Sports Minister Makhenkesi Stofile is “furious” about the comment by Springbok coach Peter de Villiers that the Springboks support Blue Bulls prop and murder suspect Bees Roux.

“Goodness man! Get yourself a spokesperson!” was the advice offered by Stofile to the Bok coach.

Anesca Smith

Stofile was approached by Die Burger for comment on the statement made by the coach.

“Even I don’t always understand what he says,” he added.

Stofile also believes it will be better for De Villiers to speak in his mother tongue, Afrikaans, if he does not feel comfortable in English.

According to Stofile, who attended a meeting of the parliamentary portfolio committee on sport on Tuesday, he was in China when De Villiers made the comment.

“It’s disgraceful to say that you support someone 100% when he possibly took another person’s life in such a brutal manner. If this was the old South Africa, he would have been charged as an accomplice for that kind of statement.”

Stofile now wants an explanation from SARU over whether they support the statement by De Villiers.

If not, he wants to know how they will act against the coach.

“The entire organisation’s name is being dragged through the mud. It’s unacceptable.”

Stofile said that he had advised De Villiers at the time of his appointment to get a spokesperson.

“I repeat that request today. With the kind of questions the media asks, I said that he would be sorry about something he said one day. You need special skills when talking to the media. And Peter is a man who loves to talk.

“Today we are embarrassed and angry about what he said. You can’t be delighted when someone is killed. Peter, please don’t expose yourself to the media like that.

“I agree totally that he should speak Afrikaans if he’s not comfortable in English. English is also not my first language and I also struggle with it at times. We think in our mother tongue and then have to verbalise the thought in English. And Peter talks very quickly.”

As for the public reaction to the Springboks’ losses, Stofile said that rugby is the sport that “stirs emotion” more than any other in South Africa.

“We don’t like losing and are hard and unforgiving when it comes to rugby.”

He believes one of the reasons for the team’s poor performances is that they play “too much rugby”.

“It’s not good for the body. We should not be tempted by money to the point that we are not prepared to rest our bodies.

“But every dark cloud has a silver lining. My advice to the coach is to give the youngsters a chance now before next year’s World Cup in New Zealand. We have nothing to lose. The older men won’t be getting any younger or stronger.”

I feel this is a positive reaction by the Minister. I hope he can force Peter to accept the need for a spokesperson.And yes we said it also , talk Afrikaans Peter.

89 Responses to Stofile: Get Div a spokesperson

Happy Birthday GBS, mag dit n besonderse jaar wees wat vir jou voorle!

We have all had our say here about PDV.
    I commend the quality of writing on this blog with some very intelligent rugby views being expressed by GBS, Morne, Super, Biltong, Met Uysh and eveyone else.
    Everyone knows my view.
    However I want to say that, yes we can fix the Boks and still win the WC, but it is not about all the very good selection, game plan, conditioning and technical points that people have raised.
    It is ALL about LEADERSHIP!!
    The right leadership will mould the right team with the right team spirit.
    The rest is all about hard work and detail.
    That is why we are crying out for LEADERSHIP!!
    We cannot win the WC with the current coaches leading the team.

@ tight head:

Thanks Tighthead for the compliment. What is your views on John Smit? I think he is a fantastic leader and hopefully he will be getting in great shape during the conditioning programme.

Perhaps the most sense Stofile has spoken since opening HIS mouth 🙂

@ Met Uysh:
    Smit is one of the best 2 rugby captains in the game today.
    The other being MCcaw.
    Ideally a plan to WIN the 2011 WC needs to be put together with Smit leading the team.
    This means building a WC winning team like Kitch or Jake did that has complete focus with everyone buying into the plan.
    Smit then needs to get himself to the best of his playing ability to lead the charge.
    Anyone who saw that one handed take of the ball at pace last week cannot deny that he has the ability to get into the shape required to play a new game with skill and pace.

@ tight head:

Agree. I’ve been supporting John all the way. God knows where we would have been had he not still been in the squad, considering Div, Dick and Harry…I mean Gary…

1@ AB:
    Dankie Abeltjie, word waardeer!

Gelukkige verjaarsdag GBS!

8@ Met Uysh:
    Dankie man…. still purring like a puppy…. hahaha

gbs @ 9
    magtag oom noag
    verjaar oom nog steeds?
    😆 hêppie biifday broe
    mag daar NOG honderde wees!!

10@ Ashley:
    Nouja, siende dat die 1ste 100 onstuimige jare agter die blad lê, kan dit net beter gaan!

Dankie vir die wense.

‘n Skoovriendin sê vanoggend op Vleisboek dat sy wens sy kan nou aftree en koffie drink en in die oggende voëltjies kyk…

My antwoord was maklik, ek kyk elke dag voëltjie… hahaha

GBS

Feliz aniversário ! 😀

I understand every country wanting their extended team in the best shape possible for next year but we should all (mean all SH countries) make room for the realisation that if we rest senior players instead of sending them on an EOYT we will never again be qualified to complain when NH sending a bunch of unknowns to us on the June tours.

Happy Birthday GBS.

I hate it when people quote you, you give the go-ahead…. and a totally different Invoice arrives…

GBS happy birthday maat, my laaitie is vandag 7,

18@ biltongbek:
    Lekker man… geluk met sy Birfffday.

So hy is ook nog ‘n Virgin…. ek bedoel Virgo….

gbs @ 17
    miskien issit omdat djy die engels nie soe lekka ve’stanie?

biltong @ 18
    geluk broe

dankie tight head, ek moet erken dit is vir my baie lekker hier by RT. N’ man kan hier jou gevoelens en menings gas gee

Ja, but 2 cases of Klippies for your birthday is not enough to get that discount!!
    Happy Birthday my friend!!
    Enjoy tonight!!

20@ Ashley:
    Nee man, die fokkers quote my gister om ‘n boorgatpomp uit sy 93m gat te trek by my huis in Lynnwood in Pretoria en dit terug te sit… R 850.00. Al wat moes bykom was ‘n nuwe Pompkop “nipple”… vir R 175.00.

Nou is die Arbeid sommer R 1200.00 PLUS ‘n sogenaamde Cover Charge van R 180.00

Totale rekening sommer nou R 1801.20, BTW ingesluit….

Simpel fokkers!

Cover Charge…. hel ek wassie eers in DIE Disco nie… en niemand het hulle toestemming gegee om in my jaart te BOOGIE nie!

thanks Ash en GBS, dja hy is nog n’ virgin. Wel ek bleddie hoop so

23@ tight head:
    Thanks.

The family wanted to come over for koek-en-tee tonight, so I quickly put a stop to that…. we’re going out to dinner, no family invited…. hehehe

Geluk Grooootblousmile , lekker verjaar , en geniet jou dag.

happy B’day GBS

Oom GBS, happy 65th birthday bud, hope you have a sick day 😛

Total 12 users including 0 member, 12 guests, 0 bot online