Springbok coach Peter de Villiers has made just one change to his starting XV to play the All Blacks in Hamilton on Saturday, promoting Frans Steyn from the bench to fullback at the expense of Ruan Pienaar.

IOL Sport

That one change is good news for Bryan Habana fans.

The wing has passed a fitness test and while he is still receiving treatment on his suspect hamstring, he is expected to start.

The bad news is that No 8 Pierre Spies has picked up a slight groin strain and, while he is has been selected, there is growing concern over his fitness.

The coach said Danie Rossouw is on stand by for Spies.

De Villiers said he had brought in Steyn to counter the expected kicking threat of Dan Carter and Stephen Donald.

With Carter moving to centre to solve an injury crisis in that position and Donald coming into the team at 10, the All Blacks have two kickers working alongside each other and have the added bonus of having a left foot-right foot combination.

“It is horses for courses selection,” De Villiers said of bringing in Steyn.

“Carter will kick a lot from centre and with Frans at the back we hopefully can turn those kicks around and put the pressure back on them. Frans has a huge boot and we want to use it to dictate terms rather than have ourselves dictated to.”

Springboks
Frans Steyn, Odwa Ndungane, Jaque Fourie, Jean de Villiers, Bryan Habana, Morne Steyn, Fourie du Preez, Pierre Spies, Juan Smith, Heinrich Brussow, Victor Matfield, Bakkies Botha, John Smit (captain) Bismarck du Plessis, Tendai Mtawarira.

Substitutes
Chiliboy Ralepelle, Jannie du Plessis, Danie Rossouw, Schalk Burger, Ricky Januarie, Adi Jacobs, Ruan Pienaar.

22 Responses to Only one change for Boks

Horses for courses Janne.

PdeV must have confused Ruan with Gysie.
    Ruan is a scrumhalf, not a fullback.
    He can stand in as flyhalf if he needed to, but he is a scrumhalf, and a classy one at that.
    Always has been and always will be, a scrumhalf.

Helloooooooooooooooooooooooo

Now this is a Team I am happy with… question is,are they mentally switched on, focussed, 150% ready?

Thats where the difference will lie, compared to last week.

@Pietman – op die stadium weet hy self nie wat hy is nie,wat n legendariese springbok loopbaan kon word is nou n moosa flokop

Good move to bring FS back, but Bok management is turning RP into another Brent Russel. Immensely talented, but unable to secure a permanent position in the backline. Pienaar can cover 9-15 adequately, but will never excel unless he can settle into 1 position and stay there 90% of the time. He can cover other positions in an emergency for the other 10%. He is a great scrummie, and almost as good at 10, but he has had no time to develop in either possie, so guess what, his game will suffer, as it will with most players who are moved all over the show.

@Lion4ever – Agree 100 percent with you

I like this team. Frans S at fullback good move.
    Guess the message to SA fullbacks is that the race for nr 15 at the end of year tour, is wide open.

Pleased to see Frans back at FB. If Spies is not 100% I would have had Kanko on the bench to cover for him. Still have Danie there so thats good too.

Really feel a lot better with Frans at FB for this game.

Forgot. Morning all.

@Puma
    Good evening Puma!

@isigidi – Wish that PdV would still select Frans even if he is going to play overseas. He should have stayed in SA until after the world cup 2011. He would have kept the FB position I have no doubt. Now not sure who will get it. Maybe Zane. Still think Zane needs another 14 next year and maybe he will be ready.

@Puma – meant S14

@ Puma – Howzit Puma

Wat’s our chance to beat the bulls this weekend? If we can manage that, we should definately get a home semi. Very important to focus on the task at hand this weekend.

@Pietman – Evening to you Piet, Its morning here in Umhlanga lovely day overcast for a change. Need the rain.

@Puma – Morning Puma. Zane is not the answer. Carthorse. I agree…..FS at fullback.

@Snoek – Well its at Loftus so thats tough on its own. Why Muller is in NZ is pure daft. He should have been here to play for the Sharks.

Think we can still win it. Hoping and yes if we do we will have a home semi.

Still think its going to be a Bulls/Sharks final. If one of us land up on top of the log and the other at 2 or 3 we wont play each other in the semi but probably the final. Nothing better than watching Sharks/Bulls games at full strength as good as watching a international.

@K9-MonsterLeeu – Thats who I would select all the time. FS even if he goes overseas. My feeling is if he knew he was going to get the FB position he just may have stayed here in SA. Pity. Hope they still select him. Also hope he has a great game this Saturday. Think he was missed at the back last week and he is wasted on the bench.

@K9-MonsterLeeu – Forgot to say Morning K9.

Soos ‘n goeie vriend van my eendag gesê het….

Ja, maar…..
    Wat die Putco busmechanic daar soek weet ek nie.
    Goeie span egter. Sou ook eerder ‘n Alberts of ‘n Deysel op die bank gesoek het.

@KingPaul – of Vermeulen.

@K9-MonsterLeeu – Of ‘n Brock 😆

@KingPaul – julle beter vashou aan Brock. Die bulle soek hom 🙄

Total 241 users including 0 member, 241 guests, 0 bot online