September 9, 2009 – 2:52PM

The South African rugby team’s snub of Hamilton drew a haughty reaction from New Zealand Prime Minister John Key and other officials as they set about selling this country as an attractive destination in 2011.

Key, dignitaries from the International Rugby Board and leading New Zealand rugby officials gathered in Hamilton to mark the date – two years out from the start of the 2011 rugby World Cup hosted by New Zealand.

On hand was All Blacks captain Richie McCaw although there was no representation from the world champion Springboks, who have elected to conduct most of their preparation on Queensland’s Gold Coast ahead of the Tri-Nations Test against New Zealand on Saturday.

South African coach Peter de Villiers stirred up local sentiment by explaining his players risked going stale if they arrived earlier as “there is nothing in Hamilton”.

He has them preparing in the bright lights and relative seclusion of Surfers Paradise before crossing the Tasman on Thursday.

Key took umbrage at that attitude and anticipated it would backfire.

“I actually think it’s South Africa’s loss,” he said.

“I think it’s misguided actually and I think when they come here on Saturday night, they’ll come to realise that they like the place even less when they’ve been thumped by the All Blacks.”

The head of the tournament organising group, Rugby New Zealand 2011 Ltd chief executive Martin Snedden, also took a subtle pot-shot.

Snedden was discussing the process of allocating each of the 20 participating teams to various “base” cities where they will train and live during the World Cup.

None had yet been announced although Snedden could not resist a dig at the Springboks.

“We’ve had to radically change our planning this morning, realising that the idea of having South Africa based here (Hamilton) for five weeks is probably not the most sensible thing to do.”

© 2009 NZPA

19 Responses to Kiwi PM hits out at ‘misguided’ Boks

Next time these guys decide to prepare in Cape Town or Durban for games elsewhere, us Janne should also take umbrage I suppose. Or do they have sole rights to taking umbrage?

@SA Barbarians

Now now … ABs stay where they think is best of the team & almost without exception train at local high school grounds. The Boks have the clear right to stay where they like, but I dont recall ABs ever dissing any of your lesser known destinations …

I do like Sneden’s chirp though 😆

NZ is the first world country with the highest rate of food poisoning.
    Fact.
    Rather stick to Wattie’s All Day Breakfeast and bread than to try the local cuisine.

I remember the days when the All blacks, Wallabies and british lions visited and played at remote towns in SA, places such as Kimberley, Cradock and Upington.
    It was great for the locals to meet these players out on the street, in shops, at schools where they coached, in the oubs, yes even at their home for a drink or a braai.

I don’t agree with the boks not spending time in Hamilton. They are in NZ as guests, and to do a job.
    And they represent our country.
    They are acting like blooming movie stars and offending people who were looking forward to receving them open-heartedly.

Preparing out in the dry, hot Oz west coast when they have to play the AB’s on a wet, chilly pitch in NZ is also not a bright idea.
    They will experience that, and the wrath of all moolah county and Kiwis on Saturday….

@Pietman
    And apart from that, most Springboks come from places like Wellington, paarl, Bethlehem, Newcastle, Secunda, White River, Riversdale, Pietesburg.
    It is not as if they are ‘city slickers’ who need to be entertained in night clubs and ski resorts….

@Pietman – Stem heelhartig met jou saam Pietman

Morning everyone

@Pietman – You are 100% correct there Piet. Agree with you.

Think maybe they wanted to train on dry grounds but like you say they will be playing on a wet field so should probably have been training in Hamilton.

coach 1: “you’re the best team”
    coach 2: “no, you’re the best team”
    coach 1: (smiling) no, you’ve got it wrong, you’re the best, so you’re the favourates”
    coach 2: (grinning) no no no no, you’re the best, so YOU are the favourates”

remember the above scenarios from the last few years? remember the reaction of bloggers to this “you’re cellphone is smaller than mine” discussion between coaches before important games?
    yes, most bloggers felt like vomiting (thanks luke, for allowing me free use of your phrase) on those coaches.

to come back to the boks … i believe they were always going to stay in aus after that last game … and yes, maybe pdv just needed to say so!!

to the nzlanders … get a life! rather worry about your own team’s performance and the fact that your team still buckle under pressure!!

to the sa contingent … if nz could do the same (if they could just “hop” over here a few days before a game, they would do that!
    in fact,
    we (the sa sapporters)wouldve gone on about the genius of gh for avoiding the sa media, unnecessary pressure and of course distractions!

back to the nzlanders … its good manners to inform anyone BEFOREHAND of “meetings” etc planned within the week of a test so that you can plan around that!

to the sa contingent … had we expected the same of nz, and it became known that “the clowns” at sarugby did not inform the nzlanders of something like this in advance,
    it wouldve been all doom and gloom on most sa rugby blogs for quite a few days!!

anyway, i think our players deserved the break away from the game (even if it was for a few days).

back to the nzlanders (for the last time) pleeeeeeeease go on, please continue shooting your mouths off,
    we’ll see you on saturday!!

oh, and hellooooooooooooo everyone
    hope everyone is in as good a mood as i am? 😀

@Ashley – genade, as dit ‘n good mood is wil ekkie jou baaaaad mood sien nie….hehehe

GO BOKKE, Klap hulle stukkend

@Ashley – ons almal weet as die Kiwis nie kan biotch en moan nie, hulle net nie soos volwaardige mense voel nie 😆

the cream on top would be to see the pm face if the boks do beat the ab……..seems we are not the only ones who have a problem with a prominent personality shooting his mouth off.

9@Tripples
    😀 of soos shakespeare sou sê:
    “moer hulle!!”

@Martin – So true……I love it…egg in your face Mr PM hehehehe

Last time I went for a dance lesson, I was told it takes two to tango, Mr PM

@SA Barbarians – #14 en ek hoop net nie die AB’s dink hulle gaan Saterdag ‘n tango doen nie, meer soos bietjie boerdery (ploeg) en mud wrestling 😆

@SA Barbarians – OK I have to admit that was before the professional era 🙂

@Tripples – hehehhe Bakkies en Bad Brad oefen al die hele week hulle steps

@SA Barbarians – Hoop nie hulle fight oor wie die hy en wie die sy gaan wees nie!

@SA Barbarians -#16 😆

Total 26 users including 0 member, 26 guests, 0 bot online