Luke Watson said the key to Western Province’s 21-9 victory over the Sharks in Durban was his team’s ability to stamp its authority on the match in the second half.

The Province skipper praised his players’ efforts to regroup after errors thwarted their best efforts earlier in the match.
“In the beginning we (WP) were were disrupted because we were not so clinical,” said Watson (pictured).

“We let ourselves down but the good thing was that we were able to compose ourselves and put our structures back into place.

“As the Sharks were on top of the (Currie Cup) table it was never going to be an easy game coming here, and they did not disappoint us.

“At times, I thought we were quite clinical and we came here (Durban) for four points, so we were are very happy.”

Sharks skipper Johan Muller cut a very sad figure after the match, which was the side’s second defeat of the season. The Sharks also lost their first-round meeting against Province, who triumphed 29-15 at Newlands last month.

“We are very disappointed losing at home, especially as we really wanted to win this one,” said Muller.

“But you have to give Province credit because their defence was absolutely outstanding.

“They put us under a lot of pressure at ruck time and their ball feeders were outstanding.

“We just couldn’t get our game going. “We’ve had six wins in a row and that’s great for any side but the most disappointing thing is that we lost at home.

“We (the Sharks) love this place (Absa Stadium) and we don’t want to lose here. To come away with no points is not great.”

Province lock Anton van Zyl was named ‘Man-of-the-Match’ for his sterling performance in the tight exchanges. “It’s a wonderful feeling winning the award but I must give credit to the rest of the pack,” said Van Zyl.

“Our front row was outstanding in the scrums today and our loosies put a lot of pressure on the Sharks at the breakdowns. “When Province scored that try after halftime we played catch-up rugby from that point onwards.”

This victory allows Province to move to the top of the log as they advanced their points tally from 24 to 28 points. The Sharks, the hitherto log-leaders, will remain on 27 points, after they failed to collect a single point from Saturday afternoon’s clash.

Next week the Sharks will be away to Boland in Wellington, while Province will host the Blue Bulls at Newlands.

22 Responses to WP go top of the Currie Cup log with impressive “Fishing Expedition”

Jannie jammergat WP, we’re coming for you…. message from the Bulls !

The fact that the Sharks were palying with Jorrie Muller at flyhalf contributed to WP’s win. How much money did the Tjarks spend on that man?
    He arrives and ijured himself and then plays like Jorrie Muller. Money well spent? Not a Fluck!

@Loosehead

Waste of money, if you asked me, the Argie.
    Like Kees Lansing, the most expensive CC player in SA at one stage (2.4mil), and he did buggerall for the Sharks.

WP JOU LEKKER DING!!!!!!!!!

@Loosehead – 2

So far it seems like that. Hoping he picks up his game.

Just read that JPP and Bekker on their way home. HUGE loss to the Boks.

I would play Frans Steyn on the wing instead of Odwa this week.

Who will replace Bekker?

@Pietman – 3

Agree Piet, If he does not pick up his game then it is a huge waste of money for sure boet.

@Puma – Danie. No worries.
    Steyn on the wing, no worries.

@Puma – No one tall enough to replace Bekker Puma!! 😆

@Pietman – Ja I agree. You can’t buy a team. It takes things like spirit, ethos and honesty. How could Lensing go from being the best Tighthead [ fluck Hayman ] in the world to being a substitute for the Wildebeasts?

@Loosehead – Not everyone likes Durban. Its only the Bloemfonteiners that migrate well.

Since i was away from ALL rugby accept the TEST. Let me just congratulate all before they call me a sour puss.

Well done WP i dont know why Natal phucks around with Monty, but that is always a graet win down in the Fish Bowl, great work, now you have me worried for this weekend.

Well done LIONS
    Dont know what happened there, but if there is one game the Lions will get up to play for, it is the one against their nieghbours. Even if they have to get up from the grave. Bulls i can imagine is paying for the experimenting, Frans from now on try to keep continuity , build confidence. Build a team.

Well done CHEETAHS , i thought the Kwas had your number.

LEOPARDS i saw on Friday and joined in the celebrations, that is also the only one i got right in Superbru.

BOKKE, Well what a pleasure to watch. I think the All Black supporters had this type op joy to watch their team a few years back. What a awesome feeling. THANKS. Peter i think you again let them in with a few late subs but who cares, who the hell cares. 2 of the best tries i saw in years for the Boks. Go nail them big time now.

11 @superBul Tis not called Far Eastern Free State for nothing…

More Koos, Super,

Can we please start calling the Currie Cup the Currie Cup and not the Curry Cup, cos I get lus for a bunny chow.

Hey Koos, how lekker is it to be a Saffa in Oz at the moment, jeez I’m having fun with it.

Riaan of Springbok butchery had a do in the city for all Saffas to watch the rugby with boerie rolls and everything, I couldnt go because of commitments with my kids, but apparently it was a fat jol.

13 @Manlybok Family of the Kerrie Beker, awarded to the top bunny chow at the show every year…I will mention it to Groot!

Yes, nice indeed. Would be nicer if they manage to flop in the one-dayers as well, maybe a little to much to ask!

I was at Boktown in Perth with the WC, he had a hand in that as well…outisde of the rugby THAT was also a jol.

wp, jou lekker ding!!!!!!!

@Martin – WP het goed gelyk die naweek.

@K9-MonsterLeeu – and what about the lions, thought they played very well and looks like they are getting things right at last. i will be watching closely and hopefully they can build on their win.

16 @K9-MonsterLeeu – Jy gesuip? Mens se dit nooit nie, al is dit so!!!

the bulls played terrible rugby and am really looking forward to the game this coming weekend against them.

@Martin – there is sth happening there by the Lions ….seeing a lot of positives. Will take some time though…

@Koos – Jou span het die Kwas se rug nou finaal gebreek. Hulle gaan nie die semis sien nie.

@Martin – the bulls’ forwards are shocking.

Total 24 users including 0 member, 24 guests, 0 bot online