Springboks coach Peter de Villiers’ mouth has gotten him in trouble again after he claimed that the Springboks were “100 per cent” in support of accused murderer and Bulls rugby prop Bees Roux.

Some media sources in South Africa have reported that De Villiers faces another enquiry by SARU officials after he said that “team supports (Roux) 100 per cent, not on the deed, but rather on the circumstances that led to the situation developing”. No official enquiry has been announced yet though.

Roux was charged with beating police officer to death in Pretoria last week and then claiming that he was acting in self defence as the officer was trying to rob him.

SARU president Oregan Hoskins told the site Times Live, “I have no comment to make at this stage, but I have seen the comments Peter made.

“I want the team to focus on Saturday’s Tri-Nations game against Australia in Bloemfontein.”

The site also quotes an unnamed official who said that de Villiers could face a charge of bringing the game into disrepute which might threaten his job.

“We are not only unhappy with what he said regarding the Roux incident, but also over his previous comments” the official reportedly said.

De Villiers has an extremely long history of spurting out comments which he is later forced to retract and just last month had charges brought against him after he suggested New Zealand had received preferential treatment from referees.

From my personal perspective here at Rugby-talk, Divvie made it clear that the DEED was not supported, but that the RUGBY FAMILY is supported. Not known for his diplomacy, Peter de Villiers might have been better served not commenting in public on the matter.

This takes more focus away from the Springboks immediate responsibilities, which in itself is a huge negative factor.

29 Responses to Divvie in trouble again, this time over Bees support

Just get used to Divvie people, relax. I am sure he said it in the same context as the Schalk Burger eye incident. He believes , albeit naive, that all rugby players are noble and good people and that they must first be found guilty before he will accept anything bad from them.

Why the press have to mention that he is a BB rugby player in every article i dont know. Whey dont they blame other groups also when there is a murder.

PDV doesn’t know when to keep quiet.
    That is all there is to this.
    Nothing more and nothing less.
    Unfortunately, because he never learns, everything he says is now considered fair game by the press.
    If he could only shut up, he would stop feeding the circus and making himself look stupid.
    He is well meaning but completely out of his depth.

I am sure that there cannot be many public figures who attracted more media attention in the last 18 months than PDV.

Perhaps he is taking his 15 minutes of fame to seriously.

I’m afraid I have to agree with you Tighthead. Why could he not have just stayed away from this issue or said something that he has faith in the rule of law or the justice system or something like that. Damnit man! There is a time for everything – even diplomacy….

@ fender:
    or just say no comment!

Ai Naka…wat maak jy man.

http://www.volksblad.com/Suid-Afrika/Nuus/Naka-gaan-skei-20100901

“Mnr. Naka Drotské, afrigter van die Vrystaat-Cheetahs, en sy vrou, Liske, gaan ná ’n huwelik van 11 jaar skei.

Die egskeidingsdagvaarding sal vandag in die Vrystaatse hooggeregshof in Bloemfontein uitgereik word.

Dit volg onder meer na bewerings en koerantberigte verlede jaar dat Drotské glo ’n owerspelige verhouding van twee jaar met die vrou van ’n gewese vriend gehad het.”

Maar aan die ander kant, die media weet, PDV is n’ bruisende borrelogiese wonder, en kan nie die “gas” contain nie.

6@ bos_otter:
    Wel as jy n’ verhouding met my vrou het, sal jy ook n’ gewese vrined wees.

@ fender:
    Unfortunately he confuses stupidity with “I am man enough to speak my mind”
    Trying to justify some of his crazy statements by claiming to exercize his right to speak his mind is pure ignorance.

I have asked for so bloody long now that SARU issues a Gag-Order on Snorrie… limiting him to very little to comment on…….. except who he selects to play, who is injured, what he thinks of his team’s chances and strategies for upcoming games or games which have just transpired…

He should have a standard response to question beyond this… “No comment, talk to the Bokke Media Spokesman”.

He speaks before thinking… it’s deeply ingrained in his personality…

On the one hand it makes him spontaneous and likable, on the other hand he makes a complete idiot of himself and SA Rugby….

Foot in Mouth disease is a terrible affliction at the best of times, but Both Feet in Mouth disease is particularly nasty!

Ja, the man cannot help himself.
    He is what he is and nothing will change that.
    The crazy part is that he represents SA rugby to the world.

12@ tight head:
    In my experience in life and dealing with such a vast amount of people on a very personal basis… it has been my experience that, almost without exception, people who are prone to speak before considering the contents carefully are either not bright alternatively suffer from self-esteem issues.

In Afrikaans we have a saying which I feel might apply very aptly… “Leë blikke maak die meeste geraas”, roughly translated to “Empty cans make the most noise”.

This worries me, because Snorrie’s job absolutely requires a master-tactitian and a very sharp mind.

10@ grootblousmile:
    No meneer, you don’t allow him to answer an open question, any question with what do you think, why this or that, how do you feel sbout…

He should answer yes or no questions only. and he should never use the word but either.

14@ biltongbek:
    Man, within 3 “Yes” or “No” questions I could commit anybody to be in trouble, whether he answered yes or no….

Hehehehe

Perfectly said GBS.
    You are so right with your assessment, and that is why I cannot see him winning a WC tournament which is an intense knock out competition that requires some very sharp and quick thinking in the heat of the moment or else you are back on the plane home before you know it.

Guys on voldys we had a similar get rid of Jake the snake campaign , we could not get rid of him, at least he saw the light and got EJ. Maybe with all this pressure on Divvie he might get a media spokesman and a assistant.

If so, this was worth it, if not it might turn the race cart on its head we are in for a rough ride.

Makes me think about the guy who meets his friend and in discussion old Ashley says “Hell, I’m always in trouble for the stupid things I do”

Tight head replies to Ashley that Ashley lacks some Common Sense…

Perplexed Ashley asks “What the hell is Common Sense?”

Tight Head says “Man, it’s easy, let me explain….” He places his Hand against a thick tree trunk with rough hard bark and instructs Ashley to bliksem his hand as hard as he possibly could with a fist.

Ashley of course is a bit apprehensive and says “Man, I have a vicious straight right, are you absolutely sure?”

Tight Head says “Go for it!”

Ashley lines up and thunders in with a beauty but just before his hand makes contact Tight Head withdraws his hand, just for Ashley to demolish his own fist on the tree.

Tight Head says…. you see, that’s Common Sense!

Ashley goes off, farked fist and all… he now knows what Common Sense is, you see.

He meets up with his friend, Loosehead, on the way and proudly declares that he now knows what Common Sense is

Loosehead, a bit on the dim side himself, asks for an explanation.

Ashley looks around for a tree, but cannot find one… not a single tree in sight, so he places his hand in front of his own face as a substitute for the tree and instructs Loosehead to bliksem it as hard as he possibly can.

Guess it is Common Sense that Ashley woke up 3 days later in hospital….. hehehe

PdV should never ever have commented on this. Don’t think it was right for him to do so.

I disagree with all of you about everything concerning Snorrie, had a whole lot typed out but thought just keep it short and sweet.

Met Uysh said this on his blog, he is a blogger here too and soon we will see some of his articles right here. He was invited to our growing list of Authors. Welcome Met Uysh

I just don’t get why the media is so up in arms because the Springboks are supporting Bees Roux in these trying times. Our justice system works on the principle that you are presumed innocent until proven guilty. In Bees case, whether he is a rugby player or a politician doesn’t change that presumption. At this moment in time, he is innocent. He can only be guilty of murder if the prosecution can prove to the judge that Bees did in fact MURDER the metro police officer.

So, on the presumption, that Bees is innocent at this moment in time, why should his Bulls friends and those guys who have played with him, not support him?

True, innocent until proven guilty.

Ex – farking – actly !!!!!!!!!!

21@ superBul:
    22@ Snoek:
    23@ Blouste:

I agree fully, Bees is innocent until proven guilty…. it is a wonderful system of Law we should protect with our lives…. BUT

Snorrie’s statements is still wrong in the context of whether he should have given public Springbok support to the issue, without knowing the facts as a given. It is controvertial backing someone who stands accused and in the South African context is was plain unnessessary to blabber about it.

Bees’s own Union, The Bulls, handled it correctly… acknowledging that there was an incident but refusing to make a statement about support. They also handled it well, giving the player compassionate leave.

Compare the 2 scenarios… Snorrie or the Bulls and decide which was the better and diplomatic approach.

Yes, also true, just so tired of always having to be diplomatic… 🙁

25@ Blouste:
    I suppose we are all gatvol of being Politically Correct in SA…

But this to me is a bit more than that, it’s about when to know when to open your mouth, even if just to change feet.

In any of our opposing esteemed rugby countries, a coach who spoke like this would have been frowned on too, if not severely repremanded.

One has to be somewhat of a Diplomat as a coach.

Hi there.

I can see, after reading the comments on my blog post referred to by superbul, why people are up in arms about it. I actually don’t think Bok supporters are up in arms about the fact that they support Bees as such. It is more that he has said something that gave the media ammo again to shoot him down. Yes, there are the people who turns the whole thing around and say the Bokke is now supporting a murderer, but that the extreme minorities. Most sensible people, imo, understand what Divvie’s intentions were when he said what he did.

One has to question the media’s motives though. They did not have to publish the story and they sometimes go to great lengths to discredit divvie. Yes, he says stupid things, but the media tend to “ruk die dam onder die een se hol uit” with what he says and they don’t try and understand what he is saying.

Even Victor has been a victim of the media’s bloodthirsty attempts to discredit the Boks, when they said Matfield accused the All Blacks of dodgy tactics in the line outs. Reading the article, I could not understand from Matfield’s quotes how they came to that conclusion of him accusing them of dodgy tactics. And afterwards, even Victor twittered Brednen Nel and asked him who is writing that nonsense, because he just said they have to prevent the all blacks from throwing the ball in quickly. I actually wrote a post about this back then as well. http://blogs.sport24.co.za/uysh/dodgy-all-blacks-and-the-lying-media

So, I think it is not only a “Referee conspiracy” but there seems to be a total media conspiracy against the Boks as well for some reason. Maybe they want the Boks to fail so they can be vindicated in their view that DIvvie is out of his depth?

28@ Met Uysh:
    The media is a bunch is sensation-seeking, blood-sucking leetches (mmmmm for a moment I could have been speaking about the Sharks rugby team… sorry… hehehe) …. and they will look for the smallest possible slip to “Ruk die dam onder die eend se hol uit”, as you phrased it.

With Snorrie it makes it just much easier for them, he continues to give them ammo, to bliksem him, us, SA, rugby and the Bokke…

He should just curb his mouth… “‘n Toe Bek is ‘n heel bek!”.

There are such a lot of false people amongst the journalists, butter won’t melt in their mouths in front of you, but behind your back they will stab and stab….. they know who they are, sleg klomp bliksems! Then again, there are some good guys as well, like Louis de Villiers and a few others.

Total 23 users including 0 member, 23 guests, 0 bot online