After a long season of blood, sweat and tears, it’s time for individual brilliance to be awarded.

Broadcast is live from 8pm to 10pm on SS1 and SS1A.

The South African Rugby Players Awards will be held at a banquet dinner at Vodaworld in Midrand tonight, November 01st. SuperSport, the home of rugby will bring you live all the glitz and glamour of rugby…instead of the usual bone crunching tackles.

Gurthrö Steenkamp, Gio Aplon, Juan de Jongh, Schalk Burger or Francois Hougaard are the front runners for the coveted SARU Player of the Year award.

The full list of nominees:

SARU Player of the Year
Gio Aplon (Vodacom Western Province)
Schalk Burger (Vodacom Western Province)
Juan de Jongh (Vodacom Western Province)
Francois Hougaard (Vodacom Blue Bulls)
Gurthrö Steenkamp (Vodacom Blue Bulls)

Full names: Gurthro Garth

Date of birth: 12 Jun 1981

Place of birth: Paarl, South Africa

School: Paarl Boys High

Debut test province: Cheetahs

Physical: 1.89m, 120kg

Current age: 29

Test summary: Tests: 31 Tries: 5

Young Player of the Year
Bjorn Basson (GWK Griquas)
Juan de Jongh (Vodacom Western Province)
Francois Hougaard (Vodacom Blue Bulls)
Elton Jantjies (Xerox Lions)
Patrick Lambie (The Sharks)

Team of the Year
SWD Eagles
The Sharks
Vodacom Bulls
Vodacom Stormers
Vodacom Western Province

Absa Coach of the Year
Allister Coetzee (Vodacom Western Province and Vodacom Stormers)
Johann Lerm (SWD Eagles)
Frans Ludeke (Vodacom Bulls and Vodacom Blue Bulls)
John Mitchell (Xerox Lions)
John Plumtree (The Sharks)

The Absa Currie Cup Premier Division Player of the Year
Bjorn Basson (GWK Griquas)
Keegan Daniel (The Sharks)
Elton Jantjies (Xerox Lions)
Patrick Lambie (The Sharks)
Duane Vermeulen (Vodacom Western Province)

The Absa Currie Cup First Division Player of the Year
Ambrose Barends (SWD Eagles)
Jacques Engelbrecht (SWD Eagles)
Jacquin Jansen (Boland Cavaliers)
Willie le Roux (Boland Cavaliers)
Norman Nelson (Eastern Province Kings)

Vodacom Super 14 Player of the Year
Andries Bekker (Vodacom Stormers)
Fourie du Preez (Vodacom Bulls)
Jaque Fourie (Vodacom Stormers)
Morne Steyn (Vodacom Bulls)
Gerhard van den Heever (Vodacom Bulls)

Vodacom Cup Player of the Year
Francois Brummer (Vodacom Blue Bulls)
Monty Dumond (The Sharks XV)
Louis Strydom (Vodacom Free State Cheetahs)
Gerrit-Jan van Velze (Vodacom Blue Bulls)
Stefan Watermeyer (Vodacom Blue Bulls)

Awards will also be made in the following categories –

Coca-Cola Craven Week Player of the Tournament:- Johan Goosen

Marriott Referee Award:-Craig Joubert

Women’s Achiever of the Year:-

SAA Club Championship Player of the Tournament:- Lourens Adriaanse

SA U20 Player of the Year:- Elton Jantjies

SuperSport Try of the Year:- Jaque Fourie

Sasol Springbok Sevens Player of the Year:- Kyle Brown

52 Responses to SA Rugby Awards live

  • 51

    Dalk as hy erg begin gym,n tackel afrigter kry kan hy klein dalk beter speel.ek kyk gisteraand na die barbarians vs new zealand game 2009,ek dink die bokke gaan dit nie wen nie,veral nie met die tekort aan senters nie.wie gaan senter wees langs jacobs?ek sien daar word gese habana of zane.

  • 52

    super @ 50
    en wie is die oud blogger wat soe baie van ou earl like? :grin:


Bam Advert

Bornman Graphic