The contractual dispute between the Cheetahs and Sharks over the services of wing Lionel Mapoe is set to add fuel to the fire of the rugby war that will be waged between the unions in Saturday’s Currie Cup match in Durban.

Free State believe that the Sharks “stole” Mapoe from under their noses under false pretences and believes he should return home after an arbitrator ruled in their favour.

However, Mapoe is kicking in his heels and does not want to go back to the Cheetahs.

The Sharks’ question to the Cheetahs is: Why does he not want to return? Look at yourselves first and you will then realise why he does not want to play for you.

In the meantime, the Mapoe-timebomb keeps ticking and it appears that the saga is set to continue for a while.

The Cheetahs’ emotions may well be channelled into their performance on the field on Saturday. There is nothing they would like more than to beat the log-leaders on their own field.

And with Meyer Bosman also set to leave Bloemfontein for Durban next year, it just makes things that much worse.

The battle of the boardrooms will certainly add spice to Saturday’s match.

For the Sharks, Friday night’s scrappy 30-14 win over the Pumas in Witbank was everything but ideal preparation for rugby’s version of the Rumble in the Jungle.

An excellent performance in the first 20 minutes was enough to secure five log points against the Pumas. After that the Sharks were unable to register more than a penalty in the last hour’s play.

“Yes, it wasn’t ideal,” admitted Sharks assistant coach Hugh Reece-Edwards. “But at least we spent most of the second half in their territory.”

“We could not finish and that is something we will have to look at. We gave away too much possession in that second half. That happens with the high-risk rugby that we play,” he said.

“They are a solid team that are a tough nut to crack for most sides. We are therefore delighted to be able to leave here with five points.”

Article by Christo Buchner

21 Responses to Mapoe adds fuel to the fire

Bloody poachers!

Is Mapoe still not back at the States? They need to start gettting their house and players in order.

At least they manage to win some CC games.

@ Snoek:
    You are right, the Sharks must get their house in order.

Here comes a thread with 150 comments of arguing…

The problem for the Cheetahs, is money, they need to solve that problem, it is the root of their problems.

Nothing will change until they have solved that, employ a man who finds money, someone sharp enough, it does not help to breed talent and give it a away, because that is what they have been doing forever.

You wanna beat the Sharks you have to beat them at their game, and the game is money.

@ biltongbek:
    Kak, we beat the Sharks [ and Bulls and WP] on a regular basis. 😆

Ja Boet, but you struggle with injuries in the super 14, due to depth, and that depth is elsewhere.

Leave Mapoepoe where he is. Can’t allow him to play for the Cheetahs anymore…sour grapes could cost us the game. Bugger him I say!! We are doing fine without him. Says a lot about the man character if he can’t even honour a contract. Have a nice life Mapoe….and good riddance

Skelms !!! 👿

@ bos_otter:

I agree, but they can not just let him get away with it !!!

There has to be implications because of his actions…

Otherwise it will just turn into a sircus out there… 😯

Sign SuperStar Mapoe over to the Sharks…give him to them, ask Real Madrid…you can’t buy a team…it will backfire eventually…

@ bos_otter:
    Hoor hoor!

Circus…jeez 😳

I don’t know if Sharks rugby can handle the ego’s of that silly little scrumhalve Mcleod, Keegan Daniel and Lionel Mapoe at the same time though…they might implode…

@ The Saint:

Have you looked at the Stormers with how many players they have bought? Habana, Fourie etc..

Blouste wrote:

@ bos_otter:
    I agree, but they can not just let him get away with it !!!
    There has to be implications because of his actions…
    Otherwise it will just turn into a sircus out there…

I hear ya, but what would you have him do? Can’t allow him to play…he might spoil it for us just to prove a point. Maybe get him to cut the lemoene just before halftime for the rest of the CC tournament? 🙂

Winston, Winston, Winston…

University of Natal delivering a few quality players of late? I know UCT and Stellenbosch has…

Mapoe should be sanctioned by SARU now…. banned for 2 seasons or such…

I agree. Saru should handle this and impose a ban or something…this just cannot go unpunished !!!

But hell, hoping on Saru to sort this out , ja wel….

Mapoe should be sanctioned by SARU now…. banned for 2 seasons or such…

now with that I will agree…ban the tokker!!

The Saint wrote:

Winston, Winston, Winston…
    University of Natal delivering a few quality players of late? I know UCT and Stellenbosch has…

I know that the Varisty side from Natal is not great, point is WP and Sharks have the same problem, we try and buy trophies through big name acquisitions and is has been proven time and time again that it does not work, hence we both sit in the same boat of buying too many players and not winning anything.

This thing with Mapoe is a balls up, I doubt he is going to go anywhere with his rugby, he has made his name shit after this, and this is from a Sharks supporter.

Total 50 users including 0 member, 50 guests, 0 bot online