Springboks (13) 39 / Wallabies (31) 41 (Final Score)

The Springboks hosted the Wallabies at Vodacom Park, Bloemfontein at 17:00 SA Time in their last Tri-Nations and Mandela Cup encounter of 2010. This is the match thread for discussion of the game. The match was broadcast live on SuperSport 1, M-Net, SuperSport HD in SA.

Australia first squandered a 25-point lead, to clinch the game on full time with a successful long distance penalty by Kurtley Beale. Final score Wallabies 41 / 39.

Springboks: 6 Penalties & 3 Conversions Morné Steyn, 1 Try Jaque Fourie, 1 Try Gurthro Steenkamp, 1 Try Jean de Villiers

Wallabies: 1 Penalty & 4 Conversions Matt Giteau, 1 Try & 1 Penalty Kurtley Beale, 1 Try & 1 Conversion James O’Connor, 1 Try Stephen Moore, 1 Try Rocky Elsom, 1 Try Drew Mitchell

South Africa: 15 François Steyn, 14 JP Pietersen, 13 Jaque Fourie, 12 Jean de Villiers, 11 Bryan Habana, 10 Morné Steyn, 9 François Hougaard, 8 Pierre Spies, 7 Juan Smith, 6 Schalk Burger, 5 Victor Matfield, 4 Danie Rossouw, 3 Jannie du Plessis, 2 John Smit (captain), 1 Gurthrö Steenkamp.
Replacements: 16 Chiliboy Ralepelle, 17 CJ van der Linde, 18 Flip van der Merwe, 19 Ryan Kankowski, 20 Ricky Januarie, 21 Juan de Jongh, 22 Gio Aplon.

Australia: 15 Kurtley Beale, 14 James O’Connor, 13 Adam Ashley-Cooper, 12 Matt Giteau, 11 Drew Mitchell, 10 Quade Cooper, 9 Will Genia, 8 Ben McCalman, 7 David Pocock, 6 Rocky Elsom (captain), 5 Nathan Sharpe, 4 Mark Chisholm, 3 Salesi Ma’afu, 2 Stephen Moore, 1 Benin Robinson.
Replacements: 16 Saia Fainga’a, 17 James Slipper, 18 Dean Mumm, 19 Richard Brown, 20 Luke Burgess, 21 Berrick Barnes, 22 Anthony Fainga’a.

Date: Saturday, September 4
Kick-off: 17.00 SA Time (15.00 GMT)
Venue: Vodacom Park, Bloemfontein
Expected weather conditions: Clear with a high of 28°C, dropping to 2°C and a westerly of 25 km/dropping to 3 km/h – perfect weather for rugby, as one would expect in Bloemfontein in spring.
Referee: Wayne Barnes (England)
Assistant referees: Nigel Owens (Wales), Simon McDowell (Ireland)
TMO: Johann Meuwesen (South Africa)

596 Responses to Springboks vs Wallabies – Game Thread

1 2 3 20

Let me get to the shops…. I need siggies, biltong & dop!

Gooooooooooooooo Bokke!!

goooooooooooooooooooooooooooo bokke

gbs @ 1
    moenie jou kondensmelk vergeet nie!!

GOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO BOKKEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEE

@ Ashley:3 – Ash, Are you working today?

Hello boys 😀

Ash – just for you :

Two women were having lunch together, and discussing the merits of cosmetic surgery. The first woman said, “I need to be honest with you, I’m getting a boob job.” The second woman responded, “Oh, that’s nothing. I’m thinking of having my a*sehole bleached!” “Whoa,” replied the first woman. “I just can’t picture your husband as a blonde!”

puma @ 5
    as always boet
    if i’m not here, this whole place will fall apart (i hope) 😆

@ Rugby_Princess: rofl 🙂

RP @ 6
    lmao
    now what did i, being the gentleman i am, do to deserve that? 😀

Let me get to the shops…. I need siggies, biltong & dop!
    Gooooooooooooooo Bokke!!

GBS…that stuff, appart from the biltong, will kill ya mate

So, can someone give me an unemotional rundown of what the score will be today ? I am only 0.50 off “pole position” & I want it !

Ash

A gentleman ??? 😯

@ Rugby_Princess: I think the Boks will win comfortably today…I predict we will win by 20+

bos_otter wrote:

@ Rugby_Princess: I think the Boks will win comfortably today…I predict we will win by 20+

hope this doesn’t come back and bite me… 🙂

@ bos_otter:

You clearly read straight past the “unemotional” part of the question 🙄

rugby_princess @ 12
    of course
    i like rugby, streakers, cricket, streakers, of course i love my f1, streakers, watch a bit of tennis now and then, streakers
    so
    you can see … i’m a normal sort of guy!! 😉

RP @ 15
    with bos_otter on that one …. 20+

Big earthquake in Christchurch this morning – approx 7.1 magnitude 🙁 So far no deaths have been reported which is amazing when one considers the devastation that would have occurred most anywhere in Asia for the same sized quake.

RP @ 18
    😯 wow!! first i hear about that!! do you have family in christchurch? hope they’re allright?

Ash

No family there, niece at Uni south of there but she is fine 😀

18@ Rugby_Princess:
    What?? Did Richie McCaw fart out loud??

Howzit everyone. Firstly, my commiserations to our Christchurch brothers and sisters. Glad there have been no confirmed fatalities at this time. Best wishes at such a difficult time.

Back to matters rugby!!!Go the Wallas . . .

Wallabies are truly stung by last weeks result. Deans has stiffened up the forward pack. I’ll be interested in Loosehead’s appraisal of the pack. Don’t give up on this young squad just yet, even though I’m certainly out of patience when it comes to excuses and more excuses.

Make no bones about it: only a win will pacify the Aus fans, me included.

22@ Old Griquas 14 in Sydney:
    Hello Old Timer… how’s the ticker?

At last week’s aftter match press conference one could see that Robbie was seriously miffed. He was positively curt and sour… but I would have probably been too had my team blown a 27 / 7 lead.

Today I would expect defence on both sides to be better, and I think the teams will give everything, being their last match against one another for the year.

Bokke have a long rest after this, so they better not dissapoint!

Rugby_Princess wrote:

@ bos_otter:
    You clearly read straight past the “unemotional” part of the question

my wife calls me unemotional all the time..it’s sort of no longer registers when I see of hear it 🙂

G’day GBS mate. Ticker is doin fine right now, so I don’t want the status quo affected in the negative by another diabolical Wallas performance. Do you think it safe for me to watch, given my cardiologist is away on holidays???

South Africa is extremely lucky, weather wise…. we do not ever get Tsunami’s, Hurricanes and bad tropical storms.

We are not quake-prone either… I think the last little quake hit somewhere in the Free State in 1969, minor damage and very light in extent…

Hi all. Hoping for a nice comfortable 10 point today so we dont get the wooden spoon and then for the Sharks to own the Bulls and extend our lead at the top of the log 🙂

25@ Old Griquas 14 in Sydney:
    Take a chill-pil…. hehehe

Or do a good Red wine, to settle the nerves…

@ bos_otter:
    Howzit bos otter? Good luck to the boks tonight. Let’s hope it doesn’t degenerate into another of those weird, loose try-fest matches, like last week’s . . .
    Amazing when you see such a terrible defence from international sides, like we witnessed last week. I’m looking forward to more structure from both sides tonight, structure in attack and defence.

I saw the news headlines about the quake shortly after it happened this morning. Is like RP said…amazing that there has been no casualties so far. That was one powerfull quake.

GBS…When something like that happens in the freestate, almost no-one feels it….not a lot of us there 🙂

1 2 3 20

Total 28 users including 0 member, 28 guests, 0 bot online