Interesting statistics about Bokke players…. not your normal stats.

Surname occurence
du Plessis 11
Morkel 10
Botha 8
Muller 7
Smith 7
van der Merwe 7

Father-Sons representing South Africa
Alf Walker and Harry Walker
Mauritz van den Berg and Derek van den Berg
Felix du Plessis and Morné du Plessis
Louis Schmidt and Uli Schmidt
Moaner van Heerden and Wikus van Heerden
Gysie Pienaar and Ruan Pienaar
Schalk Burger and Schalk (junior) Burger
Hennie Bekker and Andries Bekker

Brothers representing South Africa
Oupa Versfeld and Hasie Versfeld
Charlie van Renen  and Bertie van Renen
Tiger Devenish and Charlie Devenish
Sommie Morkel and Dougie Morkel
Paul Roos and Gideon Roos
Anton Stegmann and Jan Stegmann
Arthur Marsberg and Archie Marsberg
Henry Walker and Alf Walker
John Luyt and Dick Luyt and Lammetjie Luyt
Gerhard Morkel and Jacky Morkel
Bennie Osler and Sharkey Osler
JC van der Westhuizen and Ponie van der Westhuizen
Boy Louw and Fanie Louw
Jaap Bekker and Dolf Bekker and Martiens Bekker
Charlie Cockrell and Robert Cockrell
Robbie Barnard and Jannie Barnard
Ian McCallum and Roy McCallum
Polla Fourie and Tossie Fourie
Joggie Jansen and Eben Jansen
Jackie Snyman and Dawie Snyman
Darius Botha and Naas Botha
Willie du Plessis and Michael du Plessis and Carel du Plessis
Helgard Muller and Pieter Muller
Geo Cronjé and Jacques Cronjé
Akona Ndungane and Odwa Ndungane
Jannie du Plessis and Bismarck du Plessis

Places with the most born players
Cape Town 49
Johannesburg 32
Pretoria 32
Kimberley 25
Paarl 22
Bloemfontein 19
Port Elizabeth 16
Durban 15

And besides our own webmaster GBS, the following Boks celebrate their birthday today:

Daan du Plessis 08 Sep 1948   (61 years)
Os du Randt 08 Sep 1972   (37 years)
Ashwin Willemse 08 Sep 1981   (28  years)

Congrats!

118 Responses to Not your everyday Bok stats

@Boerboel – See you Boerboel.

@Puma – Good to catch up Puma…

@JimT – 90 Makes me thing perhaps I should think before I post, but then again!! Perhaps not!….

@carol – 93 Well you can be tracked down rather easily – Carol in the Cotswolds, owning horses & dogs. I mean how many Carols fit that bill? 🙂

@JimT – 94 There must be masses of us!!
    Jim nice to chat, time to log out, till another time.

Say goodnight to the Birthday Blogger if you see him!!

Outta Here

Oi…. what a time for Helkom, our National Telephone provider to work on our specific ADSL Exchange… have switched over to 3G now after I had a rather heated conversation with 2 of Telkom’s dumbest employees… was put through to a superviser, after I threatened bodily harm… to be told they’re working on our Exchange.

Why in this world do you have to go bonkers before somebody with 2 braincells eventually helps you??

97@carol – I’m going horisontal now…. cheers

Goeie nag, slaap sag

Yeah…. Life is a song, you know!

@grootblousmile – Ag dankie, jy ook,
    Sing hom vit volle bors!! xx

Supa,
    Great article, thx, right up my ally, luv it!
    Very informative, didn’t know about Jacques and Geo for instance.

@isigidi
    No, neither of the Besters played for SA, and rightly so.
    They very kuk, strong and dumb as oxen, very dirty players.
    How Piet made it through the bar exam still remains a miracle (he is an advocate in Kimberley), and Andre was the instigater of ‘MarkgraafGate’.
    Not nice people, the Bester brothers….

Still on the topic of stats, Bafana have lost their 6th match in a row, against Ireland ‘B’!
    How kuk is that?
    And not as much as a whisper from the soccer supporters….they are probably too busy watching British soccer (Grant10, Transformer and those other poefterball groupies on Voldy….).

Time to introduce quotas I say, and reduce salaries, starting with the coach and Danny Jordaan 🙂

Bafana to lose the opening match in WC2010, I tell you, watch the scandal unfolds.
    And all this while everybody in the SA Sports Council and other councils like Badhat’s Racist and Transformer Group are shitting themselves about the Springboks, their emblem, black representation, ‘Dutchmen and Derde Mag’ etc…..makes no sense.

Ok, back to bed, too many typo’s through sleepy eyes…..
    Laters all.

Everybody still having a lay-in this morning it seems, all babalaas after GBS’s bifday party yesterday, or what?

Supa, btw Dolf bekker was a double Springbok.
    SA heavyweight boxer at the Olympics.
    His sister Wilma as well, discus.

Onby father and son combo ever to captain the boks , felix and morne dup

104@Pietman – If not being up at 06:30 means “laying-in” then yes, I lie in every morning !!

Fark !

Mense wat daai tyd al wakker is, hulle het iets wat hulle worry…. iets wat hulle verkeerd gedoen het…. hulle sondes haal hulle in !

102 Pietman, I really don’t know what to make of your post. I was under the impression that this is a rugby and chat blog (that why I signed up anyway) and that a general understanding existed that politics be left to the politicians?

Maybe the clutch slipped at that unearthly hour? 😉

And besides our own webmaster GBS, the following Boks celebrate their birthday today:

Daan du Plessis 08 Sep 1948 (61 years)

Wow ek ken Oom Daan goed!!!! sy vrou was my graad 1 onnie, sy en my ma het jaaaaaare saam skoolgegee. sy is oorlede agv geas op die brein….ek onthou net Oom Daan het 2 hoenders ge eet as ons daar ge-eet het en die res van ons almal saam een 😆

and once again proof that Cape Town produces the most boks….eish….dis lekker om in die kaap te bly!!!!

@Tripples – #109…geas=gewas

how many rugby and cricket springboks are there?

@fender
    Just talking to myself, no worries!

@smallies72
    Only one cricketer as far as I know, Clive van Ryneveld.

There are a few Springbok athhletes/players though, eg.Drickus Hattingh.

@fender
    And my unearthly hour and yours are probably not the same 🙂
    I am not on on SA time….

@Tripples – Daan Dup al 61????? Hy het jaaaaare terug my knie geopereer.

Pietman, ok that makes sense; I was trying to figure out when you managed to sleep! 🙂

@Pietman – 114 jaco reinach

Total 57 users including 0 member, 57 guests, 0 bot online