The Leopards met Griquas in Potchefstroom tonight, where Griquas won a tight encounter, 34 / 33.

Griquas secured 5 Log points and kept their fight for a Currie Cup semi-final alive by scoring 4 tries and hanging on to defend a 1 point lead from a game Leopards team, who seems to be improving as the season unfolds.

The four-tries-to-two, bonus-point win cemented Griquas’ place in the top four and they could even find themselves in third place by the end of the weekend – depending on the Saturday matches.

For the Leopards it was scant consolation to get only a losing bonus point.

The scorers:

For the Leopards:
Tries:
Dames, Samaai
Con: Dumond
Pens: Dumond 7

For Griquas:
Tries:
Barnes, Basson, Geel, Nontshinga
Cons: Olivier 4
Pens: Olivier, Viljoen

Leopards – 15 Russell Jeacocks, 14 Danie Dames, 13 Jovan Bowles, 12 Basil de Doncker, 11 Bom Samaai, 10 Cecil Dumont, 9 Michael Bondesio, 8 Christo van Niekerk, 7 Thabo Mamojele, 6 Wilhelm Koch (c), 5 Edrich Linde, 4 Rudi Mathee, 3 Philip Lemmer, 2 Marthinus van der Westhuizen, 1 Nardus Lombard.
Subs: 16 Gavin Williamson, 17 Os van der Walt, 18 Bennie Adams, 19 Riaan Swanepoel, 20 Jean Tiedt, 21 Clayton Durand, 22 Nicky Kritzinger.

Griquas – 15 Riaan Viljoen, 14 Bjorn Basson, 13 Wilmaure Louw, 12 Barry Geel, 11 Trompie Nontshinga, 10 Naas Olivier, 9 Dougie Hellmuth, 8 Jonathan Mokuena (c), 7 Davon Raubenheimer, 6 Rohan Kitshoff, 5 Jacques Lombard, 4 Cecil Kemp, 3 Albertus Buckle, 2 Ryno Barnes, 1 Zane Kilian.
Subs: 16 Simon Westraadt, 17 Ruaan du Preez, 18 Nolan Clark, 19 Sean Plaatjies, 20 Sarel Pretorius, 21 Jaco Bekker, 22 Gavin Passens.

112 Responses to Leopards 33 vs Griquas 34 (f/t) – Game Thread and Summary

Taai wedstryd hierdie. Luihonne word al beter, en die Griekse kwasse word al slegter, soos die seisoen vorder.

Jeeeeeezz, Leopards almost scored…. last pass fumble

1 min 30 seconds left

Hooter…. game over

1 POINT win… for Kwas

@grootblousmile

Dammit…geluk aan die Kwas supporters! Ek ken net twee, maar geluk!

93 @grootblousmile – het vir my gelyk asof Olivier daardie bal agtertoe geslaan het, maar ek kon nie mooi sien nie.

Fork Supa, die Kwas het nou 5 Log punte gevat…. so hulle is weer in met ‘n kans…

96@bdb – Hy het ja, maar vanaf ‘n vorentoe-aanslaan deur die Leopard-speler…

@grootblousmile

Ja, ons is nou 4de, as die Cheetahs die Leeus wen met n bonus en ons verloor is ons 5de. Maar die Kwas sal nie die semis maak nie. Dis dalk goed dat hulle gewen het, dalk gee hulle die spanne in Kimberley weer n harde tyd. Ons was darem klaar daar.

@Supa Die Bloubul

en ons verloor sonder n bonus.

Daai Bulletjies moet nou begin rugby speel, speletjies is nou verby. Bokbulle kan nie alles doen nie.

@bdb

Hierdie volgende twee weke bepaal waar ons eindig. Wen ons altwee, gaan ons eerste eindig. Wens ons een, sal ons die semi haal en derde eindig, met n skraal kans vir tweede. Verloor ons altwee is ons op gelyke voet met die Cheetahs en Leeus om die semis te haal.

Dit was nogal ‘n mooi game die, deur 2 spanne wat vanaand lus was om positiewe rugby te speel.

102 @Supa Die Bloubul – goed opgesom. ‘n Tuissemi- en moontlike finaal by die huis is deesdae baie belangrik, veral omdat die spanne so naby aan mekaar lê. So more en volgende saterdag gaan ‘n baie groot invloed op die finale ‘standings’ hê.

Kyk wat skryf Campo in sy artikel op rugbyzone, oor die Bokke:

“And I can’t see the coach accepting any praise for this state of affairs. They are such a good team and have such confidence at the moment that all you have to do is manage them and they’ll see to the rest. At the moment the Boks should not be losing Test matches, however there were some elements that should concern them. Their scrum did not go well, although these days that is always a lottery because I don’t think any of the referees actually knows what goes on in there, and there has been a tendency for them to lose momentum once the reserves come on rather than gaining extra impetus. That is something they’re going to have to look at.”

OK, gentlemen and ladies…. I wish you a wonderful Friday evening… see you in the Morning again, for the Bokke match.

I’m going to schedule a Bokke match Thread now to appear as from 08:00 in the morning.

Gooi Mieliessssssss !

Morning anyone ?

Waars jy Koos ?

Morning Manly. How goes it in Aussie?

Howzit Loosehead, hoping for a close out for us this weekend which will give me bragging rights, wat maak jy so vroeg op?

Below an article from Rugbyheaven, from a whingy whiny Crowdwn

New-look Wallabies can atone for losses

September 5, 2009

The Wallabies haven’t been beaten by the Springboks in Brisbane
    since 1971. In a bid to keep that record intact and to score
    Australia’s first Tri Nations victory of the season, Greg Growden
    offers his seven secrets to success.

Use Boks’ gloating as motivation.

The Springboks have got away with so much during this Tri Nations. Admittedly, they are an outstanding team, but have performed to about only 60 per cent of their capabilities because New Zealand and Australia have played into their hands. The Springboks have been allowed to cruise, and it is time to put the pressure on them and see if they can respond. The ramblings of Springbok coach Peter de Villiers should be used to spur the Wallabies. His latest babble is a never-ending Springboks chest-beat. Earlier this week he said: ”You never know when you’re at the top [of your game]. I know this team can go much, much higher. And I know there is also much more talent in the [South African] rugby cattle. Now we’re at the point where we can trust each other, we can work on the little things that can make them so much better. It’s frightening to know, [considering] the amount of mistakes [made] on a weekend when you have played so well, the amount of mistakes they made and how good they can be [if] clinical in their execution. So yes, we trust each other, we know where we can be and we know where we want to be but we’re not taking anything for granted.” There’s only one way to stop this mumbo jumbo. De Villiers will at last shut up when the Springboks lose.

Make a mockery of de Villiers’s rants about the Wallabies scrum.

Wow, what a surprise, de Villiers started moaning about the Australian pack after the Springboks had several penalties awarded against them in Perth. For de Villiers to then whinge to the IRB seeking clarification is over the top. The IRB should put de Villiers in his box by clarifying to him that the fact is Wallabies loose-head Benn Robinson dished up his opposite, Springboks captain John Smit, fair and square for the second Test running. De Villiers has to face the fact that Robinson is a class above Smit. This de Villiers attack is just a mischievous, diversionary tactic. The referee has to ignore it. As shown during the Bakkies Botha armband debacle, the Springboks think they can get away with anything, and it is up to someone to stand up to them.

Do what you preach.
    September 5, 2009

The Wallabies haven’t been beaten by the Springboks in Brisbane
    since 1971. In a bid to keep that record intact and to score
    Australia’s first Tri Nations victory of the season, Greg Growden
    offers his seven secrets to success.

Use Boks’ gloating as motivation.

The Springboks have got away with so much during this Tri Nations. Admittedly, they are an outstanding team, but have performed to about only 60 per cent of their capabilities because New Zealand and Australia have played into their hands. The Springboks have been allowed to cruise, and it is time to put the pressure on them and see if they can respond. The ramblings of Springbok coach Peter de Villiers should be used to spur the Wallabies. His latest babble is a never-ending Springboks chest-beat. Earlier this week he said: ”You never know when you’re at the top [of your game]. I know this team can go much, much higher. And I know there is also much more talent in the [South African] rugby cattle. Now we’re at the point where we can trust each other, we can work on the little things that can make them so much better. It’s frightening to know, [considering] the amount of mistakes [made] on a weekend when you have played so well, the amount of mistakes they made and how good they can be [if] clinical in their execution. So yes, we trust each other, we know where we can be and we know where we want to be but we’re not taking anything for granted.” There’s only one way to stop this mumbo jumbo. De Villiers will at last shut up when the Springboks lose.

Make a mockery of de Villiers’s rants about the Wallabies scrum.

Wow, what a surprise, de Villiers started moaning about the Australian pack after the Springboks had several penalties awarded against them in Perth. For de Villiers to then whinge to the IRB seeking clarification is over the top. The IRB should put de Villiers in his box by clarifying to him that the fact is Wallabies loose-head Benn Robinson dished up his opposite, Springboks captain John Smit, fair and square for the second Test running. De Villiers has to face the fact that Robinson is a class above Smit. This de Villiers attack is just a mischievous, diversionary tactic. The referee has to ignore it. As shown during the Bakkies Botha armband debacle, the Springboks think they can get away with anything, and it is up to someone to stand up to them.

Do what you preach.

The Wallabies have gone on and on about the importance of playing 80 minutes. They have said it after every loss. They must actually say it to each other on the field because the message is not getting through. During the Tri Nations, each game has been marred by dead periods, the worst being in Perth when the Wallabies went missing for 70 minutes, only getting their act together in the final stages to show that the Springboks are not as impenetrable as their chest-beating team management continually carries on about. It takes an enormous amount of dedication and mental strength to keep at it, but a new, revitalised line-up could provide the required stimulus.

Faster service to the back line.

That is bound to happen with the Papua New Guinea-born Will ”Sanchez” Genia being promoted to the No.1 halfback role. Matt Giteau might be able to think about the game, rather than endlessly worry about if he is going to be impaled into the boundary fence as he leaps this way and that attempting to grab the latest wild pass from Luke Burgess. Burgess is a good player but his confidence has been shot in recent weeks, leading to a disintegration of his combination with Giteau. Genia is much faster and provides slicker service, and this should help unleash Giteau, Berrick Barnes and Adam Ashley-Cooper. And keep an eye out on Genia’s sneaky flick pass. It does lead to tries – match-winning tries. And to continue the PNG flavour, as opposing teams have been concerned the Springboks have somehow deciphered their lineout calls, the Wallabies should tonight scream them out in pidgin English.

Newcomers to make their mark.

Genia will handle the transition and so, too, should David Pocock, the new Wallabies openside flanker. His pairing with George Smith at No.8 should also help the Australian captain be even more dangerous. Pocock had been relatively quiet coming off the bench this season, until last week when he played the last 32 minutes of the Perth Test, when his work rate and presence were high. And Pocock is bound to fire against the Springboks because the team means so much to him. As a Zimbabwean, it was the team he admired and aspired to be part of as a youngster. Nonetheless, Pocock knows exactly what is required to make his mark against the Springboks, and he will be striving to do that. It is important that he is notable because the Wallabies’ work at the breakdown has been well below average this season, with them being swamped in that area by the All Blacks and Springboks. A once strong area has become somewhat flimsy, and a big reason for their endless defeats.

Give something back to the coaching staff.

It is time for several players to indicate why the Wallabies selectors have shown faith in them. There has been a gradual progression in getting rid of some of the dead wood in the team, and with it has emerged a new look. Some of the old faces remain, but overall it is still an extremely young line-up. You can see that a lot of the new pups want to issue their thanks by producing standout performances, and now is the time to do that because five Tri Nations losses in a row this year is hardly the way to properly deliver a 50th birthday present to their coach.

Put pressure on Morne Steyn.

It is as if Steyn is a protected species. The Springboks five-eighth is hardly tackled, does exactly what he wants and through that can dominate the game from second gear. It is up to Rocky Elsom, Pocock and Smith to get right in his face, and then let’s see what he does. It wouldn’t surprise that if this occurs the gloom over the Wallabies will suddenly lift.

Net om julle op te start, in die regte gees te kry.

Total 42 users including 1 member, 41 guests, 0 bot online

• Scrumdown