy net soos Jake ons laat lag, en dan het ons hom vir nog 4 jaar, LOL. Fark hoeveel gaan dan Rugby los?

gooooooooodmorning everyone!!
    heard the following line while my youngster was watching spongebob yesterday … from what i could gather, spongebob & his friend patrick was busy watching someones pet (a bird) … now remember, i didnt watch it, but could hear everything as i was busy near the tv
    ok, heres goes
    patrick whistles (to bird)
    spongebob: “i didnt know you speak “bird”, patrick”
    patrick: “no, its not “bird” spongebob, its italian”!! 😆 😆 😆

Total 59 users including 0 member, 59 guests, 0 bot online